$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
121 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Value for money

Great position-close to Times Square, central rail & subway. Shopping & restaurants close. Clean,... See full review

  • AussieinNY
  • Sep 28, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anthrograd10
Business
New York
Nov 19, 2012

What I Expected

I wanted a resonably priced hotel in mid town Manhatten and that's what I got. Room was really clean, shared bathrooms were ok. A little loud in the morning because the walls are thin. But great location and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Caroline's Comedy Club on Broadway is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sulinod
Business
Buffalo, NY
Dec 28, 2012

Good Hotel at Amazing location

Amazing location. The hotel is very good considering that is a cheap one. The bathroom is shared, but it is very clean and organized, and just a few rooms to use each. I like the hotel and I recommend to everyone that don't mind to share the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is really near the Times Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bushra
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jan 2, 2013

Good location, No Internet

You cannot beat the location, walking distance to almost anything and everything. Lots of places to eat around and nice discount stores to shop at. The only negative will be no internet service. They do not have a wifi and only way to access internet is a single computer placed in the lobby at the charge of 1 dollar for 10 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Star
Business
Southamerica
Feb 7, 2013

Very good

The hotel is a little bit old, but the location amazing. The room was little but clean and the share rooms were very clean as well, and enough bathrooms for floor. Recomend it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lord and taylor, manhattan mall, macys, etc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
donthaveanothername
Business
Westminster, CA
Mar 7, 2013

Great for the price, prime location

I didn't really like the fact that the restrooms and showers were shared but considering the price and since I am only there to sleep it was easy to get over. Friendly staff and very clean considering the shared amenities. Just a few blocks from Times Square and subways and just south of Central Park and the major museums. I would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I'm a budget vacationer and I was surprised to learn there is a lot a pretty cheep good food at venders and street carts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Senior 1
Business
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Mar 11, 2013

Very Satisfied!

I was very satisfied with my four days at the Americana Inn. The room was small and clean, the bed comfortable and my 4th floor rear room very quiet. My room had a sink, fire escape and a sprinkler system. The staff was attentive and responsive. The bathroom across the hall was always clean and available -- plus there were three others on the floor. I informed the clerk at the reception desk that the bathtub drain was clogged, and the next time I took a shower it was clear. For the location, it was a real value. I would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tad's Steak House on 34th Street between 6th and 7th Avenues is a real value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
apodo
Business
florida
Mar 15, 2013

hotel

Hi The hotel was ok in ny but no bathroom inside the room, WHY the person help me with the booking do not tell me that ISSUE, and I will go to other hotel, I hope your employees get a BETTER TRAINING, and Thank you very Much.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BojiGirl
Business
Okoboji, Iowa
Mar 19, 2013

Prime Manhattan Location

This was our first time to New York, so we had researched hotels and were aware that the rooms would be small. Our room at the Americana was small, had two twin beds, a tv., closet and wash sink. The shared bathroom was right outside our door and we never even encountered anyone else using the bathroom during our three night stay. My 17 year old daughter loved the corner window and really enjoyed watching the city streets from there. We brought a small floor fan to help drown out the street noise during the night - that worked really well. The location of the hotel is ideal - within walking distance to so many sights. For a low price hotel in midtown Manhattan, this is a great choice, would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennL89
Business
San Francisco, California
Jul 23, 2013

Great for short trip in NYC!

I love this place. The location is just perfect!! The guy who helped me check in on Sunday morning was really nice and very helpful! Very clean on room main area, but got so dusty on edges.There is an AC/heater inside the room, and I find the room is really comfortable, regardless its small size. They also have tiny little clean kitchen. My only main problem is the shared bathroom. On level 3, the cold shower did not work, so I have to try the other shower at other level. Also, although they clean the bathroom most of the time, it could get really dirty and wet, especially the toilet seats. However, it really good value for money. I would recommend this hotel, and would definitely come back if i stay here less than 3 nights :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bzik
Business
Odessa, Ukraine
Oct 10, 2013

cheap but valuable

It's a good place to stay just for one night. When everything you need - is a good bed and a quick shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top