$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
View map of 230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
316 out of 316
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Londonlad25
London
Feb 26, 2013

Excellent value

Great hotel. Clean, comfortable, well located. It's easily 4* standard; I've stayed at worse 5* hotels. Would unreservedly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EricPhilipLink
Business
Des Moines
Jan 4, 2014

OK for a place to crash

At arrival our room was not ready. We were told it would take 40 mins. We waited an hour and a half. Also, house keeping was slow getting our room cleaned. Twice I had to ask for clean towels. The hotel was updated with nice tile and fixures but installed poorly. Bathroom door would not close. Sloppy grout work on the tile. Beware of the shower hand wond, it has sharp edges and it cut my finger. Room door did not latch, we found that out after a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franny
Business
Essex
Jan 3, 2014

Ideal location for sightseeing

The Ameritania is certainly central to all the main attractions like Times Square, Broadway, Empire State Building, Central Park plus only a short walk to the famous 5th Avenue, Madison and Lexington Avenue where tourists can shop to their hearts content. The hotel staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. On our arrival to the hotel the room we originally booked was not available which meant our first night stay was in a small standard double room.. This was pretty annoying as we had booked the deluxe king bedroom well in advance of our trip. However, the reception staff were very apologetic and ensured us that the issue would be dealt with the following morning (which it was). There are probably only two negatives about the hotel which are, if you are a light sleeper then the outside traffic noise could be a problem during the night and there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the bedrooms as guests are expected to use the restaurant for breakfast (although the beverages are free to guests).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If travellers are looking for a bargain the best place to go for clothes etc is Macey's. Avoid Bloomingdales unless you have pots of money!!

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FionaLeeee
Business
Athens Ohio
Dec 28, 2013

Good location

It is a perfect location if you want to save money on taxi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

short distance to most important buildings

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Miller and Teryn
Business
Albemarle, North Carolina
Dec 24, 2013

Perfect Christmas getaway!

My wife and I just spent a long weekend at this hotel and it was better than either of us expected! Location is perfect, room was nice, and staff was very helpful! This will be the spot we stay from now on when visiting NYC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Axe1314
Business
Bedford,NS
Dec 18, 2013

Ideal location, cool boutique hotel

Only a few blocks from Times Square this well appointed boutique hotel is ideal for a romantic getaway or as a base for a business trip. Compact but elegant rooms. Clean and modern decor. Great shower and good range of toiletries. No coffee maker in room, but given the number of coffee shops in the vicinity probably not necessary. Comes with a fridge and a snack tray, outrageous prices for these of course but is the first hotel I have seen with a Lovers Intimacy Kit! Has a good lounge downstairs with daily specials. A Jalapeño Margarita is a good way to start a night out in the city that never sleeps! Ed Sullivan theatre is right next door and there are many great eating places nearby. Angelo's pizzeria right next door is highly recommended. Will definitely book this one again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TALI 512
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Dec 18, 2013

Great hotel

Great hotel,comfy rooms and great location. Would most decently stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ohio Cake Boss fan
Business
Ohio
Nov 16, 2013

Perfect introduction to NYC

Everyone - especially Penny S, was superb. Penny always went above and beyond her duties, smiled and it felt "like home" when we came back of sight seeing or started or day. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and tell Penny hello-she really was the frosting on the cupcake-lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to stop by the local diners-Cosmic and Star Dust

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CharlieR
Business
Florida
Nov 7, 2013

Nice boutique experience

Like the hotel. Location is terrible. Cabs an issue. Staff was very helpful. My biggest gripe, there is NO place to put your cosmetics in the bathroom. It was terrible to get ready in the morning. I had to put a towel on the floor and then my cosmetics. No room for any products. It must have been designed by a man with a beard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Garnerstyle
Business
San Jose, CA
Nov 4, 2013

Great hotel

would stay again. The staff was great and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve Mid
Business
Va Beach, VA
Oct 30, 2013

One Person three-day stay

The first room that I was assigned consisted mostly of the bed. No hanging space, very limited storage. Overheated. Switched to a slightly bigger room which was adequate. Needed mechanic's help to re-access the room, switch tv to English and stop running toilet! No coffee maker; limited foodstuffs and drinks. Closet space hampered by location of ironing board. Breakfast facilities very limited. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top