$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Ameritania at Times Square

3 stars
230 W. 54th St., New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
267 reviews
Nice Stay

Very accomodating. Great location. Helpful staff. Modern design See full review

  • World Traveler1
  • Dec 3, 2014
Happy

Excellent! Room was very large and they upgraded us for free. Staff was extremely helpful. See full review

  • Jessc11
  • Nov 26, 2014

Unlike many of the hotels in Midtown Manhattan, the Ameritania Times Square isn't part of a huge chain. Since 1990, this non-smoking, boutique hotel has been offering personalized contemporary accommodations, and the gorgeous lobby features mahogany paneling, sparkling chandeliers, terrazzo marble floors, a fireplace and a lounge that stakes its reputation on its fine martinis. From the Beaux Arts exterior to the indulgent bath soaps by C.O. Bigelow in each room, the Ameritania offers all-around sophistication.

Key facts
  • 219 guestrooms
  • Lounge
  • Gym
  • Wi-Fi (fees may apply)
  • Off-site parking nearby (charges apply)
  • Complimentary bath products by C.O. Bigelow

Neighborhood

With its location on West 54th Street, the Ameritania Times Square is a smoke-free hotel that is close to some of the most notable attractions in Midtown Manhattan. To the north, you'll find Columbus Circle and the exceptional restaurants of the Time-Warner Center. To the east, there's Radio City Music Hall and first-rate shopping along legendary Fifth Avenue. Head west to immerse yourself in the quirky, trendy vibe of Hell's Kitchen. And where nighttime entertainment is concerned, the hotel is on the same block as the Ed Sullivan Theater, home of The Late Show with David Letterman.

Hints and tips
Get pampered with massages and pedicures at Jenunesse spa, just a short walk away.

Draw the blackout curtains to transform your room into a tranquil space after a day spent exploring the bustle of New York.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ameritania at Times Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Ameritania at Times Square Rooms

Standard
A standard room with one double bed or 1 queen bed. Room is non-smoking. Color televisions with remote control, pay-per-view movies. Rollway bed is available at $20.00 charge.
Deluxe Double Double
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe Double Double room can accommodate up to 4 guests (adult with child combination.) Room is non-smoking. Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries and hairdryers.
Deluxe King
All newly renovated sleek modern furniture and artwork. Our Deluxe King room can accommodate up to 2 guests (adult with child combination.) Room is non-smoking. Guestrooms offer I-Home docking station with AM/PM clock radio and cable television, iron and board and safe in room. Our bathrooms offer designer toiletries are hairdryers.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Roseland: 0.1 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.1 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.2 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.2 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.2 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.2 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.3 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Cort Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.4 mi
  • Broadway: 0.4 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • GE Building: 0.4 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.4 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • University Club: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.4 mi

Dining

Twist Lounge
Trendy bar lounge located in the lobby, open from 5 PM to 1 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (267)

Ratings and reviews for Ameritania at Times Square

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beccandy
Business
Manchester, UK
Apr 4, 2014

Nice Hotel

The location is good, just a short walk to Times Square and Central Park. The subway station is not too far away either, about 4 blocks so 10 minutes walk. It was a bit rowdy outside on our first night as the hotel is situated next to a nightclub and the road was busy and noisy too although we did get used to it. The bedroom is a good enough size for two people and the bathroom had a decent shower. There were no tea and coffee making facilities which was a shame. We had a look at the breakfast that was on offer but decided not to go for it as it was a bit expensive for cereal, toast and cakes. The staff were pleasant and the doormen helped us with instructions on how to get back to the airport. The décor was modern and minimalist and facilities such as a hairdryer and umbrella were available. Overall a nice hotel but next time we would probably stay somewhere closer to a subway station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Senior lady
Business
Yorkshire England
May 1, 2014

New York New York

a good hotel, but with a few extra details it could be much better, the food experience was very poor most people do not want their breakfast tea or coffee out of paper cups, a hospitality tray which is usually in all rooms in the UK was missed, also a shortage of power plugs in the room. Although only there for 5 days not many drawers and the safe on the floor of the cupboard was difficult to see and use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rosie O'Gradys dinning very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
3rd time NYC visitor
Business
UK
Jan 16, 2010

Location, Location

We were greeted and made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived. It was one street away from the subway - perfect for travelling anywhere in the city. The staff were really helpful with all requests - from the best breakfast diner to filling my hot water bottle. Bedding clean (although decor not modern) bed comfy, shower in perfect working order, hot and lots of water. only downside was the lack of coffee and tea facilities in the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Try and get tickets to the David Letterman show its right next to the hotel! Also, use the air train from JFK to the subway and the E train to the hotel - cheaper than a taxi and easy to use!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hong Kong
May 30, 2010

Great location

Great location, but room and bathroom were very small. Nice decor, functional trendy and nice design. Good value for the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Serafina on Broadway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfield County, CT
Jul 10, 2011

Ameritania

At first I was disillusioned being given a second floor room at the top of a flight of stairs. The room turned out to be nicely remodeled in a Jonathan Adler sort of design and not as over the top as the lobby. I would definitely bring earplus and an eye mask as the ac and street traffic can be noisy during the night. Notwithstanding, the location was great as was the price of the room. I had drinks at Vlada's on 51st--a neighborhood gay bar friendly for all ages. Dinner next door at Braii---African cuisine with a Dutch touch. In the a.m. had eggs and lox at Carnegie Deli just a block away as well. Then walked to Central Park and to the Met to see the Alexander McQueen exhibit. Not bad for a night on the town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
creatiu
Business
Barcelona, Spain
Mar 8, 2010

Average

The Ameritania Hotel is conveniently located 8 min north from Times Square (walking), near the David Letterman show theatre. The hotel staff was friendly. The hotel price was really good, but for the same price in other european countries you have continental breakfast included. New York is very expensive for what you get. This has been my first trip to New York and I won't go back, because people in general wasn't friendly. As an example, I went to three different stores asking to change 3 dollars for coins (to make a phone call) and all of them asked me to buy something if I wanted change, finally a man selling hot dogs changed this notes for coins. The city was just OK, tall buildings, nice views from top, shopping, musicals, ground 0, etc. the typical things you can expect from NY nowadays, but the Subway is the worst I've ever seen, really dirty, plenty of rats, very old trains and generally disgusting and very hard to understand. If you want to travel alone somewhere I will not recommend you New York, much better if you go to Caribbean or Asia, you'll get luxury for the same price of New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Mamma Mia The Musical.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BurtonFan
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 11, 2010

Great Stay

I spent 5 days in New York city for the first time ever. After researching hotels like crazy I chose the Ameritania because it was nearest to the things I wanted too see. The location proved to be GREAT! It was within walking distance of Times Square, Letterman, The Moma, Rockefeller, several Subway stops and all the restaurants you could want. It was very quiet, I never heard any traffic or people noise. The building is definitely an older one that's been redone. Some of the wear still shows on the walls and flooring, but the rooms and bedding were always clean although extremely tiny. The door hit the bed when opened, and there are no surfaces in the room or bathroom at all. Hard anyone getting ready the morning, and definitely not what I'm used too! But all in all we had a great stay, the staff was VERY friendly and helpful and even held our luggage on our last day since we had a late flight. I would definitely recommend it to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ray's Pizza has 2 extremely close locations to this hotel and has AWESOME by the slice pizza, or customize a whole one and they make it for you while you wait. Super friendly and great prices, especially in NY.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Mar 15, 2010

small but sufficient

I just needed a place to sleep - ad this was just that. Considering the price - it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Dec 22, 2009

Wicked Close to Everything

My wife and I saw a few shows and relaxed the weekend prior to Christmas. The location was great as we didn't walk further than 10 blocks from the hotel. We walked down 5th ave, Central Park, and Times Square. Everything was great except the radiators in the hotel need to be maintained better (i.e. the air needs to be bled out of the system). We had to buy earplugs to sleep at night:( Other than that, it was swell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ameritania at Times Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico City
Jan 7, 2010

Nice

It´s very well located, it´s a nice hotel but the little detail they don't pay much atention to. For the love of god change the radiators, they are really noisy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top