$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
286 reviews
Fantastic Birthday Experience

Everything about this hotel was perfect! The rooms were beautiful! The location was key! The staff... See full review

  • Jennifer RTT
  • Jun 17, 2014
Great place!

Great location! Super clean!! Staff was amazing! Doormen had cars waiting or grabbed Taxis. Subway... See full review

  • Take NYC by storm
  • May 23, 2014

Unlike many of the hotels in Midtown Manhattan, the Ameritania Times Square isn't part of a huge chain. Since 1990, this boutique hotel has been offering personalized contemporary accommodations, and the gorgeous lobby features mahogany paneling, sparkling chandeliers, terrazzo marble floors, a fireplace and a lounge that stakes its reputation on its fine martinis. From the Beaux Arts exterior to the indulgent bath soaps by C.O. Bigelow in each room, the Ameritania offers all-around sophistication.

Key facts
  • 219 guestrooms
  • Lounge
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Off-site parking nearby (charges apply)
  • Complimentary bath products by C.O. Bigelow

Neighborhood

With its location on West 54th Street, the Ameritania Times Square is close to some of the most notable attractions in Midtown Manhattan. To the north, you'll find Columbus Circle and the exceptional restaurants of the Time-Warner Center. To the east, there's Radio City Music Hall and first-rate shopping along legendary Fifth Avenue. Head west to immerse yourself in the quirky, trendy vibe of Hell's Kitchen. And where nighttime entertainment is concerned, the hotel is on the same block as the Ed Sullivan Theater, home of The Late Show with David Letterman.

Hints and tips
Get pampered with massages and pedicures at Jenunesse spa, just a short walk away.

Draw the blackout curtains to transform your room into a tranquil space after a day spent exploring the bustle of New York.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.764 -73.9825
Area served
New York, New York. Please note guest must be 21 years old or older to check-in to this hotel.
Nearby airports
New York John F Kennedy International (JFK) 15 MI , New York La Guardia (LGA) 8 MI
Area description
The Ameritania at Times Square is conveniently located in the heart of Mid-town Manhattan at 54th street and the Broadway.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ameritania at Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Ameritania at Times Square Rooms

Standard
A standard room with one double bed or 1 queen bed. Color televisions with remote control, pay-per-view movies. Rollway bed is availabe at $20.00 charge.
Deluxe Double Double
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe Double Double room can accommodate up to 4 guests (adult with child combination.) Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries and hairdryers.
Deluxe King
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe King room can accommodate up to 2 guests (adult with child combination.) Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries are hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Broadway: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi

Dining

Twist Lounge
Trendy bar lounge located in the lobby, open from 5 PM to 1 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bada Bing
Staffs England
Dec 15, 2012

Location,Location,Location!

Perfect location for exploring New York. The staff were friendly and helpful,particularly the Concierge, Jeffrey. Our room was small but very warm and comfortable. We would have brought the mattress home with us if we could! Thoroughly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pennsylvania Ms.
Carlisle, PA
Dec 12, 2012

Lovely boutique hotel

Extremely friendly staff, clean and updated rooms. Funky Art Deco style. Great midtown location. Very pleased and would return. Would have liked coffee maker in room. Pleased that there was a fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Upscale business traveler
Business
Richmond, VA
Dec 11, 2012

Clean, good location

A bit pricey for this hotel, even in it's very good location. Room was very clean, but a bit sterile feeling with ultramodern design. AC & heat controls good. Blackout curtains worked really well. Our sound machine drowned out most construction noise just across street. Bathroom sink has slanted surfaces which made things slide off. A couple of hooks on the wall or bathroom door for clothes/pjs would be nice. Closet had a shelf in the bottom which made hanging long coats and dresses impossible. Corner room was good-sized for NY small hotel, closet too small. Needs new linen service as last set of towels smelled scorched. Also had to ask for more than one washcloth on two different days. Walked everywhere, lots of people on the street early & late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dgrt
new jersey
Dec 10, 2012

great location

My family stayed overnight. The location was perfect for the activities we planned. The room was tiny, but clean and modern. The staff was friendly and courteous. They left a cupcake in our room for my son's birthday, which made him very happy. Definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
3girlswholove2shopNYC
Buffalo, New York
Dec 9, 2012

girls getaway

Great location near theaters and shopping, but far enough away from the Times Square noise and crowds. The rooms were very modern but also very comfortable. Everything smelled fresh and was super clean. Rooms were well insulated from noise. It was quiet and relaxing. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful experience. If I could find a downside, it would be that there wasn't complimentary coffee or tea. Not a big deal though. Plenty of coffee available around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sissyp
New York
Dec 7, 2012

hotel review

Great location. The staff was very helpful . Would stay here again. Loved the room, just a little noisy from constuction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JB Sue
New Jersey, USA
Dec 3, 2012

Would have been perfect but...

When we had gotten there they had given us a Deluxe Room with 2 barely full size beds instead of the Standard Queen we had asked for. They didn't inform us of this and when we called to say we had wanted a bed my boyfriend and I could sleep in together they told us they had upgraded us because they didn't have any Queen/King beds free in the entire hotel. They were very accommodating however, and let us schedule a late checkout as well as giving us complementary drink vouchers for their bar. The Deluxe room wasn't huge, but it was a very nice size for a Manhattan hotel. The location was absolutely perfect, however the building construction across the street started at 8am on Saturday morning and made me want to kill someone! Though, I can't blame the hotel itself for that one. All in all, the bed thing ended up not even being an issue as it was much comfier than it actually looked, and my boyfriend and I managed to fit fine on it. For the price, location, and cleanliness, I would go back and do recommend it. The end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Pretty much everything in Midtown is walking distance...

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LindaJS
Tampa, FL
Dec 3, 2012

I need my coffee asap!

This hotel does not have coffee makers in the room. $9 for a pot to be delivered every morning. The rooms are overly-heated and the thermostat does not work. I had to open a window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NanH
Baltimore, MD
Dec 2, 2012

Great Location, Great Savings

Only a ten minute walk to Rockefeller Center and right around the corner from the studio for David Letterman, Ameritania was perfect for our overnight stay. Very clean and attractive. Construction outside was a distraction for a minute only before it faded into the background of NYC midtown activity. The front desk staff were friendly, patient and helpful with directions and suggestions, and even booked us a restaurant. Will definitely stay there again when in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk over to Fifth Avenue shops to see floors upon floors of the most gorgeous, luxurious merchandise in the world. This is where the elite get to shed a few of their millions. Great fun.

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms bdre
New york
Nov 26, 2012

Birthday weekend

Didn't have any problems everything was great. Room was clean and staff was very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top