$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
164 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Great location and save money

The location is awesome. You have everything around you. It is also great for saving money. The... See full review

  • Stevehehehe
  • Mar 24, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9854
Area served
New york city
Nearby airports
Laguradia Airport, John F Kennedy International Airport,Newark International Airport.
Area description
Situated in the Midtown area of Manhattan, 4 blocks from the Empire State Building, 6 blocks to New York's Broadway Theaters.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 164
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wahbi90
Los angeles, california
Mar 19, 2014

As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms super clean and each floor had several ones.. I never found any of them busy when I wanted them.. Two Awesome breakfast places outside the hotel: (Pret Manger) and (Espresso Culture)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bzik
Odessa, Ukraine
Oct 10, 2013

cheap but valuable

It's a good place to stay just for one night. When everything you need - is a good bed and a quick shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sulinod
Buffalo, NY
Dec 28, 2012

Good Hotel at Amazing location

Amazing location. The hotel is very good considering that is a cheap one. The bathroom is shared, but it is very clean and organized, and just a few rooms to use each. I like the hotel and I recommend to everyone that don't mind to share the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is really near the Times Square.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laynelli
Puerto Rico
Jun 20, 2012

Not perfect but good!

the staff was friendly and service oriented. The room was clean and have the basic things you need. The location is perfect. The badrooms are out of the room and no always clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ATX Alex
Austin, TX
May 24, 2012

Great, clean location

Rooms were small (typical for Manhattan). 2 twin beds with about 9" of space in between, a small closet, and a sink in the room. There were 4 restrooms on our floor, each an individual-style room with toilet, sink, tub/shower. I was concerned about the shared bathrooms, but hotel staff did a great job of deep cleaning them daily, and only about 5 rooms shared each one. My only complaint about the room was the noise: you could hear every truck, horn, and siren on 6th Avenue all night long. We had a corner room right at the intersection of 38th/6th on the 3rd floor. If you get a room on the 38th St. side, it's probably a lot more quiet. After the first night, I slowly got used to the noise and actually had trouble sleeping without the "sounds of the streets" my first night back home. Hotel does not have wifi in the rooms, but it is available in the lobby for a fee. There is a cafe on the corner of 38th/6th (Pret a Manger) that has free wifi for their guests. Just go get a cup of coffee and the wifi password is on the bottom of the receipt. Location in Midtown is great. 2 subway stations easily accessible: 4 blocks north to 42nd St. for the BDFM, 4 blocks south to 34th for the NQR. 10 minute walk to Times Square. Plenty of restaurants around, though none are 24 hours. If you want food in the middle of the night, there are plenty of delivery options or there's a 24 hour convenience store across the street that has some small stuff. I'd stay here again if I could ensure that I get a room away from 6th Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're planning on exploring Manhattan, get a subway pass. You can buy a one-week unlimited pass for $29. So basically, use the subway at least twice a day and it pays for itself. Cabs will usually get you there faster, but the fares add up fast. Plus, you learn the subway system of Manhattan and start to feel like a real New Yorker.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicky
Hamburg, PA 19526, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Perfect for shsort stay

Location within walking blocks to Rockefeller Center, Saks, Lord and Taylor, Empire State, Macys, Port Authority, Bryant Park, Library ... Room small but clean. Bathroom to be shared, no problem, very clean. Ideal for short stay. Will use again. (Our room) not recommended if traveling with children

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quite a few Delis with nice selection of food, reasonable....Sightseeing within blocks.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
a frequent traveller
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Dec 13, 2011

amazing location

I will definately stay at this hotel again. I saw other reviews complain about noise from the streets, but it wasnt bad at all. I loved the location of this hotel! Chinatown, times square, & Macy's are all within about .4 to 2 miles away. We didn't have to take a taxi at all. The room was small, but that was to be expected. (Sink, end table, 2 twin beds & a window overlooking the streets below) The hotel has shared bathrooms. (Basically there's 4 separate bathrooms on each floor that have a toilet, sink, & bath tub w/ showerhead) Each floor has approx 10 hotel bedrooms, & the bathrooms are spread throughout each floor- so you only have to walk a few extra feet to the bathroom. I never had to wait for a bathroom & the shower water was nice & hot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Awesome pizza place right across the street called 2bros pizza. It was only $1 for a huge slice. Great pizza sauce & fun to watch them do tricks while twirling the pizza dough. Wish I could have brought some back home with me!

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kimnellen
Westville, NJ
Dec 10, 2011

Convenient Location

We were quite shocked to find that we had to share a bathroom. It was not quite as bad as we expected, the bathroom was right outside our room and was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is located right near Times Square

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jqmdal
Gijón, España
Nov 22, 2011

Well located hotel

The location is the best asset. Restrooms must be improved, not hot water in some of them. Free wifi internet sound be installed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cohcoh
new york
Sep 30, 2011

good price, tiny room, awesome location

good price, tiny room, awesome location, right on 6'th and 38'th...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top