$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
164 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Great location and save money

The location is awesome. You have everything around you. It is also great for saving money. The... See full review

  • Stevehehehe
  • Mar 24, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9854
Area served
New york city
Nearby airports
Laguradia Airport, John F Kennedy International Airport,Newark International Airport.
Area description
Situated in the Midtown area of Manhattan, 4 blocks from the Empire State Building, 6 blocks to New York's Broadway Theaters.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Schuyler
West Hartford, CT
May 11, 2012

Great on a budget

I was not expecting much from this hotel, but it ended up being a very pleasant stay. The room was clean, and we were within walking distance of Times Square. It was a short subway ride away from Broadway and a lot of great restaurants. If you are on a college-student budget and in a relationship, this is great for you because it is inexpensive and close to the many great things that NYC has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sister Vacay
Dallas
May 23, 2013

Good location, friendly staff

My sister and I were in NYC for 1 night, 2 days, so we only really needed a hotel to sleep in for a few hours. The shared bathrooms/showers were the biggest barrier for us since we weren't used to anything like that in a hotel before, but for NYC, the hotel was a good enough price for what it offered that we didn't mind. The hotel met our needs - good location, affordable, knowledgeable staff, and able to hold our luggage before/after checkin/out while we explored the city. Overall, it was a good place for the one night we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chanaleh
New York, NY
May 25, 2013

SHARED BATH, but you can't beat the price

I actually live in Manhattan, but needed a room for one weeknight for an overnight guest. There's almost nothing in town available for under $170/night (unless you get down to the really skeevy Chinatown flophouses) -- except this place. The location is truly prime, so why's it so cheap? NO FRILLS. Shared bath -- funny it didn't say ANYTHING about that in the room description when I booked! No wifi (though there's a computer with internet in the lobby), no carpet, no curtains (just blinds), not even a dresser in the room (just a tiny night table). However, everything was sparkling clean, and the shared bath turned out to be a regular lockable individual bathroom (just across the hall from our room) with pristine tub and shower. The room did include a sink/washstand and mirror, surprisingly modern/luxe looking, suggesting fairly recent renovation. We overlooked 38th St., so the street noise was constant, but that was basically to be expected. Overall, would certainly return when next needed... but bring a bathrobe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent food options a few blocks down on 32nd, a.k.a. Korea Town.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
In NYC for work
Business
Mountain View, California
Aug 23, 2013

Served its purpose

Didn't realize this place had shared bathrooms when I booked (the price should have been a dead give away) but it turned out to be fine. Air conditioner worked well, TV, bathroom was always empty when I tried to use it. No real complaints. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
DC
Aug 1, 2011

good

location is so perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, NY
May 25, 2009

Great Location and super price

This is not a luxury hotel and I was a little skeptical of booking but I took the leap and went with the other travelers experiences. As a middle age traveler I do love luxury but didn't want to spend a lot for this trip. The rooms do not have carpeting and the bathroom is shared with two other rooms. I thought this might be a problem but never had to wait to use it. They were very very clean. The room was also very clean. I was pleased with my experience and would definitely stay there again. It is right off Times Square so seeing all the sights was a breeze. Subway stops within walking distance. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. I would suggest bringing something in the bathroom with you to hold your clean clothes while showering as there are no stands in the bathrooms, only a double hook. Another side point..you don't have to worry about random people wandering into the hotel as the door is locked and you have to ring the buzzer to be let in. Made me feel much more secure. There is also an internet computer in the lobby for a very small fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CBANY
St Louis, MO
May 25, 2009

Expect what you pay

It´s ok. Great location. May get a little bit too noisy late at night. Good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
brescia, italy
Aug 22, 2009

good, but nothing special

I usually went to the hotel to sleep. the room was really small, but confortable. The air conditioned was warking but really too noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
brescia, italy
Aug 22, 2009

good, but nothing special

I usually went to the hotel to sleep. the room was really small, but confortable. The air conditioned was warking but really too noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MariaLisa100
Newcastle, UK
Sep 3, 2013

Value for money

This hotel is really good for someome who needs a place to sleep and not much else. The hotel is clean and tidy but dated and my room had no bath included so I had to use the communal bath. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is no breakfast or wi-fi included. The location of the hotel is unbeatable, being in close to time square. Delis, shops and pharmacies are around the corner. Overall, I thought that this was good value for money but I did not spend much time in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top