$151 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 30, 2014 Check-out: May 1, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
113 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Great location and save money

The location is awesome. You have everything around you. It is also great for saving money. The... See full review

  • Stevehehehe
  • Mar 24, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9854
Area served
New york city
Nearby airports
Laguradia Airport, John F Kennedy International Airport,Newark International Airport.
Area description
Situated in the Midtown area of Manhattan, 4 blocks from the Empire State Building, 6 blocks to New York's Broadway Theaters.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
113 out of 113
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Jun 3, 2009

Horrible noise. Earplugs required.

The hotel is clean. Definitely no frills: one small pillow per bed, thin mattress, no AC, no fan, one single light per room, not bedside tables or lamps, etc... The room was extremely loud from the traffic bellow. It was a corner room and the noise was unbearable... the worst I experienced in my travels. You could not open the windows so it was hot and stuffy at first. Eventually it got cool. I am a deep sleeper, I do not require much, but this was ridiculous and actually pretty pricey for what you get, since it a hostel-style residence with shared bathrooms (which were very clean, BTW) Still, a pretty horrible stay, definitely the worst place I have stayed in my trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
Ashok B
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 31, 2014

Terrible Experience

Terrible service, I reached early and though there were rooms available, they insisted rooms have not been cleaned and made me wait until 3pm (not even 1 minute earlier) to get a room. Very rigid, very rude, horrible. Also rooms had odor, and super small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
Flaquita bonita
DF
Oct 14, 2013

Disappointing

The price for what you get is excessive. Shared bathrooms for 200 USD a night is not what I expect to get on this website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
Stenched out
Evanston, IL
Jul 31, 2011

Horrible stench and other problems...

My first experience as I arrived at the hotel was the elevator up to the lobby: I noticed by chance that what is clearly meant to be and is used as the guest elevator is a load elevator that's illegal to use for passengers. The gentleman at the lobby, I have to admit, was friendly enough. The room had the look and size of a prison cell, which I suppose is OK for the price, though it'd be nice if the light wasn't provided by a CFL without a shade and if the broken TV mount wouldn't point the TV to the floor. By the reception desk there was some sign saying that smoke detectors are available for borrowing, and I didn't see any installed in my room--will the guy who smokes in his bed next to my room have borrowed a detector? When I booked nothing showed any mention of shared bathroom, but, indeed, you won't get your own bathroom, but will have to share a communal bathroom that's as stenched out as the bedroom. Which leads me to... The most serious problem with the hotel in general and my room in particular was an unbearable and sickening stench. It was a 90-degree day, so your experience might be better when it's colder. I don't know whether that has to do with cleaning standards inside the hotel or whether they store piles of trash under the guestroom windows, but I couldn't be in that room and quickly got myself a room in another hotel that cost a bit more but wasn't nauseating. This might be an OK accommodation when it's colder and you absolutely want to save the last dollar you can (though you might investigate taking the train from a cheaper area in that case). Definitely avoid when the weather is hot. Also avoid if you expect your hotel to abide by normal safety standards with respect to elevator operation, fire prevention, and presumably other fields, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Business
Miami Springs
Sep 26, 2008

No Bathroom in the Room

The room was tiny and the bathroom was communal. I won't be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
VisitorG
dominican republic
Aug 18, 2012

the worst hotel in the world

The bathroom was shared with other rooms and it was dirty ... the bed too small for two people ... dirty floor and the bed felt something itching in the body. immediately we left the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
Kremena
New York, NY
May 16, 2007

Very loud, no isolation ...

Very loud, no isolation from the noise outside, I would NOT go back there. This is the first time I leave a negative feedback but it is the truth!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
chadwick9
phoenix, arizona
Apr 30, 2013

worth the price

saved a lot of money by staying here, great location, can walk to everything and then can take the subways for everything downtown. room itself is like a hostel. shared restrooms, talking maybe 200 to 300 square foot room, a lot of noise from out side gets through the windows. You get what you paid for its a trade off for the location and price. This is somewhere we did not sleep until we really needed to sleep, come back shower change clothes maybe rest for a hour and go back too it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

subway, its 2.75 for a single ride ticket take it all the way downtown, or where ever you want to go then take it back.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
Chelsea K
Detroit, MI
Aug 11, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price.

I went with my friend for his birthday. It was a great location, but the rooms were super small and the bathrooms were outside of the rooms which I didn't like at all, but it was clean, the staff was nice, and it worked. It was cheap and it served its purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
Nodrogtrams
Manhattan New York
Oct 30, 2013

Small rooms

When we got there it was late and we were given a so called double room, it was a double bed in a single room. you could only get in the bed from one side and almost impossible to use the sink as it was so close to the bed. The next day after complaining we were moved to a bigger room but it was a bit smelly so we had to buy an air freshener to leave in the room. The bathrooms were clean and functional and although shared there were at least two or three on each floor. On the positive side It was however very close to Times Square,Don't get the hotel to order a taxi as they add on 23 dollars for the privilege. We ordered our own. Hotel is basic so don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. They also have a kitchen on each floor to use if you want .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Study the open top bus tour options before you book anything they are quite complicated and don't forget they add tax to everything and everybody wants a tip

Back to menu Return to top