$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 5, 2015

Americana Inn

2 stars
View map of 69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Newark, NY
May 25, 2009

Great Location and super price

This is not a luxury hotel and I was a little skeptical of booking but I took the leap and went with the other travelers experiences. As a middle age traveler I do love luxury but didn't want to spend a lot for this trip. The rooms do not have carpeting and the bathroom is shared with two other rooms. I thought this might be a problem but never had to wait to use it. They were very very clean. The room was also very clean. I was pleased with my experience and would definitely stay there again. It is right off Times Square so seeing all the sights was a breeze. Subway stops within walking distance. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. I would suggest bringing something in the bathroom with you to hold your clean clothes while showering as there are no stands in the bathrooms, only a double hook. Another side point..you don't have to worry about random people wandering into the hotel as the door is locked and you have to ring the buzzer to be let in. Made me feel much more secure. There is also an internet computer in the lobby for a very small fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
DC
Aug 1, 2011

good

location is so perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bfree in DC
Couples
Washington, DC
Dec 16, 2009

Reasonably Priced

The hotel has shared bathrooms- the website really downplays that and I didn't notice prior to booking. Other than that, the overall experience was positive. the room (and bathroom) was clean, and the location was great. This is not a luxury hotel- just a place to crash at the end of a long day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cohcoh
Friends
new york
Sep 30, 2011

good price, tiny room, awesome location

good price, tiny room, awesome location, right on 6'th and 38'th...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nairobi, Kenya
Sep 27, 2009

Great Location

Great location for the garment district shopper but not very friendly for someone with lots of luggage. Shared bath was a bit nasty at time with water on the floor and hair in the tub/shower, but they tried to keep it clean. Not bad for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Wilmington
Jul 6, 2008

Was not prepared for the shared bathroom

It's really a hostel / dorm. Not that there's necessarily anything wrong with that. Bathrooms are shared on each floor, but are well-kept and clean. Rooms are very small, but are clean and have sinks in them. Location is very good for Times Square access. I stayed one night, and it was fine. If you are looking for luxury accomodations, keep looking. If you are ok with a clean dorm-type setting, it's a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square and Broadway

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Enola, PA
Jul 13, 2008

Be prepared

If you want location and don't want to spend a lot of money, you may want to try this hotel, but be prepared. One bathroom for four rooms. We were promised at least a washbowl in the room, but could only find pipes. It was dirty around the edges and the blinds allowed a lot of the night lights in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is on the outskirts of a lot of the action in Manhatten. Times Square is just three short blocks away. Penn Station is also within walking distance.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Erie, PA
Jul 30, 2011

Americana Inn

Overall, the hotel was just as you would expect. We had the twin bed room, so it was two beds, a small bedside table, and a sink crammed in a tiny room. It wasn't an issue, as we weren't spending a ton of time in the room. My only complaint about the hotel was the fact that the bathrooms do not have a fan/ventilation system, so the bathrooms on the floor always seems to be hot and muggy from the last person that took a shower. Other than that though, the hotel was in a great location, only a few blocks from Bryant Park, Times Square, subway stations, and only a short walk from Rockefeller and 5th Avenue. I would recommend it to anyone looking to stay somewhere for a few days that just needs somewhere to sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have a smart phone/iPhone, I would definitely recommend the Hop Stop app - it was incredibly useful to us when figuring out which subways to take to get where we wanted to go!

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
deasy
Family
Bos, MA
Aug 10, 2011

clean & well located

though the bathroom is shared, it is very clean. Amenities in the room include soap for face & body, hair conditioner, towers, plastic cups. Room also has small-sized tv, nice washstand with mirror, and soft bed(s). Located along the street, it is somewhat noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
bridgeport, ct
Aug 6, 2009

good location, rooms too small

we requested a room with 2 double beds but the room only had one bed and had to pay for additional room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top