Americana Inn ★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$70
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 10, 2016 Check-out: Feb 11, 2016

very disappointing

Would not recommend Mon, Oct 8, 2012
$230 an night is very overpriced even for NYC. There was no AC so the room was uncomfortably hot. The bed smelled of perfumed freshener and aggravated my allergies. Avoid this hotel if you are in search of a room that you can actually sleep in.

| Washington, DC Business

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Not Again

Would not recommend Mon, Oct 8, 2012
I booked the Americana at the last minute for a business trip to NY. The rooms are creepy and for the size of the room, around 50-60 square feet, you're 100 times better off booking a 'Cabin Room' at the Jane hotel for arounr $135/night. I should have read more reviews before I booked, but I was strapped for cash and needed a place quick.

Dining

Ruby Foo's is a good dinner spot that's close by, has a good range of asian dishes and a nice atmosphere.

| Los Angeles, CA Business

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Overpriced for the value

Would not recommend Fri, Sep 7, 2012
This hotel was clean and in a good location, but is really just an overpriced hostel where you get your own room. Had I known that before booking I wouldnt have done it and would just pay a little more for a real hotel. The plus side is that there are many bathrooms on each floor so sharing is not too big a deal, and there are at least sinks in every room.

| CT Business

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Good for what proposed

Would recommend Mon, Aug 20, 2012
The Hotel was very clean, personel nice and informative, and it is very good localized. No noise. Air conditioning a little noisy. Very ok for what proposed.

Shopping hint

Broadway, Macy's and 5th avenue

| France Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

the worst hotel in the world

Would not recommend Sat, Aug 18, 2012
The bathroom was shared with other rooms and it was dirty ... the bed too small for two people ... dirty floor and the bed felt something itching in the body. immediately we left the hotel.

| dominican republic Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Perfect Location Basic Accomodations

Would recommend Mon, Jul 2, 2012
I went into this knowing what I was getting, a basic hotel at an inexpensive price in an incredible location. Geographically you can't ask for more at this price. This was a short walk to Times Square, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and was convenient to the subway. The room was small; barely big enough for 2 twin beds and an end table. The shared bathrooms were not a problem because there were 4 on my floor so there was always one available to use. Optimally, I would have prefered to have had central air [instead of a window unit], a desk and wifi access. But those are incidental if your intention is to use the room as a place to sleep and you will be out and about during your trip. If you are ok with basic clean accomodations for a low price in mid-town manhattan, then this is a good place to stay.

| Tampa, Florida Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great, clean location

Would recommend Thu, May 24, 2012
Rooms were small (typical for Manhattan). 2 twin beds with about 9" of space in between, a small closet, and a sink in the room. There were 4 restrooms on our floor, each an individual-style room with toilet, sink, tub/shower. I was concerned about the shared bathrooms, but hotel staff did a great job of deep cleaning them daily, and only about 5 rooms shared each one. My only complaint about the room was the noise: you could hear every truck, horn, and siren on 6th Avenue all night long. We had a corner room right at the intersection of 38th/6th on the 3rd floor. If you get a room on the 38th St. side, it's probably a lot more quiet. After the first night, I slowly got used to the noise and actually had trouble sleeping without the "sounds of the streets" my first night back home. Hotel does not have wifi in the rooms, but it is available in the lobby for a fee. There is a cafe on the corner of 38th/6th (Pret a Manger) that has free wifi for their guests. Just go get a cup of coffee and the wifi password is on the bottom of the receipt. Location in Midtown is great. 2 subway stations easily accessible: 4 blocks north to 42nd St. for the BDFM, 4 blocks south to 34th for the NQR. 10 minute walk to Times Square. Plenty of restaurants around, though none are 24 hours. If you want food in the middle of the night, there are plenty of delivery options or there's a 24 hour convenience store across the street that has some small stuff. I'd stay here again if I could ensure that I get a room away from 6th Avenue.

Money saver

If you're planning on exploring Manhattan, get a subway pass. You can buy a one-week unlimited pass for $29. So basically, use the subway at least twice a day and it pays for itself. Cabs will usually get you there faster, but the fares add up fast. Plus, you learn the subway system of Manhattan and start to feel like a real New Yorker.

| Austin, TX Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great on a budget

Would recommend Fri, May 11, 2012
I was not expecting much from this hotel, but it ended up being a very pleasant stay. The room was clean, and we were within walking distance of Times Square. It was a short subway ride away from Broadway and a lot of great restaurants. If you are on a college-student budget and in a relationship, this is great for you because it is inexpensive and close to the many great things that NYC has to offer.

| West Hartford, CT Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great Location, Tiny room

Would recommend Fri, Mar 16, 2012
I was traveling for one day business in Manhattan. This was located in the the center of downtown (Broadway). Walking-distance to main places. Room was a little bit tiny with one shared bathroom per one floor. Overall, it's good for short-term stay.

| Florida Business

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Great for Traveling on a Budget

Would recommend Fri, Mar 2, 2012
This room was nothing fancy, very small but the price was unbeatable. The staff was friendly, rooms were clean. I heard people complain about having to share restrooms but I was aware of this before I booked the room and there are multiple restrooms on each floor so I didn't think it was a big deal. I also read reviews that said the rooms were very stuffy. It was when I got there but it was equipped with an ac so this was not a problem. I would say it's perfect for anybody traveling for work who needs a place to stay or if traveling on a budget and do not intend on spending any extra time in the hotel.

| Plymouth, CT, USA Business

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5