$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 9, 2015 Check-out: Feb 12, 2015

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
283 reviews
40th birthday trip

The hotel was so central, if you turned right out of the hotel you were on broadway and the David... See full review

  • samantha w.
  • Jan 20, 2015
Excelent

Best hotel for the price and super friendly. Great location. See full review

  • momt
  • Jan 17, 2015

Unlike many of the hotels in Midtown Manhattan, the Ameritania Times Square isn't part of a huge chain. Since 1990, this non-smoking, boutique hotel has been offering personalized contemporary accommodations, and the gorgeous lobby features mahogany paneling, sparkling chandeliers, terrazzo marble floors, a fireplace and a lounge that stakes its reputation on its fine martinis. From the Beaux Arts exterior to the indulgent bath soaps by C.O. Bigelow in each room, the Ameritania offers all-around sophistication.

Key facts
  • 219 guestrooms
  • Lounge
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Off-site parking nearby (charges apply)
  • Complimentary bath products by C.O. Bigelow

Neighborhood

With its location on West 54th Street, the Ameritania Times Square is a smoke-free hotel that is close to some of the most notable attractions in Midtown Manhattan. To the north, you'll find Columbus Circle and the exceptional restaurants of the Time-Warner Center. To the east, there's Radio City Music Hall and first-rate shopping along legendary Fifth Avenue. Head west to immerse yourself in the quirky, trendy vibe of Hell's Kitchen. And where nighttime entertainment is concerned, the hotel is on the same block as the Ed Sullivan Theater, home of The Late Show with David Letterman.

Hints and tips
Get pampered with massages and pedicures at Jenunesse spa, just a short walk away.

Draw the blackout curtains to transform your room into a tranquil space after a day spent exploring the bustle of New York.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ameritania at Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Ameritania at Times Square Rooms

Standard
A standard room with one double bed or 1 queen bed. Room is non-smoking. Color televisions with remote control, pay-per-view movies. Rollway bed is available at $20.00 charge.
Deluxe Double Double
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe Double Double room can accommodate up to 4 guests (adult with child combination.) Room is non-smoking. Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries and hairdryers.
Deluxe King
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe King room can accommodate up to 2 guests (adult with child combination.) Room is non-smoking. Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries are hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Broadway: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi

Dining

Twist Lounge
Trendy bar lounge located in the lobby, open from 5 PM to 1 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (283)

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
283 out of 283
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Londonlad25
London
Feb 26, 2013

Excellent value

Great hotel. Clean, comfortable, well located. It's easily 4* standard; I've stayed at worse 5* hotels. Would unreservedly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
creyn
Business
central valley CA
Jul 22, 2013

nice and basic

This hotel is nice but older. The staff are helpful always. One odd thing was that only one soap was left so we had to move it back and forth from the shower to the sink...we fixed that and they always left us more from then on. It is near all the Broadway venues which was nice. This hotel is older...if the air is on during a HOT day you may blow the fuse for the room drying your hair!!! They came three times during one hair drying:) After that we turned off the air while drying our hair and all was good. All staff are friendly and helpful always.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
10 Year Anniversary Diva
Business
New York, New York
Jul 20, 2013

10 year anniversary trip

We had a fabulous time! The hotel is in a great location and the room was very clean and cozy. The staff was excellent. They were congratulatory our our anniversary and gave us a nice room with a view. We thought that was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Every store you can think of are a few steps away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mia former New Yorker
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Jul 19, 2013

Modern and Convenient

I was at the Ameritania during the heat wave on July 16 to July 18, so I did experience some problems with the air conditioner and the electricity shutting down. When I realized the problem kept occurring even after the engineer looked into it, I requested a new room which was provided. My first room with one double bed was on the small side and it had a backside view of other buildings but the room and bathroom were large enough, modern and immaculate with a moderate to large sized screen tv. The new room was roomier and it had a view of 54th street and Broadway which was nice. I only wished they had small refrigerator in the room which would have been a great convenience. The location of the hotel is ideal. The David Letterman Show is taped next door, Cinderella was one block away and other Broadway shows a little further down. Columbus Circle is several blocks up on Broadway and there is an incredible Whole Foods market in the lower level of the Time Warner building. Easy access to subways at Columbus Circle and Times Square. I definitely want to stay at the Ameritania again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

I purchased discounted tickets to Cinderella at the TKTS booth and there are several locations, one near Times Square which looked overwhelmingly crowed, one I think at South Street Seaport and one in Brooklyn. Since I was already in Brooklyn visiting the Brooklyn Museum I purchased my ticket at the TKTS booth by the A, C subway stop and there wasn't a terrible line but make sure you know where you want to sit. The man at the booth said he could give me a seat first row in the orchestra section off to the side. I thought that would be too close but I haven't been to the theatre in a while and he said that was the best seat he had. Anyway, I went to the theatre and the seat was definitely too close and all I could see was the front/bottom part of the stage and the orchestra down below in the pit. I'm not very tall so I had to crane my neck up and from my view I would only be able to see the performers feet and underneath their necks. I just asked an usher if there was any way I would get a different ticket or seat and I was very fortunate and was provided with a new seat in the mezzanine. I didn't mind I wasn't on the floor because I just wanted to be able to see the entire stage so everything worked out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leskae
Business
Virginis
Jul 12, 2013

Wow!

This modern boutique hotel is located in an area that is central to everything. Central Park is several blocks away, and Times Square/Broadway is as well. Moma is close, and so is radio city music hall. The staff is fantastic, funny and witty and go out of their way to be helpful. Jeffrey, the doorman, can give you great ideas on where to eat, how to get places, and will ensure a cab if you need one. My kids and I sincerely enjoyed our stay. The front desk recommended to eat at a place called Stardust a couple blocks down and it was a real experience that was fun a d entertaining! I will recommend this place to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ellen's Stardust has young waiters and waitresses who serenade you with great music!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Non Psycho Dance Mom
Business
Arizona
Jul 7, 2013

Nice, Nearby Times Square

Chose this hotel because of its price (compared to over $100 more for nearby conference hotel, which we attended). Staff called up in the first five minutes in the door and asked if we'd like a better room and then moved us right away. We got a bigger room with two beds, better for us. We really appreciated that. Unfortunately we went from a frig, to none however. Staff was very very friendly and helpful whenever needed. When I asked for the nearest place to pick up a bottled water for our ride to the airport, desk clerk asked another member to run downstairs and bring me one, complimentary. Little things like that! Location was excellent and hotel was clean and quiet. Would return someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
marcbulgarel
Business
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Jul 6, 2013

I recommend

Stayed for 3 nights at this hotel and love it. Near everything. We can walk to any important places and have to much fun. Important thing: the staff was so cordial and sensitive to all needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near Central Park, if you want to walk, you can go to all important Museums in a short period of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TheSots
Business
Eau Claire
Jul 1, 2013

Location baby.

Right in times square. A few blocks from Central Park, can not complain, reasonable priced to boot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Soup from Seinfeld is just a block or two from here. Great soup.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jacky loves NY
Business
Montreal, QC, Canada
Jun 21, 2013

LOVED IT! Will go back!

I fell in love with Ameritania hotel! The location couldn't be any better, the staff is super friendly and the room was absolutely perfect. Chic and modern, I made it my home for my 4-night stay. The only little thing to consider if you are a light sleeper: when someone enters/exits their room, the door kind of gets "slammed". I quickly got used to it, it something that usually happens in these kind of hotels. I love that I called 2 days before getting there to make sure to have a room with a view on Broadway either than 54th street and the lady was the sweetest, made the change for me. I recommend this hotel, I can't wait to go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

5 min walk to Time square, 7 min walk to Fifth Ave and Central Park. 2-3 min walk to restaurants and Pharmacies (forgot my toothbrush, was happy to be able to buy one near the hotel!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrankB
Business
NY
Jun 18, 2013

Great Location

Great location, near Central Park, Rock Center, Times Square and Theatre district. Comfy rooms and friendly staff!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago cathy
Business
Chicago, illinois
Jun 16, 2013

Comfortable

Very helpful doormen and staff, clean comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top