$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
120 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Value for money

Great position-close to Times Square, central rail & subway. Shopping & restaurants close. Clean,... See full review

  • AussieinNY
  • Sep 28, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9854
Area served
New york city
Nearby airports
Laguradia Airport, John F Kennedy International Airport,Newark International Airport.
Area description
Situated in the Midtown area of Manhattan, 4 blocks from the Empire State Building, 6 blocks to New York's Broadway Theaters.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PeterN
Business
Florida
Mar 16, 2012

Great Location, Tiny room

I was traveling for one day business in Manhattan. This was located in the the center of downtown (Broadway). Walking-distance to main places. Room was a little bit tiny with one shared bathroom per one floor. Overall, it's good for short-term stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
budget travel guy
Business
CT
Sep 7, 2012

Overpriced for the value

This hotel was clean and in a good location, but is really just an overpriced hostel where you get your own room. Had I known that before booking I wouldnt have done it and would just pay a little more for a real hotel. The plus side is that there are many bathrooms on each floor so sharing is not too big a deal, and there are at least sinks in every room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
frank in boston
Business
boston, ma
Apr 6, 2013

nice, clean, good value

even though the baths are shared, they are plentiful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chadwick9
Business
phoenix, arizona
Apr 30, 2013

worth the price

saved a lot of money by staying here, great location, can walk to everything and then can take the subways for everything downtown. room itself is like a hostel. shared restrooms, talking maybe 200 to 300 square foot room, a lot of noise from out side gets through the windows. You get what you paid for its a trade off for the location and price. This is somewhere we did not sleep until we really needed to sleep, come back shower change clothes maybe rest for a hour and go back too it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

subway, its 2.75 for a single ride ticket take it all the way downtown, or where ever you want to go then take it back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FitItAll
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 5, 2013

Not the greatest!

I happened to be there on two of the hottest days we've had so far this summer. The rooms had window air conditioners, that didn't work properly and were extremely loud. The room was small but clean. We had shared bathrooms and they also were really clean. Everyone had to leave their rooms to use the facilities at night and you had to slam the room doors in order for them to lock, which again made it loud. Not a place I would ever stay in again. It certainly wasn't worth the price charged per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

9th Avenue restaurants are plentiful and offer a great price range.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SuperBobBobbob
Business
New York
Jul 28, 2013

Not what I expected

No private bathroom. Super strong smell of cleaning product to cover up cigarette smells. More like staying in a European hostel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nodrogtrams
Business
Manhattan New York
Oct 30, 2013

Small rooms

When we got there it was late and we were given a so called double room, it was a double bed in a single room. you could only get in the bed from one side and almost impossible to use the sink as it was so close to the bed. The next day after complaining we were moved to a bigger room but it was a bit smelly so we had to buy an air freshener to leave in the room. The bathrooms were clean and functional and although shared there were at least two or three on each floor. On the positive side It was however very close to Times Square,Don't get the hotel to order a taxi as they add on 23 dollars for the privilege. We ordered our own. Hotel is basic so don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. They also have a kitchen on each floor to use if you want .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Study the open top bus tour options before you book anything they are quite complicated and don't forget they add tax to everything and everybody wants a tip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TNTenor
Business
WI
Dec 5, 2013

In a state of improvement

The staff was very friendly and they were polite to everyone. However, this hotel is more of a hostel experience. Dormitory rooms, no Wi-Fi, community bathroom. But it's NYC, you shouldn't be hanging out in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jonfrompr
Business
Upper Saddle River NJ
Sep 21, 2009

Comfortable and quiet

I was in New York for a one-night stay and on a budget. For me the Americana was the perfect choice. Very professional staff (I was upgraded from a twin to a double with no charge). The room was tiny but spotless, and gave onto an interior shaft: quiet as a tomb. Guests were young people and one young family. For the price, the Americana can't be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan, USA
Jul 24, 2009

Americana Inn

I had forgotten that the restrooms and showers were down the hall. The deal I made wasn;t that good anymore. There weren't a great selection of channels on the tv. I do like that it is right in the heart of midtown though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top