$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
271 reviews
Amazing NYC Trip

This location was great! Everything was in walking distance, which allowed us to save money because... See full review

  • Jacqueline B.
  • Dec 24, 2014
Nice Stay

Very accomodating. Great location. Helpful staff. Modern design See full review

  • World Traveler1
  • Dec 3, 2014

Unlike many of the hotels in Midtown Manhattan, the Ameritania Times Square isn't part of a huge chain. Since 1990, this non-smoking, boutique hotel has been offering personalized contemporary accommodations, and the gorgeous lobby features mahogany paneling, sparkling chandeliers, terrazzo marble floors, a fireplace and a lounge that stakes its reputation on its fine martinis. From the Beaux Arts exterior to the indulgent bath soaps by C.O. Bigelow in each room, the Ameritania offers all-around sophistication.

Key facts
  • 219 guestrooms
  • Lounge
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Off-site parking nearby (charges apply)
  • Complimentary bath products by C.O. Bigelow

Neighborhood

With its location on West 54th Street, the Ameritania Times Square is a smoke-free hotel that is close to some of the most notable attractions in Midtown Manhattan. To the north, you'll find Columbus Circle and the exceptional restaurants of the Time-Warner Center. To the east, there's Radio City Music Hall and first-rate shopping along legendary Fifth Avenue. Head west to immerse yourself in the quirky, trendy vibe of Hell's Kitchen. And where nighttime entertainment is concerned, the hotel is on the same block as the Ed Sullivan Theater, home of The Late Show with David Letterman.

Hints and tips
Get pampered with massages and pedicures at Jenunesse spa, just a short walk away.

Draw the blackout curtains to transform your room into a tranquil space after a day spent exploring the bustle of New York.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ameritania at Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Ameritania at Times Square Rooms

Standard
A standard room with one double bed or 1 queen bed. Room is non-smoking. Color televisions with remote control, pay-per-view movies. Rollway bed is available at $20.00 charge.
Deluxe Double Double
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe Double Double room can accommodate up to 4 guests (adult with child combination.) Room is non-smoking. Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries and hairdryers.
Deluxe King
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe King room can accommodate up to 2 guests (adult with child combination.) Room is non-smoking. Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries are hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Broadway: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi

Dining

Twist Lounge
Trendy bar lounge located in the lobby, open from 5 PM to 1 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (271)

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
271 out of 271
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tweeda
Business
Cork, Ireland
Jun 4, 2013

Wonderful Boutique Hotel

This boutique hotel is a treasure. Located at the corner of 54th & Boradway it is only 5 mins walk to Times Square & close to all theatres. Rooms were clean & quiet large by NYC standards. The room contained a clean & large wetroom shower and was on the corner with 2 windows looking to the street below. Only downfall was that the WiFi access (which cost $25 for 72hrs) had a tendency to drop intermittantly in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Team Coleman
Business
DC Metro
Jun 3, 2013

Great Location, Good Staff, and Pretty Nice Room

Good size for a NY hotel, very suprised. Updated decor and finishes (especially bathroom). Staff was very helpful and engaging. Did early check-in and they were very helpful in doing that as well. Would definitely stay there again. Please note construction across the street was going on during the day. I am around it everyday, but it was minimal noise in the room when we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pick-a-Bagel. Good breakfast place for decent price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debra23
Business
New York City, NY
Jun 3, 2013

Perfect Location

Rooms were somewhat small. Perfect for one person. Okay for two Very clean and the bed was very comfortable Would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mahera
Business
London
Jun 1, 2013

First trip to New York

We arrived at the Ameritania in pouring rain after an eventful journey from JFK. The staff at reception were extremely welcoming and offered us a choice of rooms. Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious. It was cleaned daily with fresh sheets and clean towels. After a long day of sightseeing, shopping, eating etc. we were happy to get back to our comfortable beds for a good nights rest. We were so pleased with the location of the hotel, 5 minutes walk to Times Square, 10 minutes to Central Park, near to subways, shops, restaurants etc. Being so near Times Square most night we stayed out late knowing that getting back to our hotel wouldn't be a problem. As it was our first trip to NY,we wanted to see as much as we could in the 5 days we had, so we bought the hop on hop off bus tours which was a good way of getting around. Unfortunately it rained for a couple of days so we could not finish all our tours. I would definitely stay at The Ameritania again and recommend it anyone who is visiting NY. Great hotel, friendly staff and fantastic location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Queues to go up Empire State could be long and views not too great. Instead go up Rockerfeller Centre, no queues, less crowds and fantastic views of NY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Devina and Lando
Business
Fort Worth
May 15, 2013

Fantastic Anniversary

Let me start with location, wow, it was close to everything we wanted to see and close to subway stations. the room was a bit small but very clean and comfortable. The staff was exceptional. especially the bartender, who gave us a lot of places to visit that were not your ordinary tourist attractions and the cosmos were fantastic. Me and my husband will be back next year and stay at this hotel. Thank you Ameritania for making our first visit to NYC enjoyable..........totally loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PJay99
Business
Virginia, USA
May 6, 2013

good for NYC

Overall a good stay here. We were surprised by this modestly priced hotel being in good condition and a nice room. The room was clean, updated and comfortable. Staff were nice and helpful. We got an inside room which I think would be quieter than an outside room. Location is great, we walked almost everywhere. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roly loves NYC
Business
Miami, Florida
May 6, 2013

Great location,staff, cleanliness

Staff was excellent, location, can not be better. Decorations ecclectic, I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for theatres, museums, Time Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreamcatcher990
Business
San Antonio Tx
May 6, 2013

Perfect for the money

I wasn't aware this was a 3 star hotel until just recently. I am going to upgrade their rating to 4. The only reason I wouldn't give it a 5 is the breakfast didn't include eggs. Typical continental style breakfast. The staff was VERY accommodating. The Hotel is in a great central location. Close to Subway and Bus tours. The only thing I can say that would be a negative is the room is really small but I think everything In NY is. Really good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are new to New York I recommend the Bus Tour vs the subway or Taxi. Although the subway-taxi is faster you will want to get the history that the guides provide to you on a tour. The tours are Hop on hop off all day and you can buy a 3 day pass pretty cheap which if you choose includes different packages like a ticket to Empire state a boat tour of Lady Liberty of dinner I think. Either way if you want some real good info on NY use the Guided tour as your means of transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KHeather
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
Apr 26, 2013

Fantastic Customer Service!

Although having a slight mishap, the hotel set about making it right immediately. They went over and above what they needed to do to make me feel comfortable and they valued me as a customer. I had such a nice stay here-would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Southern Girls
Business
Stockbridge, GA.
Apr 22, 2013

Very Pleased!!

The location was PERFECT! The staff was amazing! They were more than helpful, they were polite, friendly, informative about excursions and things to do. They made our reservations for dinner and planned our transportation back to the airport. I was very pleased, and would most definitely return there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Subway!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top