$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
View map of 230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
316 out of 316
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tweeda
Business
Cork, Ireland
Jun 4, 2013

Wonderful Boutique Hotel

This boutique hotel is a treasure. Located at the corner of 54th & Boradway it is only 5 mins walk to Times Square & close to all theatres. Rooms were clean & quiet large by NYC standards. The room contained a clean & large wetroom shower and was on the corner with 2 windows looking to the street below. Only downfall was that the WiFi access (which cost $25 for 72hrs) had a tendency to drop intermittantly in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phyl
Business
Ireland
Jun 4, 2013

Beautifully refurbished hotel with modern look

This is the 3rd three star hotel i have stayed at near Times Square. It is by far the best in terms of decor, amenities and value for money. It is now first on my list of accommodation for my next trip to New York!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Team Coleman
Business
DC Metro
Jun 3, 2013

Great Location, Good Staff, and Pretty Nice Room

Good size for a NY hotel, very suprised. Updated decor and finishes (especially bathroom). Staff was very helpful and engaging. Did early check-in and they were very helpful in doing that as well. Would definitely stay there again. Please note construction across the street was going on during the day. I am around it everyday, but it was minimal noise in the room when we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pick-a-Bagel. Good breakfast place for decent price.

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debra23
Business
New York City, NY
Jun 3, 2013

Perfect Location

Rooms were somewhat small. Perfect for one person. Okay for two Very clean and the bed was very comfortable Would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mahera
Business
London
Jun 1, 2013

First trip to New York

We arrived at the Ameritania in pouring rain after an eventful journey from JFK. The staff at reception were extremely welcoming and offered us a choice of rooms. Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious. It was cleaned daily with fresh sheets and clean towels. After a long day of sightseeing, shopping, eating etc. we were happy to get back to our comfortable beds for a good nights rest. We were so pleased with the location of the hotel, 5 minutes walk to Times Square, 10 minutes to Central Park, near to subways, shops, restaurants etc. Being so near Times Square most night we stayed out late knowing that getting back to our hotel wouldn't be a problem. As it was our first trip to NY,we wanted to see as much as we could in the 5 days we had, so we bought the hop on hop off bus tours which was a good way of getting around. Unfortunately it rained for a couple of days so we could not finish all our tours. I would definitely stay at The Ameritania again and recommend it anyone who is visiting NY. Great hotel, friendly staff and fantastic location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Queues to go up Empire State could be long and views not too great. Instead go up Rockerfeller Centre, no queues, less crowds and fantastic views of NY.

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Devina and Lando
Business
Fort Worth
May 15, 2013

Fantastic Anniversary

Let me start with location, wow, it was close to everything we wanted to see and close to subway stations. the room was a bit small but very clean and comfortable. The staff was exceptional. especially the bartender, who gave us a lot of places to visit that were not your ordinary tourist attractions and the cosmos were fantastic. Me and my husband will be back next year and stay at this hotel. Thank you Ameritania for making our first visit to NYC enjoyable..........totally loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PJay99
Business
Virginia, USA
May 6, 2013

good for NYC

Overall a good stay here. We were surprised by this modestly priced hotel being in good condition and a nice room. The room was clean, updated and comfortable. Staff were nice and helpful. We got an inside room which I think would be quieter than an outside room. Location is great, we walked almost everywhere. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roly loves NYC
Business
Miami, Florida
May 6, 2013

Great location,staff, cleanliness

Staff was excellent, location, can not be better. Decorations ecclectic, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for theatres, museums, Time Square.

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreamcatcher990
Business
San Antonio Tx
May 6, 2013

Perfect for the money

I wasn't aware this was a 3 star hotel until just recently. I am going to upgrade their rating to 4. The only reason I wouldn't give it a 5 is the breakfast didn't include eggs. Typical continental style breakfast. The staff was VERY accommodating. The Hotel is in a great central location. Close to Subway and Bus tours. The only thing I can say that would be a negative is the room is really small but I think everything In NY is. Really good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are new to New York I recommend the Bus Tour vs the subway or Taxi. Although the subway-taxi is faster you will want to get the history that the guides provide to you on a tour. The tours are Hop on hop off all day and you can buy a 3 day pass pretty cheap which if you choose includes different packages like a ticket to Empire state a boat tour of Lady Liberty of dinner I think. Either way if you want some real good info on NY use the Guided tour as your means of transportation.

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KHeather
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
Apr 26, 2013

Fantastic Customer Service!

Although having a slight mishap, the hotel set about making it right immediately. They went over and above what they needed to do to make me feel comfortable and they valued me as a customer. I had such a nice stay here-would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top