$91 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

Americana Inn

2 stars
View map of 69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
terryb
Business
new jersey
Aug 6, 2011

comfortable but small

me & my husbands stay was very exciting and comfortable. however, the only detail that we were not happy with, was sharing a bathroom with other hotel guests. imagine having to use the bathroom at 3am, having to walk out your room, with sanitizing wipes in hand, room key (to get back in) only to find that the bathroom is being utilized. other then that, hotel staff were very kind and pleasant and hotel was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to lots of shopping and attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PeterN
Business
Florida
Mar 16, 2012

Great Location, Tiny room

I was traveling for one day business in Manhattan. This was located in the the center of downtown (Broadway). Walking-distance to main places. Room was a little bit tiny with one shared bathroom per one floor. Overall, it's good for short-term stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
budget travel guy
Business
CT
Sep 7, 2012

Overpriced for the value

This hotel was clean and in a good location, but is really just an overpriced hostel where you get your own room. Had I known that before booking I wouldnt have done it and would just pay a little more for a real hotel. The plus side is that there are many bathrooms on each floor so sharing is not too big a deal, and there are at least sinks in every room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
frank in boston
Business
boston, ma
Apr 6, 2013

nice, clean, good value

even though the baths are shared, they are plentiful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chadwick9
Business
phoenix, arizona
Apr 30, 2013

worth the price

saved a lot of money by staying here, great location, can walk to everything and then can take the subways for everything downtown. room itself is like a hostel. shared restrooms, talking maybe 200 to 300 square foot room, a lot of noise from out side gets through the windows. You get what you paid for its a trade off for the location and price. This is somewhere we did not sleep until we really needed to sleep, come back shower change clothes maybe rest for a hour and go back too it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

subway, its 2.75 for a single ride ticket take it all the way downtown, or where ever you want to go then take it back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FitItAll
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 5, 2013

Not the greatest!

I happened to be there on two of the hottest days we've had so far this summer. The rooms had window air conditioners, that didn't work properly and were extremely loud. The room was small but clean. We had shared bathrooms and they also were really clean. Everyone had to leave their rooms to use the facilities at night and you had to slam the room doors in order for them to lock, which again made it loud. Not a place I would ever stay in again. It certainly wasn't worth the price charged per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

9th Avenue restaurants are plentiful and offer a great price range.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SuperBobBobbob
Business
New York
Jul 28, 2013

Not what I expected

No private bathroom. Super strong smell of cleaning product to cover up cigarette smells. More like staying in a European hostel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nodrogtrams
Business
Manhattan New York
Oct 30, 2013

Small rooms

When we got there it was late and we were given a so called double room, it was a double bed in a single room. you could only get in the bed from one side and almost impossible to use the sink as it was so close to the bed. The next day after complaining we were moved to a bigger room but it was a bit smelly so we had to buy an air freshener to leave in the room. The bathrooms were clean and functional and although shared there were at least two or three on each floor. On the positive side It was however very close to Times Square,Don't get the hotel to order a taxi as they add on 23 dollars for the privilege. We ordered our own. Hotel is basic so don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. They also have a kitchen on each floor to use if you want .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Study the open top bus tour options before you book anything they are quite complicated and don't forget they add tax to everything and everybody wants a tip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TNTenor
Business
WI
Dec 5, 2013

In a state of improvement

The staff was very friendly and they were polite to everyone. However, this hotel is more of a hostel experience. Dormitory rooms, no Wi-Fi, community bathroom. But it's NYC, you shouldn't be hanging out in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jonfrompr
Business
Upper Saddle River NJ
Sep 21, 2009

Comfortable and quiet

I was in New York for a one-night stay and on a budget. For me the Americana was the perfect choice. Very professional staff (I was upgraded from a twin to a double with no charge). The room was tiny but spotless, and gave onto an interior shaft: quiet as a tomb. Guests were young people and one young family. For the price, the Americana can't be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top