$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
164 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Great location and save money

The location is awesome. You have everything around you. It is also great for saving money. The... See full review

  • Stevehehehe
  • Mar 24, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9854
Area served
New york city
Nearby airports
Laguradia Airport, John F Kennedy International Airport,Newark International Airport.
Area description
Situated in the Midtown area of Manhattan, 4 blocks from the Empire State Building, 6 blocks to New York's Broadway Theaters.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 164
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moving to NYC
Ogden, Utah
Mar 13, 2014

Not bad for what was needed...

Overall it wasn't horrible. My BF stayed in another room with family of his. The location was great. A few blocks from Times Square and the Empire State Building. Great little shops and restaurants around the area. The room itself was small, and very basic. Carpet could help with the empty "hollow" feeling and sound. Shared bathrooms wasn't so bad. They were normal bathrooms, like would be in the room... but instead in the hallways. Could hear the rooms around me and everything in the hallways. The staff was okay, nothing above and beyond. The free wifi they claim to have is weak, and you have to be in the lobby to get the signal usually. And it's not theirs. It's unsecured from a business nearby. So staying right in the middle of Manhattan, for the price was not to bad overall. Though I feel it could have cost a bit less otherwise. But, it worked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a Market with a Deli. Pretty inexpensive and has everything you'd need... more or less.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nodrogtrams
Manhattan New York
Oct 30, 2013

Small rooms

When we got there it was late and we were given a so called double room, it was a double bed in a single room. you could only get in the bed from one side and almost impossible to use the sink as it was so close to the bed. The next day after complaining we were moved to a bigger room but it was a bit smelly so we had to buy an air freshener to leave in the room. The bathrooms were clean and functional and although shared there were at least two or three on each floor. On the positive side It was however very close to Times Square,Don't get the hotel to order a taxi as they add on 23 dollars for the privilege. We ordered our own. Hotel is basic so don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. They also have a kitchen on each floor to use if you want .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Study the open top bus tour options before you book anything they are quite complicated and don't forget they add tax to everything and everybody wants a tip

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chanaleh
New York, NY
May 25, 2013

SHARED BATH, but you can't beat the price

I actually live in Manhattan, but needed a room for one weeknight for an overnight guest. There's almost nothing in town available for under $170/night (unless you get down to the really skeevy Chinatown flophouses) -- except this place. The location is truly prime, so why's it so cheap? NO FRILLS. Shared bath -- funny it didn't say ANYTHING about that in the room description when I booked! No wifi (though there's a computer with internet in the lobby), no carpet, no curtains (just blinds), not even a dresser in the room (just a tiny night table). However, everything was sparkling clean, and the shared bath turned out to be a regular lockable individual bathroom (just across the hall from our room) with pristine tub and shower. The room did include a sink/washstand and mirror, surprisingly modern/luxe looking, suggesting fairly recent renovation. We overlooked 38th St., so the street noise was constant, but that was basically to be expected. Overall, would certainly return when next needed... but bring a bathrobe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent food options a few blocks down on 32nd, a.k.a. Korea Town.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chadwick9
phoenix, arizona
Apr 30, 2013

worth the price

saved a lot of money by staying here, great location, can walk to everything and then can take the subways for everything downtown. room itself is like a hostel. shared restrooms, talking maybe 200 to 300 square foot room, a lot of noise from out side gets through the windows. You get what you paid for its a trade off for the location and price. This is somewhere we did not sleep until we really needed to sleep, come back shower change clothes maybe rest for a hour and go back too it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

subway, its 2.75 for a single ride ticket take it all the way downtown, or where ever you want to go then take it back.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time in NY
Cambridge, UK
Oct 9, 2012

Excellent value for money hotel

It is exactly as it is advertised. Basic but excellent location so very good value for money. Only 2 or 3 rooms share a bathroom so that is not an issue. Definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VisitorG
dominican republic
Aug 18, 2012

the worst hotel in the world

The bathroom was shared with other rooms and it was dirty ... the bed too small for two people ... dirty floor and the bed felt something itching in the body. immediately we left the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Schuyler
West Hartford, CT
May 11, 2012

Great on a budget

I was not expecting much from this hotel, but it ended up being a very pleasant stay. The room was clean, and we were within walking distance of Times Square. It was a short subway ride away from Broadway and a lot of great restaurants. If you are on a college-student budget and in a relationship, this is great for you because it is inexpensive and close to the many great things that NYC has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeeSeminarOnBroadway
Syracuse, NY, USA
Jan 23, 2012

A tight fit that's easy on your wallet.

Overall, we had a great stay. The room was tiny but what can you really expect in NYC? We only needed the room for a place to sleep and for that it served it's purpose. No bedbugs, (we thoroughly checked), sheets and sink were clean, and the room smelled fresh. We NEVER had to wait to use the community bathroom and it was clean too. The staff was polite and we were pleased to learned they had a secure room for baggage holding after we checked out. After seeing our show, we came back to pick up the bag and had no problems retrieving it. If you are looking for a place near broadway shows and times square this place is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We didn't have time for a nice dinner before our broadway show but wanted to have a nice breakfast or lunch instead. We found Le Pain Quotidien only a short walk away and were so happy we did. Sophisticated French breakfast or lunch food at a reasonable price - we felt very fancy indeed :) We only paid $25 but had a great filling meal and hot drinks. The butternut squash and goatcheese frittata is a must have.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nadiak788
Malden, MA, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Awesome

fine room, great location, great price! I would definetely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nadiak788
Malden, MA, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Awesome

fine room, great location, great price! I would definetely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top