$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
View map of 230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BCinAP
Business
New Jersey, USA
Apr 19, 2013

nice, clean accomodations

Well located, affordable hotel with newer rooms. Staff was ok. Very busy lobby with lots of tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
G Larry
Business
Islamorada, Fl
Apr 9, 2013

Great Staff, Poor Management

Arrived late on Saturday 4/6/13. Met a freind at the lobby bar. Bartender extremely personable, helpful and professional as was the front desk and doormen. The building, corridors, elevators, etc. were clean and somewhat tacky sheak but pleasant. The room seemed to rely more on aesthetics than functionality: - The heat/cool unit is placed under the window behind a very heavy curtain. The choice seems to be to heat/cool the back of the curtain(not the room) or heat/cool the room and leave the curtains open all day and night. - The room has a wonderfull energy saving system that requires your room key to be inserted in a card reader inside the door that allows the guest to activate lights and the heat/cool system. It would have been nice to know this from either the front desk or a sign, table tent or other method in the room. I was able to call the front desk and after complaing lights and heat/cool system not working, I was informed of this feature. - The bath has no counter space (at all) besides the slightly large window sill. Some well placed shelves or at least hooks for hanging clothes or towels would be extremely usefull. - Television reception was very poor on all the lower chanels. A channel guide was not available. Since we are tourists, we were interested in information on the local weather to plan our clothing needs while touring the city. I called the front desk to ask what number was the weather channel. I was put on hold while the the front desk person tried to find out. After a brief delay (less than a minute) I was informed there was no weather channel. Very strange. I was told the local channels would have the weather on their news casts, but the local channels were the lower channels with extremely poor reception. Overall the location is great, staff (including housekeeping and maintenance) helpfull and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Times Square, subways, Radio City Music Hall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary New York
Business
Spain
Apr 7, 2013

NICE STAY

It was a nice 7 nights stay. Good location.there is a big flat screen TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TR Dad
Business
Greenville SC
Apr 6, 2013

Ameritania - a great place to stay in NYC!

I took my son to NYC as a graduation celebration and we stayed at the Ameritania and this was a fantastic choice! Excellent location... On the corner of 54th and Broadway beside the Late Night stage. Excellent, responsive staff, great room - very small, but clean and functional - with lots of good restaurants nearby. I will definitely book a room here the next time I am in New York!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunnyfun
Business
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Apr 4, 2013

Best Vacation by Far

This was my first time in New York City and the Ameritania at Time Square made it the best experience ever. Renaldo the desk clerk was very accomadating. Jeffrey and Mario (the doormen) were a wealth of information on where to go and how to get there. Overall staff was very friendly. Rooms were clean and very nicely decorated as well as the hotel. I feel I got the best deal for my money and will definately go back next year. The hotel location was perfect. Close to just about everything. Thank you Ameritania for a job well done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anyone going to New York, Time Square should definately eat at Rosey O'Gradys. Terrific staff and food, also check out the Brooklyn Dinner, the best hambergers ever.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
canarykari
Business
syracuse ny
Apr 4, 2013

Awesome!

Getaway with my friend for two nights... Perfect location Gracious staff Beautiful lobby and bar area Spacious remodeled rooms PERFECT STAY! I would stay here again for sure...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fun places within walking distance... Rosie OGradys Faces and Names Pie Face Lucky Chengs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tom in mpls
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 4, 2013

Good choice for Times Square

Excellent location. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Older building with rooms nicely renovated and good size. Lack of free wifi is dismaying. My room at the end of a hall was great, exept that the bathroom was cold! It didn't have a heat vent into the bath, which is needed as the bathroom has a window. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cinnamon Brown
Business
South Carolina
Apr 3, 2013

PERFECT for long NYC weekend!

Small and newly remodeled, I was surprised to learn this had been the Cumberland Hotel, a first class establishment over 100 years old! I requested a higher floor room, and stayed on the 9th floor. It overlooked Letterman's studio, which was fun and very convenient. The central location of the Ameritania was perfect for walking to attractions at Lincoln Center, Central Park, as well as well as Times Square and the museums. The subway is close, too. The room was very clean and comfortable with two double, pillow top beds, modern, upscale decor and impeccable service. I wish there were more outlets in the room, for charging all the tech stuff we can't do without, but we made do. I really liked the unique, boutique feel of this hotel, as opposed to the big chains. I will definitely stay there on my next trip to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LvMonkey
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 1, 2013

Ameritania

Great staff, great location! Comfortable beds and clean rooms. I don't spend much time in hotel rooms on vacation, the location was perfect, close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gaben
Business
Puerto Rico
Mar 31, 2013

Good choice

Great location, the staff is always available to help us. But the room is too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top