$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
121 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Value for money

Great position-close to Times Square, central rail & subway. Shopping & restaurants close. Clean,... See full review

  • AussieinNY
  • Sep 28, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50+ traveler
Business
Cupertino, CA
Oct 12, 2009

Shared Bathrooms

This hotel is ideal for budget travel. I didn't know there were shared bathrooms until two days before I got there with my wife. We talked to the front desk and they were extremely gracious and helpful about us not wanting to stay there, so we got refunded for two of the three nights (we slept there the first night). The noise within the inn is quiet, but because the building is old and has only one glass (instead of the modern two glass) windows, the outside noise did come inside. Other than those things, I thought this inn was great. If my children want to just take a short trip to NY, I would have them stay here because I know they wouldn't care about the shared bathrooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shared bathrooms, awesome location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kimnellen
Business
Westville, NJ
Dec 10, 2011

Convenient Location

We were quite shocked to find that we had to share a bathroom. It was not quite as bad as we expected, the bathroom was right outside our room and was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is located right near Times Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a frequent traveller
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Dec 13, 2011

amazing location

I will definately stay at this hotel again. I saw other reviews complain about noise from the streets, but it wasnt bad at all. I loved the location of this hotel! Chinatown, times square, & Macy's are all within about .4 to 2 miles away. We didn't have to take a taxi at all. The room was small, but that was to be expected. (Sink, end table, 2 twin beds & a window overlooking the streets below) The hotel has shared bathrooms. (Basically there's 4 separate bathrooms on each floor that have a toilet, sink, & bath tub w/ showerhead) Each floor has approx 10 hotel bedrooms, & the bathrooms are spread throughout each floor- so you only have to walk a few extra feet to the bathroom. I never had to wait for a bathroom & the shower water was nice & hot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome pizza place right across the street called 2bros pizza. It was only $1 for a huge slice. Great pizza sauce & fun to watch them do tricks while twirling the pizza dough. Wish I could have brought some back home with me!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicky
Business
Hamburg, PA 19526, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Perfect for shsort stay

Location within walking blocks to Rockefeller Center, Saks, Lord and Taylor, Empire State, Macys, Port Authority, Bryant Park, Library ... Room small but clean. Bathroom to be shared, no problem, very clean. Ideal for short stay. Will use again. (Our room) not recommended if traveling with children

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quite a few Delis with nice selection of food, reasonable....Sightseeing within blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeeSeminarOnBroadway
Business
Syracuse, NY, USA
Jan 23, 2012

A tight fit that's easy on your wallet.

Overall, we had a great stay. The room was tiny but what can you really expect in NYC? We only needed the room for a place to sleep and for that it served it's purpose. No bedbugs, (we thoroughly checked), sheets and sink were clean, and the room smelled fresh. We NEVER had to wait to use the community bathroom and it was clean too. The staff was polite and we were pleased to learned they had a secure room for baggage holding after we checked out. After seeing our show, we came back to pick up the bag and had no problems retrieving it. If you are looking for a place near broadway shows and times square this place is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We didn't have time for a nice dinner before our broadway show but wanted to have a nice breakfast or lunch instead. We found Le Pain Quotidien only a short walk away and were so happy we did. Sophisticated French breakfast or lunch food at a reasonable price - we felt very fancy indeed :) We only paid $25 but had a great filling meal and hot drinks. The butternut squash and goatcheese frittata is a must have.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laynelli
Business
Puerto Rico
Jun 20, 2012

Not perfect but good!

the staff was friendly and service oriented. The room was clean and have the basic things you need. The location is perfect. The badrooms are out of the room and no always clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A day in NY
Business
France
Aug 20, 2012

Good for what proposed

The Hotel was very clean, personel nice and informative, and it is very good localized. No noise. Air conditioning a little noisy. Very ok for what proposed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway, Macy's and 5th avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time in NY
Business
Cambridge, UK
Oct 9, 2012

Excellent value for money hotel

It is exactly as it is advertised. Basic but excellent location so very good value for money. Only 2 or 3 rooms share a bathroom so that is not an issue. Definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sillystu
Business
west chester, pa
Oct 17, 2012

back in the ny groove

i had to spend a couple of days in nyc, and this hotel was a blessing. ideally located, it made a perfect home base for me , while i was in nyc. the hotel was nice and clean, and the staff was very friendly. it made my trip run smoothly...thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wagstaff
Business
New York
Nov 16, 2012

Good, inexpensive NYC spot

Will definitely do again. Bathrooms and room clean. Looked like mostly European travelers. The one negative: the room had that room freshener smell. We popped the window open and it was gone in a few hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top