$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
164 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Great location and save money

The location is awesome. You have everything around you. It is also great for saving money. The... See full review

  • Stevehehehe
  • Mar 24, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9854
Area served
New york city
Nearby airports
Laguradia Airport, John F Kennedy International Airport,Newark International Airport.
Area description
Situated in the Midtown area of Manhattan, 4 blocks from the Empire State Building, 6 blocks to New York's Broadway Theaters.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FitItAll
Boston, MA
Jun 5, 2013

Not the greatest!

I happened to be there on two of the hottest days we've had so far this summer. The rooms had window air conditioners, that didn't work properly and were extremely loud. The room was small but clean. We had shared bathrooms and they also were really clean. Everyone had to leave their rooms to use the facilities at night and you had to slam the room doors in order for them to lock, which again made it loud. Not a place I would ever stay in again. It certainly wasn't worth the price charged per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

9th Avenue restaurants are plentiful and offer a great price range.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Michigan, USA
Jul 24, 2009

Americana Inn

I had forgotten that the restrooms and showers were down the hall. The deal I made wasn;t that good anymore. There weren't a great selection of channels on the tv. I do like that it is right in the heart of midtown though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dustytiger
Ottawa, On, Canada
Nov 6, 2012

A place to lay your head

I chose this location because I was traveling by train and had to stay overnight in New York going to and from Florida. I was looking for cheap and close to Penn Station. My choices were cheap and clean or sleeping at the Amtrak guest waiting area at Penn Station. The Americana met this need. What does it have? A clean cheap place to lay your head for the night within a New York walk to anything you might want to see or eat. A sink to wash your face, towels under said sink. What doesn't it have? Wifi. Yeah seriously. Have your smartphone ready. A toilet in your room. There are many on the floor sometimes you have to go to a couple to find one that's free depending on the floor, (There are shower there too wasn't up for that adventure). Quiet and darkness. Bring ear plugs and sleep mask. When I first arrived at the Americana I thought I had made the biggest mistake of my life. This was my first solo trip. Thankfully I had a friend who lived in New York meet at my train and get me to the hotel. It is not really walking distance with luggage but I needed the stretch. We checked out the room and agreed it was clean and the security was there or else I would have been in his hole of an apartment whether or not we both fit. I thought about booking somewhere else for my trip home but I realised I would not find anything cheaper and I wouldn't know if it would be clean, nor where it was and how much it would cost to get to and from Penn station (like peanuts even with a good tip for the driver) so I kept the reservation. It's not luxury by any stretch. But after sleeping in my seat on a train any clean bed for the night is nice. Just be prepared. This is a place for a younger traveler out on an adventure who doesn't want to hang out in their room. Would I recommend it? Probably but only to people looking for exactly this; cheap and clean a place to lay your head nothing more nothing less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, NY
May 25, 2009

Great Location and super price

This is not a luxury hotel and I was a little skeptical of booking but I took the leap and went with the other travelers experiences. As a middle age traveler I do love luxury but didn't want to spend a lot for this trip. The rooms do not have carpeting and the bathroom is shared with two other rooms. I thought this might be a problem but never had to wait to use it. They were very very clean. The room was also very clean. I was pleased with my experience and would definitely stay there again. It is right off Times Square so seeing all the sights was a breeze. Subway stops within walking distance. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. I would suggest bringing something in the bathroom with you to hold your clean clothes while showering as there are no stands in the bathrooms, only a double hook. Another side point..you don't have to worry about random people wandering into the hotel as the door is locked and you have to ring the buzzer to be let in. Made me feel much more secure. There is also an internet computer in the lobby for a very small fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
deasy
Bos, MA
Aug 10, 2011

clean & well located

though the bathroom is shared, it is very clean. Amenities in the room include soap for face & body, hair conditioner, towers, plastic cups. Room also has small-sized tv, nice washstand with mirror, and soft bed(s). Located along the street, it is somewhat noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kayla4
Business
Plymouth, CT, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Great for Traveling on a Budget

This room was nothing fancy, very small but the price was unbeatable. The staff was friendly, rooms were clean. I heard people complain about having to share restrooms but I was aware of this before I booked the room and there are multiple restrooms on each floor so I didn't think it was a big deal. I also read reviews that said the rooms were very stuffy. It was when I got there but it was equipped with an ac so this was not a problem. I would say it's perfect for anybody traveling for work who needs a place to stay or if traveling on a budget and do not intend on spending any extra time in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ATX Alex
Austin, TX
May 24, 2012

Great, clean location

Rooms were small (typical for Manhattan). 2 twin beds with about 9" of space in between, a small closet, and a sink in the room. There were 4 restrooms on our floor, each an individual-style room with toilet, sink, tub/shower. I was concerned about the shared bathrooms, but hotel staff did a great job of deep cleaning them daily, and only about 5 rooms shared each one. My only complaint about the room was the noise: you could hear every truck, horn, and siren on 6th Avenue all night long. We had a corner room right at the intersection of 38th/6th on the 3rd floor. If you get a room on the 38th St. side, it's probably a lot more quiet. After the first night, I slowly got used to the noise and actually had trouble sleeping without the "sounds of the streets" my first night back home. Hotel does not have wifi in the rooms, but it is available in the lobby for a fee. There is a cafe on the corner of 38th/6th (Pret a Manger) that has free wifi for their guests. Just go get a cup of coffee and the wifi password is on the bottom of the receipt. Location in Midtown is great. 2 subway stations easily accessible: 4 blocks north to 42nd St. for the BDFM, 4 blocks south to 34th for the NQR. 10 minute walk to Times Square. Plenty of restaurants around, though none are 24 hours. If you want food in the middle of the night, there are plenty of delivery options or there's a 24 hour convenience store across the street that has some small stuff. I'd stay here again if I could ensure that I get a room away from 6th Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're planning on exploring Manhattan, get a subway pass. You can buy a one-week unlimited pass for $29. So basically, use the subway at least twice a day and it pays for itself. Cabs will usually get you there faster, but the fares add up fast. Plus, you learn the subway system of Manhattan and start to feel like a real New Yorker.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
little apple kristen
manhattan, ks
Mar 15, 2010

not terrific, not terrible

as a college student this was a good price. the location was pretty decent. my biggest complaint was the noise level. past 7am or so it was pretty loud from doors shutting. the bathroom next to my room ran out of hot water pretty quickly but there with plenty of other bathrooms. i'd stay here again, as long as i had a way to block out all the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to divine bites!

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CBANY
St Louis, MO
May 25, 2009

Expect what you pay

It´s ok. Great location. May get a little bit too noisy late at night. Good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nyc wanderer
charlottesville, va
Jun 15, 2009

good value

We stayed there just for one night. The hotel was quiet and clean. It is very close to Times Square and it is quite safe to hang out at Times Square and walk down to the hotel even if it is very late. However, the rooms are small and do not have any view. The toilets are shared. There are about 12 rooms and 4 toilets per floor. But the toilets are clean. Overall, I found it good value for its location. Since, I did not care much for staying indoors while in NYC, I was fine with the facilities offered by the hotel. It suited me just fine to sleep in for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top