$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
286 reviews
Fantastic Birthday Experience

Everything about this hotel was perfect! The rooms were beautiful! The location was key! The staff... See full review

  • Jennifer RTT
  • Jun 17, 2014
Great place!

Great location! Super clean!! Staff was amazing! Doormen had cars waiting or grabbed Taxis. Subway... See full review

  • Take NYC by storm
  • May 23, 2014

Unlike many of the hotels in Midtown Manhattan, the Ameritania Times Square isn't part of a huge chain. Since 1990, this boutique hotel has been offering personalized contemporary accommodations, and the gorgeous lobby features mahogany paneling, sparkling chandeliers, terrazzo marble floors, a fireplace and a lounge that stakes its reputation on its fine martinis. From the Beaux Arts exterior to the indulgent bath soaps by C.O. Bigelow in each room, the Ameritania offers all-around sophistication.

Key facts
  • 219 guestrooms
  • Lounge
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Off-site parking nearby (charges apply)
  • Complimentary bath products by C.O. Bigelow

Neighborhood

With its location on West 54th Street, the Ameritania Times Square is close to some of the most notable attractions in Midtown Manhattan. To the north, you'll find Columbus Circle and the exceptional restaurants of the Time-Warner Center. To the east, there's Radio City Music Hall and first-rate shopping along legendary Fifth Avenue. Head west to immerse yourself in the quirky, trendy vibe of Hell's Kitchen. And where nighttime entertainment is concerned, the hotel is on the same block as the Ed Sullivan Theater, home of The Late Show with David Letterman.

Hints and tips
Get pampered with massages and pedicures at Jenunesse spa, just a short walk away.

Draw the blackout curtains to transform your room into a tranquil space after a day spent exploring the bustle of New York.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Ameritania at Times Square Rooms

Standard
A standard room with one double bed or 1 queen bed. Color televisions with remote control, pay-per-view movies. Rollway bed is availabe at $20.00 charge.
Deluxe Double Double
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe Double Double room can accommodate up to 4 guests (adult with child combination.) Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries and hairdryers.
Deluxe King
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe King room can accommodate up to 2 guests (adult with child combination.) Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries are hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ameritania at Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.764 -73.9825
Area served
New York, New York. Please note guest must be 21 years old or older to check-in to this hotel.
Nearby airports
New York John F Kennedy International (JFK) 15 MI , New York La Guardia (LGA) 8 MI
Area description
The Ameritania at Times Square is conveniently located in the heart of Mid-town Manhattan at 54th street and the Broadway.

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Broadway: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi

Dining

Twist Lounge
Trendy bar lounge located in the lobby, open from 5 PM to 1 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Londonlad25
London
Feb 26, 2013

Excellent value

Great hotel. Clean, comfortable, well located. It's easily 4* standard; I've stayed at worse 5* hotels. Would unreservedly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cinnamon Brown
South Carolina
Apr 3, 2013

PERFECT for long NYC weekend!

Small and newly remodeled, I was surprised to learn this had been the Cumberland Hotel, a first class establishment over 100 years old! I requested a higher floor room, and stayed on the 9th floor. It overlooked Letterman's studio, which was fun and very convenient. The central location of the Ameritania was perfect for walking to attractions at Lincoln Center, Central Park, as well as well as Times Square and the museums. The subway is close, too. The room was very clean and comfortable with two double, pillow top beds, modern, upscale decor and impeccable service. I wish there were more outlets in the room, for charging all the tech stuff we can't do without, but we made do. I really liked the unique, boutique feel of this hotel, as opposed to the big chains. I will definitely stay there on my next trip to NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LvMonkey
Denver, CO
Apr 1, 2013

Ameritania

Great staff, great location! Comfortable beds and clean rooms. I don't spend much time in hotel rooms on vacation, the location was perfect, close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gaben
Puerto Rico
Mar 31, 2013

Good choice

Great location, the staff is always available to help us. But the room is too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Darren
London .uk
Mar 29, 2013

Midtown / mid price hotel = great stay.

Love this hotel... Get a good price, the location, staff, look and feel of the hotel makes it my favourite in NY. Can't beat the location, it's the centre of NY to me. 4th time stay with them. First was 15 years ago and loved it. Then a couple of visits 5 / 7 years back, and not so good. Old, tired and shabby ..... But now... GREAT.. Completely refurbished and styled.. Back to the former glories I remember. A contemporary fashion styled theme, not to large, and a homely feel. Staff all seem genuinely friendly (unlike most in NY), from doorman, reception, bar, maids and even maintenance. Even recognised some staff from previous stay. Given free room upgrade. Plus even waived all Internet fees for the stay.. 5 whole days. Yes there must be bigger, better, but pricier places out there, but this is the place that I will be returning to again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary New York
Spain
Mar 28, 2013

Nice hotel to stay

everything was ok, not too good but not bad at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pippin Fan
NY
Mar 25, 2013

POD-like

The staff is nice and decor is modern but the rooms are ridiculously small. There was no place to even hang your coat and to find a place for a single suitcase, I had to store the snack bar tray under the sink. I recently stayed at a POD hotel in NYC and the rooms were the same size but the other place had coat hooks, bar & restaurant, lounge and a much better price. Stayed a few blocks further from Times Square at Xmas and had much better accomodations and even in that season a better price. If going back for another show, would not go back to Ameritania; there are many better options in that price range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lovin'NYC
Pennsylvania
Mar 25, 2013

Great for the theater

This is a nicely decorated "boutique" type hotel. Clean and modern.Perfect for what we wanted. Theater, dinner, close to most of what we wanted. The only negatives-noisy hallway chatter, which the hotel cannot be faulted for; and a window that needed repair; which the hotel should have fixed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

See the play Sistas...wonderful late afternoon entertainment.

Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AjoyK
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 18, 2013

Great Hotel right near Times Square!

Our stay overall was great! The staff at Ameritania is fantastic! The room was very clean. We stayed in a standard room which was a good size for two people. We saw the room next to us, which had two beds and was a little bigger. The best part about this hotel is that it is a few minute walk to Times Square and many other attractions. The only complaint I have is that the hotel must have some issues with the bathroom pipes because every time the toilet flushed above us the pipes made a very annoying sound which lasted for a few minutes each time. All in all, we had a great time, as it was St. Patty's Day weekend. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vactioneer
Memphis, TN
Mar 16, 2013

Great Value

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 3 days. The room was great, the staff was great and the price was totally unexpected for Times Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KAK1
Scottsdale, az
Mar 11, 2013

Fun hotel

Loved the bed! Cool decor around the hotel. Staff friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top