$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
163 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Great location and save money

The location is awesome. You have everything around you. It is also great for saving money. The... See full review

  • Stevehehehe
  • Mar 24, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9854
Area served
New york city
Nearby airports
Laguradia Airport, John F Kennedy International Airport,Newark International Airport.
Area description
Situated in the Midtown area of Manhattan, 4 blocks from the Empire State Building, 6 blocks to New York's Broadway Theaters.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (163)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
163 out of 163
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Dec 14, 2009

clean but creepy

Was not aware that bathroom/showers were shared. The clientel at the hotel were creepy. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everyone as they walk in and out of their rooms. It is a glorified hostel. Everything was clean, but did not get a good sense that the place was secure. The fact I had to be buzzed in to the hotel set a bad tone, and I had trouble locking my room. It is ok if you are a student and with a large group, awful if you are alone and on business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't stay here. Spend the extra $150 a night and feel safe.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Dec 17, 2009

I wouldnt go there again

The stuff wasnt very nice, either helpful, every my question was answered with annoyed attitude, the rooms are TINY, you can hear all the noise from the street, heater was broken and since it was December while we were staying there, it was freezing cold at night. Only credit I can give the hotel is the location, you are pretty much in the middle of Manhattan, few blocks from Empire State Building, I could see Times Square from there... Great for tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrsnitch
FLorida
Oct 27, 2013

Great location but overpriced

Pros: Excellent location, semi-pleasant staff Cons: -Hides the fact that all bathrooms are communal, no ensuite -TV but no cable, only local channels even though it advertises cable TV -Put in a room on a busy corner, SO LOUD from the traffic and people outside I had to buy ear plugs in order to sleep, and I'm not a light sleeper -Rooms are cramped and UGLY -Bathrooms aren't dirty but aren't very pleasant either, building is pretty run down -2 of the 5 bathrooms were broken on my floor, I was told they would be fixed by the following morning, the next night, one was fixed, the other wasn't for the 4 days I stayed there -Very little temp control, the room was VERY cold -No WiFi, not even for a fee, come on, this is 2013! -Staff wasn't very helpful -elevator is slow and hardly big enough for 2 people Would avoid unless you have no other options, at this price range, these problems are unacceptable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are here for 3 days or less, you can walk to most things and don't need to buy a $30 subway pass, just pay as you go

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami
Jun 17, 2009

Below Expectations

I booked adjoining rooms, they did not have them, nor did they have double beds, both of these requests were responded with there are no guarantees and if you have any problems, talk to Orbitz, we have nothing to do with your requests. Waited over 20 minutes to get my rooms, one of them did not have AC. Waited antoher 15 minutes to be sent to a floor where the shower in the bathroom was not working, and let me tell you about the bathrooms, they are located down the hallway so five to six rooms can share it. Keep this in mind when booking at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
s-g
vancouver, canada
Sep 15, 2009

Terrible

this place was terrible. smelly. the air conditioner was like a small plane taking off directly next to our bed, but if it was not on the room was so small that there was no air circulation and the street noise was super loud. There are residents in this building we were not bothered by them but it would have been good to know about them prior to the stay. The front desk man who seemed to be perpetually working was so unhelpful, unfriendly, and just down right rude. I really have nothing good to say about this place. Only stay here if you absolutely have no other options at all. This place sucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Recovering Road Warrier
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 8, 2012

very disappointing

$230 an night is very overpriced even for NYC. There was no AC so the room was uncomfortably hot. The bed smelled of perfumed freshener and aggravated my allergies. Avoid this hotel if you are in search of a room that you can actually sleep in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jetset Kael
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 8, 2012

Not Again

I booked the Americana at the last minute for a business trip to NY. The rooms are creepy and for the size of the room, around 50-60 square feet, you're 100 times better off booking a 'Cabin Room' at the Jane hotel for arounr $135/night. I should have read more reviews before I booked, but I was strapped for cash and needed a place quick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Foo's is a good dinner spot that's close by, has a good range of asian dishes and a nice atmosphere.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Dec 17, 2009

I wouldnt go there again

The stuff wasnt very nice, either helpful, every my question was answered with annoyed attitude, the rooms are TINY, you can hear all the noise from the street, heater was broken and since it was December while we were staying there, it was freezing cold at night. Only credit I can give the hotel is the location, you are pretty much in the middle of Manhattan, few blocks from Empire State Building, I could see Times Square from there... Great for tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tonico
Business
Puyallup, WA, USA
Oct 16, 2011

Just for emergency

bad service and confort. Good location. Staff not helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Jun 3, 2009

Horrible noise. Earplugs required.

The hotel is clean. Definitely no frills: one small pillow per bed, thin mattress, no AC, no fan, one single light per room, not bedside tables or lamps, etc... The room was extremely loud from the traffic bellow. It was a corner room and the noise was unbearable... the worst I experienced in my travels. You could not open the windows so it was hot and stuffy at first. Eventually it got cool. I am a deep sleeper, I do not require much, but this was ridiculous and actually pretty pricey for what you get, since it a hostel-style residence with shared bathrooms (which were very clean, BTW) Still, a pretty horrible stay, definitely the worst place I have stayed in my trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top