$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
271 reviews
Nice Stay

Very accomodating. Great location. Helpful staff. Modern design See full review

  • World Traveler1
  • Dec 3, 2014
Happy

Excellent! Room was very large and they upgraded us for free. Staff was extremely helpful. See full review

  • Jessc11
  • Nov 26, 2014

Unlike many of the hotels in Midtown Manhattan, the Ameritania Times Square isn't part of a huge chain. Since 1990, this non-smoking, boutique hotel has been offering personalized contemporary accommodations, and the gorgeous lobby features mahogany paneling, sparkling chandeliers, terrazzo marble floors, a fireplace and a lounge that stakes its reputation on its fine martinis. From the Beaux Arts exterior to the indulgent bath soaps by C.O. Bigelow in each room, the Ameritania offers all-around sophistication.

Key facts
  • 219 guestrooms
  • Lounge
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Off-site parking nearby (charges apply)
  • Complimentary bath products by C.O. Bigelow

Neighborhood

With its location on West 54th Street, the Ameritania Times Square is a smoke-free hotel that is close to some of the most notable attractions in Midtown Manhattan. To the north, you'll find Columbus Circle and the exceptional restaurants of the Time-Warner Center. To the east, there's Radio City Music Hall and first-rate shopping along legendary Fifth Avenue. Head west to immerse yourself in the quirky, trendy vibe of Hell's Kitchen. And where nighttime entertainment is concerned, the hotel is on the same block as the Ed Sullivan Theater, home of The Late Show with David Letterman.

Hints and tips
Get pampered with massages and pedicures at Jenunesse spa, just a short walk away.

Draw the blackout curtains to transform your room into a tranquil space after a day spent exploring the bustle of New York.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ameritania at Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Ameritania at Times Square Rooms

Standard
A standard room with one double bed or 1 queen bed. Room is non-smoking. Color televisions with remote control, pay-per-view movies. Rollway bed is available at $20.00 charge.
Deluxe Double Double
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe Double Double room can accommodate up to 4 guests (adult with child combination.) Room is non-smoking. Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries and hairdryers.
Deluxe King
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe King room can accommodate up to 2 guests (adult with child combination.) Room is non-smoking. Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries are hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Broadway: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi

Dining

Twist Lounge
Trendy bar lounge located in the lobby, open from 5 PM to 1 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
G Larry
Business
Islamorada, Fl
Apr 9, 2013

Great Staff, Poor Management

Arrived late on Saturday 4/6/13. Met a freind at the lobby bar. Bartender extremely personable, helpful and professional as was the front desk and doormen. The building, corridors, elevators, etc. were clean and somewhat tacky sheak but pleasant. The room seemed to rely more on aesthetics than functionality: - The heat/cool unit is placed under the window behind a very heavy curtain. The choice seems to be to heat/cool the back of the curtain(not the room) or heat/cool the room and leave the curtains open all day and night. - The room has a wonderfull energy saving system that requires your room key to be inserted in a card reader inside the door that allows the guest to activate lights and the heat/cool system. It would have been nice to know this from either the front desk or a sign, table tent or other method in the room. I was able to call the front desk and after complaing lights and heat/cool system not working, I was informed of this feature. - The bath has no counter space (at all) besides the slightly large window sill. Some well placed shelves or at least hooks for hanging clothes or towels would be extremely usefull. - Television reception was very poor on all the lower chanels. A channel guide was not available. Since we are tourists, we were interested in information on the local weather to plan our clothing needs while touring the city. I called the front desk to ask what number was the weather channel. I was put on hold while the the front desk person tried to find out. After a brief delay (less than a minute) I was informed there was no weather channel. Very strange. I was told the local channels would have the weather on their news casts, but the local channels were the lower channels with extremely poor reception. Overall the location is great, staff (including housekeeping and maintenance) helpfull and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Times Square, subways, Radio City Music Hall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary New York
Business
Spain
Apr 7, 2013

NICE STAY

It was a nice 7 nights stay. Good location.there is a big flat screen TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TR Dad
Business
Greenville SC
Apr 6, 2013

Ameritania - a great place to stay in NYC!

I took my son to NYC as a graduation celebration and we stayed at the Ameritania and this was a fantastic choice! Excellent location... On the corner of 54th and Broadway beside the Late Night stage. Excellent, responsive staff, great room - very small, but clean and functional - with lots of good restaurants nearby. I will definitely book a room here the next time I am in New York!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunnyfun
Business
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Apr 4, 2013

Best Vacation by Far

This was my first time in New York City and the Ameritania at Time Square made it the best experience ever. Renaldo the desk clerk was very accomadating. Jeffrey and Mario (the doormen) were a wealth of information on where to go and how to get there. Overall staff was very friendly. Rooms were clean and very nicely decorated as well as the hotel. I feel I got the best deal for my money and will definately go back next year. The hotel location was perfect. Close to just about everything. Thank you Ameritania for a job well done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anyone going to New York, Time Square should definately eat at Rosey O'Gradys. Terrific staff and food, also check out the Brooklyn Dinner, the best hambergers ever.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
canarykari
Business
syracuse ny
Apr 4, 2013

Awesome!

Getaway with my friend for two nights... Perfect location Gracious staff Beautiful lobby and bar area Spacious remodeled rooms PERFECT STAY! I would stay here again for sure...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fun places within walking distance... Rosie OGradys Faces and Names Pie Face Lucky Chengs

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tom in mpls
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 4, 2013

Good choice for Times Square

Excellent location. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Older building with rooms nicely renovated and good size. Lack of free wifi is dismaying. My room at the end of a hall was great, exept that the bathroom was cold! It didn't have a heat vent into the bath, which is needed as the bathroom has a window. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cinnamon Brown
Business
South Carolina
Apr 3, 2013

PERFECT for long NYC weekend!

Small and newly remodeled, I was surprised to learn this had been the Cumberland Hotel, a first class establishment over 100 years old! I requested a higher floor room, and stayed on the 9th floor. It overlooked Letterman's studio, which was fun and very convenient. The central location of the Ameritania was perfect for walking to attractions at Lincoln Center, Central Park, as well as well as Times Square and the museums. The subway is close, too. The room was very clean and comfortable with two double, pillow top beds, modern, upscale decor and impeccable service. I wish there were more outlets in the room, for charging all the tech stuff we can't do without, but we made do. I really liked the unique, boutique feel of this hotel, as opposed to the big chains. I will definitely stay there on my next trip to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LvMonkey
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 1, 2013

Ameritania

Great staff, great location! Comfortable beds and clean rooms. I don't spend much time in hotel rooms on vacation, the location was perfect, close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gaben
Business
Puerto Rico
Mar 31, 2013

Good choice

Great location, the staff is always available to help us. But the room is too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darren
Business
London .uk
Mar 29, 2013

Midtown / mid price hotel = great stay.

Love this hotel... Get a good price, the location, staff, look and feel of the hotel makes it my favourite in NY. Can't beat the location, it's the centre of NY to me. 4th time stay with them. First was 15 years ago and loved it. Then a couple of visits 5 / 7 years back, and not so good. Old, tired and shabby ..... But now... GREAT.. Completely refurbished and styled.. Back to the former glories I remember. A contemporary fashion styled theme, not to large, and a homely feel. Staff all seem genuinely friendly (unlike most in NY), from doorman, reception, bar, maids and even maintenance. Even recognised some staff from previous stay. Given free room upgrade. Plus even waived all Internet fees for the stay.. 5 whole days. Yes there must be bigger, better, but pricier places out there, but this is the place that I will be returning to again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top