$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
267 reviews
Nice Stay

Very accomodating. Great location. Helpful staff. Modern design See full review

  • World Traveler1
  • Dec 3, 2014
Happy

Excellent! Room was very large and they upgraded us for free. Staff was extremely helpful. See full review

  • Jessc11
  • Nov 26, 2014

Unlike many of the hotels in Midtown Manhattan, the Ameritania Times Square isn't part of a huge chain. Since 1990, this non-smoking, boutique hotel has been offering personalized contemporary accommodations, and the gorgeous lobby features mahogany paneling, sparkling chandeliers, terrazzo marble floors, a fireplace and a lounge that stakes its reputation on its fine martinis. From the Beaux Arts exterior to the indulgent bath soaps by C.O. Bigelow in each room, the Ameritania offers all-around sophistication.

Key facts
  • 219 guestrooms
  • Lounge
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Off-site parking nearby (charges apply)
  • Complimentary bath products by C.O. Bigelow

Neighborhood

With its location on West 54th Street, the Ameritania Times Square is a smoke-free hotel that is close to some of the most notable attractions in Midtown Manhattan. To the north, you'll find Columbus Circle and the exceptional restaurants of the Time-Warner Center. To the east, there's Radio City Music Hall and first-rate shopping along legendary Fifth Avenue. Head west to immerse yourself in the quirky, trendy vibe of Hell's Kitchen. And where nighttime entertainment is concerned, the hotel is on the same block as the Ed Sullivan Theater, home of The Late Show with David Letterman.

Hints and tips
Get pampered with massages and pedicures at Jenunesse spa, just a short walk away.

Draw the blackout curtains to transform your room into a tranquil space after a day spent exploring the bustle of New York.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ameritania at Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Ameritania at Times Square Rooms

Standard
A standard room with one double bed or 1 queen bed. Room is non-smoking. Color televisions with remote control, pay-per-view movies. Rollway bed is available at $20.00 charge.
Deluxe Double Double
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe Double Double room can accommodate up to 4 guests (adult with child combination.) Room is non-smoking. Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries and hairdryers.
Deluxe King
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe King room can accommodate up to 2 guests (adult with child combination.) Room is non-smoking. Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries are hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Broadway: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi

Dining

Twist Lounge
Trendy bar lounge located in the lobby, open from 5 PM to 1 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (267)

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Life long NYC fan
Business
Waterford, MI
Jan 27, 2013

Great location

This was definitely just a place to rest, nooooo extras. It was a great place to head out from, as it was within walking distance to all the "places to see". No internet service, when EVERYBODY uses some sort of device these days. The room was very dark, more lamps please. One on the desk would've been nice. Coffee in the lobby, especially after a cold walk back. And the "specials" at the bar...not so much. One or two blocks down and you'll find better drinks for less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a Metrocard asap, subway locations very close and will take anywhere you need to go :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss MB
Business
New York
Jan 23, 2013

Perfect NYC Location

The location of the hotel was perfect! In the heart of everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
802 girl
Business
Shelburne, Vermont
Jan 22, 2013

Great location!

It was right in the middle of everything, just a short walk from everything. I wish I could have stayed longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Wicked on Broadway!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
momt
Business
ex WA
Jan 21, 2013

good hotel and location for price paid

Very noisy house staff in the morning, starting at 8 am. Apparently didn't have the mission to close doors a little quieter. Transport to airport organized by hotel was a total mess, so I ended up making life easy for myself and take a cab. Personel in the lobby beyond the counter as not very friendly. Good location but ask for room on the backside of hotel because on other side of small street they were building with a lit of noise. Once that building is finished it will be fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole foods Columbus circle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mccrackendavid
Business
San Francisco
Jan 17, 2013

Not Bad

This hotel was surprisingly comfortable and clean. Great central location too. I booked it because I was barely going to be in my room for my four days in New York and it was mainly a place to sleep. Everyone was very friendly (except for the doorman on one quick occasion. He snapped at me when I had a question about SuperShuttle} and the check in and out was a breeze. My only real complaint is the wifi. First of all, it's $10 for a day or $25 for three days. That is obscene in my opinion. In hindsight, I should have gone across the street to Starbucks to use their wifi for free. To make matters worse, the wifi was atrocious and couldn't load anything even reasonably fast. One other plus. It's located next door to The Three Monkeys bar which is awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Three Monkeys bar right next door!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TioMartin
Business
Louisville, KY
Jan 16, 2013

Elegance for a decent price

Room was very clean, comfortable, and elegant. Excellent location very close to Times Square (right around the corner from Dave Letterman's place). My complaints apply to most New York hotels: 1. Internet was not free. 2. Room was very small 3. There was an overly tempting mini-bar (Near-entrapment-level!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Deli on west side of 7th St between 54th & 55th has seating, good coffee and a great by-the-pound buffet. Reasonably priced and great for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nixma
Business
Bermuda
Jan 8, 2013

Thanks Ameritania

I got an excellent deal for this hotel . The staff was GREAT!!!! I was able to check in early and check out . The room was of nice size for a Manhattan hotel. I will say the lighting is very dim in the room and the bathroom was freezing. I was able to walk everywhere and when I didn't want to walk there were 3 different train station within 4 blocks. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The David Letterman Show tapes right around the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MD007
Business
NYC, NY
Dec 27, 2012

great stay

a brilliant location, modern hotel. good service , solved the slight issues we had fast and really effectively... the breakfast isn't good though, plastic plates, but you are in NYC so i'd recommend heading out anyway. Amazing location... nothing was lower than 3* (maybe the breakfast) but the room - cool, location - amazing, vibe - brilliant , modern - yes, staff - really helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carnegie Deli, incredible sandwiches, and a real unique experience in both atmosphere and food quantity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoeMc
Business
NYC
Dec 26, 2012

Location, location, location and quite a nice place too

Modern room, friendly staff, good facilities make this hotel worth considering if you want to be in the center of it all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DE Love
Business
Newark, NJ
Dec 25, 2012

Perfect for the occasion

I really enjoyed my stay with my bf. It was perfect for us and it was a pretty good price for the location. Although it would have been better that if when we looked out of our window it wasn't construction. However, we just booked the hotel to stay because we wanted to enjoy the holiday feel in the city. I really liked the hotel a lot. It was just right for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

In order to have an experience of NYC you must walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top