$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
117 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Great location and clean place

Located within minutes' walk to the Time Square and Empire State Building, this Inn provides great... See full review

  • Jasonlice
  • Aug 7, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9854
Area served
New york city
Nearby airports
Laguradia Airport, John F Kennedy International Airport,Newark International Airport.
Area description
Situated in the Midtown area of Manhattan, 4 blocks from the Empire State Building, 6 blocks to New York's Broadway Theaters.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 117
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saber Liu
New York
Aug 18, 2014

Fare enough

The position is very good, although the bathroom is public. Fare enough for a hotel in this price at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Macy's

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SA.Visitor
South Africa
Jul 12, 2014

Times Square location

Great location near 42nd Str & Times Sqr. Staff are friendly. Shared bathrooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stevehehehe
FL
Mar 24, 2014

Great location and save money

The location is awesome. You have everything around you. It is also great for saving money. The bathroom is shared but it is both clean and actually private when you use that. Great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The elevator stops at second floor every time.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SoulCurator
Philadelphia
Mar 8, 2014

Great value!

Kind, helpful staff. Central location. The bathroom sharing is slightly inconvenient but not a big deal. And it's totally clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrsnitch
FLorida
Oct 27, 2013

Great location but overpriced

Pros: Excellent location, semi-pleasant staff Cons: -Hides the fact that all bathrooms are communal, no ensuite -TV but no cable, only local channels even though it advertises cable TV -Put in a room on a busy corner, SO LOUD from the traffic and people outside I had to buy ear plugs in order to sleep, and I'm not a light sleeper -Rooms are cramped and UGLY -Bathrooms aren't dirty but aren't very pleasant either, building is pretty run down -2 of the 5 bathrooms were broken on my floor, I was told they would be fixed by the following morning, the next night, one was fixed, the other wasn't for the 4 days I stayed there -Very little temp control, the room was VERY cold -No WiFi, not even for a fee, come on, this is 2013! -Staff wasn't very helpful -elevator is slow and hardly big enough for 2 people Would avoid unless you have no other options, at this price range, these problems are unacceptable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are here for 3 days or less, you can walk to most things and don't need to buy a $30 subway pass, just pay as you go

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Flaquita bonita
DF
Oct 14, 2013

Disappointing

The price for what you get is excessive. Shared bathrooms for 200 USD a night is not what I expect to get on this website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MariaLisa100
Newcastle, UK
Sep 3, 2013

Value for money

This hotel is really good for someome who needs a place to sleep and not much else. The hotel is clean and tidy but dated and my room had no bath included so I had to use the communal bath. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is no breakfast or wi-fi included. The location of the hotel is unbeatable, being in close to time square. Delis, shops and pharmacies are around the corner. Overall, I thought that this was good value for money but I did not spend much time in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SuperBobBobbob
New York
Jul 28, 2013

Not what I expected

No private bathroom. Super strong smell of cleaning product to cover up cigarette smells. More like staying in a European hostel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennL89
San Francisco, California
Jul 23, 2013

Great for short trip in NYC!

I love this place. The location is just perfect!! The guy who helped me check in on Sunday morning was really nice and very helpful! Very clean on room main area, but got so dusty on edges.There is an AC/heater inside the room, and I find the room is really comfortable, regardless its small size. They also have tiny little clean kitchen. My only main problem is the shared bathroom. On level 3, the cold shower did not work, so I have to try the other shower at other level. Also, although they clean the bathroom most of the time, it could get really dirty and wet, especially the toilet seats. However, it really good value for money. I would recommend this hotel, and would definitely come back if i stay here less than 3 nights :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LuvNYC
md
Jul 10, 2013

Clean Decent Hotel - Good Staff - Great Location!!

Nice Hotel, nice friendly professional staff/Clerks. Check in/out a breeze. Room was Small, but not small enough to make you feel uncomfortable - I had a double-bed room. A single room may be much smaller. Bed felt ok enough, I slept well. The room was clean, bathrooms clean (outside of rooms), A/C worked fine. Not bad for price paid but it could have been a little cheaper! But, given the PRIME location, and an 15% discount on purchase. I have No regrets - I enjoyed my stay in NYC and the American Inn!! If price is right, would come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway system best way around city, subway maps/direction is a little confusing, but you figure it out eventually, or just ask the for assistance. Lot of places within Walking distance as well!! I walked most of the time to Times Square, Empire State Building, Union Square, etc...

Back to menu Return to top

Change search