$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
120 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Value for money

Great position-close to Times Square, central rail & subway. Shopping & restaurants close. Clean,... See full review

  • AussieinNY
  • Sep 28, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ashok B
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 31, 2014

Terrible Experience

Terrible service, I reached early and though there were rooms available, they insisted rooms have not been cleaned and made me wait until 3pm (not even 1 minute earlier) to get a room. Very rigid, very rude, horrible. Also rooms had odor, and super small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tonico
Business
Puyallup, WA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Just for emergency

bad service and confort. Good location. Staff not helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VisitorG
Business
dominican republic
Aug 18, 2012

the worst hotel in the world

The bathroom was shared with other rooms and it was dirty ... the bed too small for two people ... dirty floor and the bed felt something itching in the body. immediately we left the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Recovering Road Warrier
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 8, 2012

very disappointing

$230 an night is very overpriced even for NYC. There was no AC so the room was uncomfortably hot. The bed smelled of perfumed freshener and aggravated my allergies. Avoid this hotel if you are in search of a room that you can actually sleep in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jetset Kael
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 8, 2012

Not Again

I booked the Americana at the last minute for a business trip to NY. The rooms are creepy and for the size of the room, around 50-60 square feet, you're 100 times better off booking a 'Cabin Room' at the Jane hotel for arounr $135/night. I should have read more reviews before I booked, but I was strapped for cash and needed a place quick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Foo's is a good dinner spot that's close by, has a good range of asian dishes and a nice atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JProf
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 22, 2013

unclean, unsafe, unfriendly

Bathroom is down the hall. Room has no chair or desk. Window looks out on ductwork and a brick wall. No wifi, of course. You have to get buzzed into the building; no card key option. You're warned that anything of value left in your room will get stolen. For those who may want them, smoke detectors are available at the front desk. Other than the location, an absolute pit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Flaquita bonita
Business
DF
Oct 14, 2013

Disappointing

The price for what you get is excessive. Shared bathrooms for 200 USD a night is not what I expect to get on this website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrsnitch
Business
FLorida
Oct 27, 2013

Great location but overpriced

Pros: Excellent location, semi-pleasant staff Cons: -Hides the fact that all bathrooms are communal, no ensuite -TV but no cable, only local channels even though it advertises cable TV -Put in a room on a busy corner, SO LOUD from the traffic and people outside I had to buy ear plugs in order to sleep, and I'm not a light sleeper -Rooms are cramped and UGLY -Bathrooms aren't dirty but aren't very pleasant either, building is pretty run down -2 of the 5 bathrooms were broken on my floor, I was told they would be fixed by the following morning, the next night, one was fixed, the other wasn't for the 4 days I stayed there -Very little temp control, the room was VERY cold -No WiFi, not even for a fee, come on, this is 2013! -Staff wasn't very helpful -elevator is slow and hardly big enough for 2 people Would avoid unless you have no other options, at this price range, these problems are unacceptable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are here for 3 days or less, you can walk to most things and don't need to buy a $30 subway pass, just pay as you go

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stenched out
Business
Evanston, IL
Jul 31, 2011

Horrible stench and other problems...

My first experience as I arrived at the hotel was the elevator up to the lobby: I noticed by chance that what is clearly meant to be and is used as the guest elevator is a load elevator that's illegal to use for passengers. The gentleman at the lobby, I have to admit, was friendly enough. The room had the look and size of a prison cell, which I suppose is OK for the price, though it'd be nice if the light wasn't provided by a CFL without a shade and if the broken TV mount wouldn't point the TV to the floor. By the reception desk there was some sign saying that smoke detectors are available for borrowing, and I didn't see any installed in my room--will the guy who smokes in his bed next to my room have borrowed a detector? When I booked nothing showed any mention of shared bathroom, but, indeed, you won't get your own bathroom, but will have to share a communal bathroom that's as stenched out as the bedroom. Which leads me to... The most serious problem with the hotel in general and my room in particular was an unbearable and sickening stench. It was a 90-degree day, so your experience might be better when it's colder. I don't know whether that has to do with cleaning standards inside the hotel or whether they store piles of trash under the guestroom windows, but I couldn't be in that room and quickly got myself a room in another hotel that cost a bit more but wasn't nauseating. This might be an OK accommodation when it's colder and you absolutely want to save the last dollar you can (though you might investigate taking the train from a cheaper area in that case). Definitely avoid when the weather is hot. Also avoid if you expect your hotel to abide by normal safety standards with respect to elevator operation, fire prevention, and presumably other fields, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kremena
Business
New York, NY
May 16, 2007

Very loud, no isolation ...

Very loud, no isolation from the noise outside, I would NOT go back there. This is the first time I leave a negative feedback but it is the truth!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top