$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
View map of 230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
295 out of 295
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PFaz
Business
Monterrey, México
Sep 2, 2013

NY - Relax & Enjoy

Perfect Location, Near to Times Square in the Theater District. Very safe neighborhood even at dawn. The innovative aesthetic of the guest rooms appointed with eye-catching modern furniture. The room are small, as in most of the hotels in NY but fully functional with all the amenities required. The guest rooms reflect the stylish motif of this distinctive NYC hotel, from the cherry reds and soothing creams to the rich mahogany paneling and chic modern bedside lamps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Saving money, but with luxury amenities and atmosphere of a grand hotel ... in a perfect location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LilLonghorn29
Business
Houston, Texas
Sep 2, 2013

Fantastic location!

As most people have stated, the location of this hotel cannot be beat. I asked for a quiet room, and hotel concierge was kind enough to grant my request. I heard absolutely no construction noise throughout my week long stay. My hotel room was thoroughly cleaned each day. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laetitia B.
Business
Montréal
Aug 26, 2013

Good hôtel but on free wifi

The room was trendy and comfortable. Even though, it was quite small and noisy. Wifi charged 10$ a day ... While a starbucks across the street. The room was quite expensive .. . You should offer wifi connection at least in the lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bubba gump om Broadway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
midwest soccer mom
Business
Ohio
Aug 19, 2013

Asolutely perfect location

Within easy walking distance of Central Park, Broadway and Times Square, all sorts of restaurants, MoMa and many museums, a block away from subway station.... we could not ask for anything better in terms of location. The room was small but clean. With 2 parents and 2 teenagers we managed fine since we were out all day anyway. The doormen were very helpful - stored our bags cheerfully before we checked in and after we checked out since we had time after flying in and before flying back out. The doorman also arranged for a car to drive us back to LaGuardia so we sat in comfort for a little less than the cabfare we paid to get there. The desk staff answered questions and were efficient, but not quite as friendly as the doormen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of reasonably-priced restaurants on 9th Ave, ~2-3 blocks walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holly Success
Business
Rochester, NY
Aug 12, 2013

Great Birthday Celebration

I booked this hotel for my daughters sweet 16th birthday trip. It was clean centrally located and all the staff were super friendly. Definitely going to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
REgvoxx
Business
Southern California
Aug 7, 2013

A Great Hotel for My First Trip to NYC!

For my very first trip to NYC, I picked this hotel because of the great reviews on the internet, the swanky photos and especially the great combo price with the airfare. When I arrived at the hotel, I wad greeted by a friendly doorman. The hotel lobby is modern, art deco swanky and gorgeous. The room that I got is swanky as well, but a tad bit small. Nevertheless, I still love the hotel for it's close proximity to the broadway theaters and the fabulous cultural spots in the midtown district. I stayed at this hotel for 11 days and each day was memorable and comfortable. The entire staff has been very friendly and helpful, especially Hugo, one of the doormen. On my last day, I asked Hugo to please hail a taxi for me and instead, he ordered a limo for the same flat fee of $45 to the airport as what a taxi would charge me as well! So there it is...on my last day, I asked for a taxi and got a limo! I left NYC in style!! Overall, I received great quality and customer service for a great price! I will most definitely stay at this hotel again whenever I return to NYC!! Pros: - Friendly and helpful staff (housekeeping and administration) - Beautifully decorated rooms - Great price - Free Wi-fi - Flat screen TV with free cable TV - A work-out/gym room Cons: - Small room - I wish the work-out /gym room was not in the basement w/only 1 elevator access. It felt a little claustrophobic and slightly creepy being down there. (But fortunately, I did not find a use for the gym at all during my stay there because of all the walking I did in NYC.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The New York Plaza Hotel has an underground eatery with a smorgasbord of small restaurants and bakeries. It was amazing just looking at all of the different restaurants! It was a feast for the eyes! When you are in the area, go and check it out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
frana
Business
canada
Aug 5, 2013

impressed

really enjoyed the friendliness of the staff. perfect location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Mom of 3 and 1
Business
Rochester, NY
Aug 4, 2013

Family get-together

This hotel room was extremely small. I was by myself in the room (double), and I can't image having another person to room with! There was hardly any space to walk around in room.....very tight quarters. Aside from the room, staff was very pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Charlie
Business
Syracuse, NY
Jul 26, 2013

Weekend Getaway

Enjoyed a nice two night stay with the wife. Got upgraded to a larger corner room, after inquiring about room availability. Since we had to wait a couple of hours to check in, the women at the front desk gave us a complementary breakfast in their café for both mornings! Staff was very accommodative and friendly, as were the door men. Staying a little north of central Times Square was good, since many restaurants, pubs and shops where nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexa's mom
Business
Santa Clarita,california
Jul 26, 2013

Perfect location

I loved this quaint spot. The staff was kind, considerate & helpful from the moment I got there till the moment we left. The room was tiny but clean & sufficient for my daughter & I. It was in the perfect location, right at he corner of 54th & Broadway. Everything was in walking distance from subways to 5th avenue, Time Square to great food. And quite during the night. When we checked out, they held our bags, called us a cab & made sure we were getting to the right destination. Since we were meeting a group at the airport the bellhop overheard me say terminal B & said that letter terminals are La Guardian Airport & JFK Airport is number terminals, which we were going to so he made me aware of the situation in order to fix it. Loved NY, even just for the weekend & would recommend this place, if your not planning to stay in your room all day, which we didn't. Thank you Ameritania.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top