$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
View map of 230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherrie T
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jan 29, 2013

Great Value

Great value and good customer service. Pleasant surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anita R
Business
Miami - FL
Jan 28, 2013

Perfect for a 3 day trip in NYC

Perfect location for 3 nights in NY. Walking distance from Time Square, Rockafeller Center, MOMA, Central Park Staff could have been more helpful in giving recommandations on a 3 day stay and what to do. Overall great experience, room perfectly clean and very nice hotel. We had free breakfast "because the boss decided to do it complimentary today" - so ask before you decide to have breakfast out of the hotel, maybe you will be lucky and have it for free ! WIFI has a charge but they can lend you an ipad at the front desk to use in the lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

99$ slice of pizza right around the corner BEST one you can find Do not go to any Pizza chain you see the "99$ slice of pizza" is cooked fresh and delicious - so glad we tried it !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bokeron
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Jan 28, 2013

Excelent hotel

Really was a good hotel and the service was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spice Brown
Business
Ann Arbor, MI & Washington, DC
Jan 28, 2013

Great Weekend!

My sister and i returned to our home city to take care of some family business. We selected this hotel to facilitate getting to several disparate locations, e.g., Brooklyn and Long island, by public transportation. it was perfect for that! We were able to walk, get the subway, and the LIRR easily. The staff here were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable with 2 double beds, contemporary decor, and reasonable amenities. Retaurants were near by and we felt safe. It met our needs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Eye Grill a few blocks away was perfect (great food, service and ambience). Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Life long NYC fan
Business
Waterford, MI
Jan 27, 2013

Great location

This was definitely just a place to rest, nooooo extras. It was a great place to head out from, as it was within walking distance to all the "places to see". No internet service, when EVERYBODY uses some sort of device these days. The room was very dark, more lamps please. One on the desk would've been nice. Coffee in the lobby, especially after a cold walk back. And the "specials" at the bar...not so much. One or two blocks down and you'll find better drinks for less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a Metrocard asap, subway locations very close and will take anywhere you need to go :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss MB
Business
New York
Jan 23, 2013

Perfect NYC Location

The location of the hotel was perfect! In the heart of everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
802 girl
Business
Shelburne, Vermont
Jan 22, 2013

Great location!

It was right in the middle of everything, just a short walk from everything. I wish I could have stayed longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Wicked on Broadway!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
momt
Business
ex WA
Jan 21, 2013

good hotel and location for price paid

Very noisy house staff in the morning, starting at 8 am. Apparently didn't have the mission to close doors a little quieter. Transport to airport organized by hotel was a total mess, so I ended up making life easy for myself and take a cab. Personel in the lobby beyond the counter as not very friendly. Good location but ask for room on the backside of hotel because on other side of small street they were building with a lit of noise. Once that building is finished it will be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole foods Columbus circle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mccrackendavid
Business
San Francisco
Jan 17, 2013

Not Bad

This hotel was surprisingly comfortable and clean. Great central location too. I booked it because I was barely going to be in my room for my four days in New York and it was mainly a place to sleep. Everyone was very friendly (except for the doorman on one quick occasion. He snapped at me when I had a question about SuperShuttle} and the check in and out was a breeze. My only real complaint is the wifi. First of all, it's $10 for a day or $25 for three days. That is obscene in my opinion. In hindsight, I should have gone across the street to Starbucks to use their wifi for free. To make matters worse, the wifi was atrocious and couldn't load anything even reasonably fast. One other plus. It's located next door to The Three Monkeys bar which is awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Three Monkeys bar right next door!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TioMartin
Business
Louisville, KY
Jan 16, 2013

Elegance for a decent price

Room was very clean, comfortable, and elegant. Excellent location very close to Times Square (right around the corner from Dave Letterman's place). My complaints apply to most New York hotels: 1. Internet was not free. 2. Room was very small 3. There was an overly tempting mini-bar (Near-entrapment-level!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deli on west side of 7th St between 54th & 55th has seating, good coffee and a great by-the-pound buffet. Reasonably priced and great for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top