$150 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
117 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Great location and clean place

Located within minutes' walk to the Time Square and Empire State Building, this Inn provides great... See full review

  • Jasonlice
  • Aug 7, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9854
Area served
New york city
Nearby airports
Laguradia Airport, John F Kennedy International Airport,Newark International Airport.
Area description
Situated in the Midtown area of Manhattan, 4 blocks from the Empire State Building, 6 blocks to New York's Broadway Theaters.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CBANY
St Louis, MO
May 25, 2009

Expect what you pay

It´s ok. Great location. May get a little bit too noisy late at night. Good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Saber Liu
New York
Aug 18, 2014

Fare enough

The position is very good, although the bathroom is public. Fare enough for a hotel in this price at this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Macy's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LuvNYC
md
Jul 10, 2013

Clean Decent Hotel - Good Staff - Great Location!!

Nice Hotel, nice friendly professional staff/Clerks. Check in/out a breeze. Room was Small, but not small enough to make you feel uncomfortable - I had a double-bed room. A single room may be much smaller. Bed felt ok enough, I slept well. The room was clean, bathrooms clean (outside of rooms), A/C worked fine. Not bad for price paid but it could have been a little cheaper! But, given the PRIME location, and an 15% discount on purchase. I have No regrets - I enjoyed my stay in NYC and the American Inn!! If price is right, would come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway system best way around city, subway maps/direction is a little confusing, but you figure it out eventually, or just ask the for assistance. Lot of places within Walking distance as well!! I walked most of the time to Times Square, Empire State Building, Union Square, etc...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nyc wanderer
charlottesville, va
Jun 15, 2009

good value

We stayed there just for one night. The hotel was quiet and clean. It is very close to Times Square and it is quite safe to hang out at Times Square and walk down to the hotel even if it is very late. However, the rooms are small and do not have any view. The toilets are shared. There are about 12 rooms and 4 toilets per floor. But the toilets are clean. Overall, I found it good value for its location. Since, I did not care much for staying indoors while in NYC, I was fine with the facilities offered by the hotel. It suited me just fine to sleep in for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
west bend wisconsin
Sep 1, 2010

nothing fancy but did the job

i was small but great location would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lazooli
Tampa, Florida
Jul 2, 2012

Perfect Location Basic Accomodations

I went into this knowing what I was getting, a basic hotel at an inexpensive price in an incredible location. Geographically you can't ask for more at this price. This was a short walk to Times Square, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and was convenient to the subway. The room was small; barely big enough for 2 twin beds and an end table. The shared bathrooms were not a problem because there were 4 on my floor so there was always one available to use. Optimally, I would have prefered to have had central air [instead of a window unit], a desk and wifi access. But those are incidental if your intention is to use the room as a place to sleep and you will be out and about during your trip. If you are ok with basic clean accomodations for a low price in mid-town manhattan, then this is a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southampton, UK
Nov 20, 2009

Good for the budget traveller

If you want a location in the heart of the city but don't want to pay a fortune, this place isn't bad. Accommodation is clean and tidy, and staff are helpful, but it is pretty basic - the rooms are small and the shared kitchen/bathroom area is nothing special. Saying that, you don't come to New York to sit in your hotel room - if you're not fussed about luxuries, and are planning to be out and about most of the day anyway, this is sound, clean, basic-level accommodation - no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

No wireless in the hotel; Nearest free wifi access I found was at Bryant park (just two blocks north up 6th Avenue) - take your laptop, grab a coffee, and it's a great place to do a bit of work or catch up on e-mails, with a fantastic panoramic view of the city skyline all around!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beagle523
Michigan
Feb 25, 2013

Clean and comfortable - good for single travelers

As someone who has stayed at hostels throughout Europe before, I was pleasantly surprised by how clean and fresh-smelling the room was (the floor was so shiny that it was slippery to walk on with socks). I was there in February so I was a little worried that the room might be too cold. When I got to the hotel, I did feel a bit of a draft near the window. After informing the staff and getting an extra blanket, I felt that the room was much warmer (maybe they turned up the heat?). The room included everything one would need: clean and fresh bed, clean bathroom (down the hall), towels and toiletries, TV if you need to unwind after a long day of shopping/walking, a dresser, a tiny closet to put your luggage in, and a sink and mirror. I was lucky enough to get a room where the window faced the other buildings (away from the busy/noisy streets) so I had no problem falling asleep at night. There was also a small kitchenette down the hall for you to microwave food. Now onto a couple things that could have been improved: on my last night there, the TV stopped working properly for some reason (I could hear the sound but I couldn't see the image on the screen). Even though I told the staff about it, they didn't fix it before I left. Also, there was construction right next to the hotel so the sign/awning for the hotel was covered up. If you're getting there on your own, you might have to look a bit harder to find the place. Since I used the shuttle service to get there, it wasn't too much of a problem. I got the room at a discounted price (thanks to a coupon code) so I really have no major complaints considering the ideal location of this place. But I probably wouldn't stay here if I have to pay over $150 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you arrive early (before check in time) or leave late (after check out time), there is a small closet under the stairs where you could store your luggage there. Just make sure you get a tag from the front desk. Since the elevator doesn't seem to work well, I would suggest NOT bringing too much luggage with you when staying at a place like this!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Schuyler
West Hartford, CT
May 11, 2012

Great on a budget

I was not expecting much from this hotel, but it ended up being a very pleasant stay. The room was clean, and we were within walking distance of Times Square. It was a short subway ride away from Broadway and a lot of great restaurants. If you are on a college-student budget and in a relationship, this is great for you because it is inexpensive and close to the many great things that NYC has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sister Vacay
Dallas
May 23, 2013

Good location, friendly staff

My sister and I were in NYC for 1 night, 2 days, so we only really needed a hotel to sleep in for a few hours. The shared bathrooms/showers were the biggest barrier for us since we weren't used to anything like that in a hotel before, but for NYC, the hotel was a good enough price for what it offered that we didn't mind. The hotel met our needs - good location, affordable, knowledgeable staff, and able to hold our luggage before/after checkin/out while we explored the city. Overall, it was a good place for the one night we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top