$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
120 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Value for money

Great position-close to Times Square, central rail & subway. Shopping & restaurants close. Clean,... See full review

  • AussieinNY
  • Sep 28, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9854
Area served
New york city
Nearby airports
Laguradia Airport, John F Kennedy International Airport,Newark International Airport.
Area description
Situated in the Midtown area of Manhattan, 4 blocks from the Empire State Building, 6 blocks to New York's Broadway Theaters.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Springs
Sep 26, 2008

No Bathroom in the Room

The room was tiny and the bathroom was communal. I won't be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 3, 2009

Horrible noise. Earplugs required.

The hotel is clean. Definitely no frills: one small pillow per bed, thin mattress, no AC, no fan, one single light per room, not bedside tables or lamps, etc... The room was extremely loud from the traffic bellow. It was a corner room and the noise was unbearable... the worst I experienced in my travels. You could not open the windows so it was hot and stuffy at first. Eventually it got cool. I am a deep sleeper, I do not require much, but this was ridiculous and actually pretty pricey for what you get, since it a hostel-style residence with shared bathrooms (which were very clean, BTW) Still, a pretty horrible stay, definitely the worst place I have stayed in my trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 3, 2007

Never Stay Here

The room was too tiny, bed was tiny, air conditioner was noisey, and the window was broken and didn't even close. it was like a jail. it was too expensive for this kind of level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 17, 2009

I wouldnt go there again

The stuff wasnt very nice, either helpful, every my question was answered with annoyed attitude, the rooms are TINY, you can hear all the noise from the street, heater was broken and since it was December while we were staying there, it was freezing cold at night. Only credit I can give the hotel is the location, you are pretty much in the middle of Manhattan, few blocks from Empire State Building, I could see Times Square from there... Great for tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Dec 14, 2009

clean but creepy

Was not aware that bathroom/showers were shared. The clientel at the hotel were creepy. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everyone as they walk in and out of their rooms. It is a glorified hostel. Everything was clean, but did not get a good sense that the place was secure. The fact I had to be buzzed in to the hotel set a bad tone, and I had trouble locking my room. It is ok if you are a student and with a large group, awful if you are alone and on business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't stay here. Spend the extra $150 a night and feel safe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
Jun 17, 2009

Below Expectations

I booked adjoining rooms, they did not have them, nor did they have double beds, both of these requests were responded with there are no guarantees and if you have any problems, talk to Orbitz, we have nothing to do with your requests. Waited over 20 minutes to get my rooms, one of them did not have AC. Waited antoher 15 minutes to be sent to a floor where the shower in the bathroom was not working, and let me tell you about the bathrooms, they are located down the hallway so five to six rooms can share it. Keep this in mind when booking at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
s-g
Business
vancouver, canada
Sep 15, 2009

Terrible

this place was terrible. smelly. the air conditioner was like a small plane taking off directly next to our bed, but if it was not on the room was so small that there was no air circulation and the street noise was super loud. There are residents in this building we were not bothered by them but it would have been good to know about them prior to the stay. The front desk man who seemed to be perpetually working was so unhelpful, unfriendly, and just down right rude. I really have nothing good to say about this place. Only stay here if you absolutely have no other options at all. This place sucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chelsea K
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 11, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price.

I went with my friend for his birthday. It was a great location, but the rooms were super small and the bathrooms were outside of the rooms which I didn't like at all, but it was clean, the staff was nice, and it worked. It was cheap and it served its purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
n.j.
Dec 22, 2009

"its was ok"

i bring my family to see a christmas tree in n.y. city, and visit a santa too. the location was good but the rooms to small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
terryb
Business
new jersey
Aug 6, 2011

comfortable but small

me & my husbands stay was very exciting and comfortable. however, the only detail that we were not happy with, was sharing a bathroom with other hotel guests. imagine having to use the bathroom at 3am, having to walk out your room, with sanitizing wipes in hand, room key (to get back in) only to find that the bathroom is being utilized. other then that, hotel staff were very kind and pleasant and hotel was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to lots of shopping and attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top