$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Americana Inn

2 stars
View map of 69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennL89
Business
San Francisco, California
Jul 23, 2013

Great for short trip in NYC!

I love this place. The location is just perfect!! The guy who helped me check in on Sunday morning was really nice and very helpful! Very clean on room main area, but got so dusty on edges.There is an AC/heater inside the room, and I find the room is really comfortable, regardless its small size. They also have tiny little clean kitchen. My only main problem is the shared bathroom. On level 3, the cold shower did not work, so I have to try the other shower at other level. Also, although they clean the bathroom most of the time, it could get really dirty and wet, especially the toilet seats. However, it really good value for money. I would recommend this hotel, and would definitely come back if i stay here less than 3 nights :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bzik
Business
Odessa, Ukraine
Oct 10, 2013

cheap but valuable

It's a good place to stay just for one night. When everything you need - is a good bed and a quick shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Sep 19, 2007

Great for Seasoned Traveler.

I like the lower elevation hotels, fire escapes out every window, view of the stret. The location was great. Three blocks to Times Square and Broadway plays. Manhatten tour bus close..(hightly reccomend). If you need your own personal bathroom, there may be an issue..The bathrooms are down the hall about 1 bathroom to every three rooms. They were really clean and the staff was lovely. The rooms are very small with sink, beds, dresser, tv and night table,but this was OK, we never spent any time in it anyways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square, Broadway, Macy's, Double Deckerbus, The Late Show, Hard Rock Cafe..Everything is close. We walked everywhere, took the city bus, and the tour bus. Surprisingly safe

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jira
Business
USA
Mar 13, 2008

Cozy room @ great location

It's NYC so any hotels can be expensive. Americana is right in NYC downtown just steps away from many point of interests e.g. Timesquare, 5th ave, Empire state buliding ect. Room is VERY small and you need to share bathroom with others. Staffs were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent guest in NY
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 26, 2009

Best Value hotel in Manhattan

I am doing a distance graduate program in NY causing me to often have to travel to the city. I have now stayed in 6 hotels and youth hostels in the area, and can hands down say, this one is one of the best! Ofcourse if you are expecting the hilton, this is not the place for you, but if you are used to buget accomodations in big cities (where rooms tend to be smaller) this hotel is a great choice. It's clean, and though the rooms are small, there is a sink in the room (something I haven't seen in any other hotel I stayed in this area, but which makes a big difference!). The bathrooms are shared and in the hallway, but they are not multiple occupancy. IE, once your in the bathroom it's private. I have been to some other places where you walk into the bathrooms and there are stalls and shower cabins. Here it's one small bathroom, very close to the room, and I never had to wait. There is also a kitchen in the hallway, and being on a really tight buget, it helped to be able to save some money on food. The staff was friendly, and though the guests were definately on the younger side, The hotel did not have a sometimes annoying youth hostel vibe. I will stay here again in a heartbeat, and wish I had found this place sooner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wing_forward_forever
Business
DC
Aug 23, 2009

good

The location is perfect. It is on the corner of 6th Ave and 38th str. You can walk down and find a lot of places of interests there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Krean food, Italian food, American food are near the krean town. There is still Deli's Buffet which will only cost you $6.00 (quite cheap in NY).

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 9, 2010

Great location at a great price!

My friend and I visited New York for a show, sights, and shopping and found that the Americana Inn fit the convenience of location and a clean, comfortable place to rest. However, when time came to sleep, the noise outside was as audible as if all the windows were open (we had a room facing 6th St and could hear every yell, honk, screetch of tires, etc.), and woke us throughout the night/morning. Rooms ran a bit small, and guests shared bathrooms (which again were quite clean), but these weren't necessarily dealbreakers. Its certainly not a luxury hotel, but it is a quaint, simple alternative. All in all, the Americana Inn provides the best value to any traveller combining the convenience of location, cleanliness, and budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Everett
Aug 21, 2008

ok for night or two

The desk clerk at check in was just unpleasant and room air conditioner was loud. The room was clean. . It wasn?t bad for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Time square and the empire state building only a few blocks away.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Oct 11, 2008

My review of Americana Inn

Form the Laguardia airport, I took a shuttle to Americana Inn. It was very convenient. Americana Inn is about 10' or 15' away from Times Square. The location is perfect. From the hotel I went to the location for the tour New York in one day easily. This tour is very useful and the tourist guide is very friendly and so kind. In Americana in, I had to share bathroom with two other rooms, but it was available whenever I needed. The room was quite clean. There was no free wireless, but I could use the Internet service to print flight ticket for the next day. The only disadvantage was the noise. I tried my best to sleep but I just slept about 4 hours. However, I accept this because New York is the city that never sleeps. If you don't have much money like me, America Inn is a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ithaca
Jun 11, 2009

cheap and good inn

it is a cheap and good inn. and i hope to choose again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top