$111 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Americana Inn

2 stars
View map of 69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Enola, PA
Jul 13, 2008

Be prepared

If you want location and don't want to spend a lot of money, you may want to try this hotel, but be prepared. One bathroom for four rooms. We were promised at least a washbowl in the room, but could only find pipes. It was dirty around the edges and the blinds allowed a lot of the night lights in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is on the outskirts of a lot of the action in Manhatten. Times Square is just three short blocks away. Penn Station is also within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Erie, PA
Jul 30, 2011

Americana Inn

Overall, the hotel was just as you would expect. We had the twin bed room, so it was two beds, a small bedside table, and a sink crammed in a tiny room. It wasn't an issue, as we weren't spending a ton of time in the room. My only complaint about the hotel was the fact that the bathrooms do not have a fan/ventilation system, so the bathrooms on the floor always seems to be hot and muggy from the last person that took a shower. Other than that though, the hotel was in a great location, only a few blocks from Bryant Park, Times Square, subway stations, and only a short walk from Rockefeller and 5th Avenue. I would recommend it to anyone looking to stay somewhere for a few days that just needs somewhere to sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have a smart phone/iPhone, I would definitely recommend the Hop Stop app - it was incredibly useful to us when figuring out which subways to take to get where we wanted to go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
deasy
Business
Bos, MA
Aug 10, 2011

clean & well located

though the bathroom is shared, it is very clean. Amenities in the room include soap for face & body, hair conditioner, towers, plastic cups. Room also has small-sized tv, nice washstand with mirror, and soft bed(s). Located along the street, it is somewhat noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bridgeport, ct
Aug 6, 2009

good location, rooms too small

we requested a room with 2 double beds but the room only had one bed and had to pay for additional room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mitchro
Business
Victoria BC
Aug 5, 2009

Great location, a pensione really

The hotel is clean and well run for the most part. Desk staff were pleasant. This is not a 3 star, more of a pensione really, with only one internet access and don't count on phoning anyone from the rooms - the price was great and it is walking distance from everywhere you want to be with a great deli on the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

TKTS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
west bend wisconsin
Sep 1, 2010

nothing fancy but did the job

i was small but great location would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CBANY
Business
St Louis, MO
May 25, 2009

Expect what you pay

It´s ok. Great location. May get a little bit too noisy late at night. Good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
little apple kristen
Business
manhattan, ks
Mar 15, 2010

not terrific, not terrible

as a college student this was a good price. the location was pretty decent. my biggest complaint was the noise level. past 7am or so it was pretty loud from doors shutting. the bathroom next to my room ran out of hot water pretty quickly but there with plenty of other bathrooms. i'd stay here again, as long as i had a way to block out all the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to divine bites!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saber Liu
Business
New York
Aug 18, 2014

Fare enough

The position is very good, although the bathroom is public. Fare enough for a hotel in this price at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Macy's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Southern visitor to the c
Business
Baton Rouge
Aug 22, 2014

Good space on a budget

The hotel was clean and within walking distance to all we were hoping to see. Not having our own bathroom was unfortunate, but we were barely in our room so it wasn't a problem. Our room was on the corner and very noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top