$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
163 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Great location and save money

The location is awesome. You have everything around you. It is also great for saving money. The... See full review

  • Stevehehehe
  • Mar 24, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9854
Area served
New york city
Nearby airports
Laguradia Airport, John F Kennedy International Airport,Newark International Airport.
Area description
Situated in the Midtown area of Manhattan, 4 blocks from the Empire State Building, 6 blocks to New York's Broadway Theaters.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (163)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
163 out of 163
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Morgantown, WV
Feb 22, 2010

Great location with a great price

The hotel was a great little get-a-way. My boyfriend and I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights while we were in the city. The room was small but it was perfect for what we needed. The "shared" bathrooms were personal bathrooms and they had at least 1 per 4 rooms so it seemed like you had your own private bathroom very close to the room. The bathrooms were clean and so were the rooms. They provided towels and shampoo. Like I said, the room wasn't big and didn't have much in it but perfect if you don't plan on spending much time in their. There was also a cute sink in the room that was perfect. We had a great view of the street from our room. The temperature and everything was great. We both didn't have any complaints about the hotel or the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

South & Seaport is a beautiful area near Pier 17 where you can go and see the Brooklyn Bridge at night. On the other side of the shops by the pier its beautiful and very romantic at night. I highly recommend it.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
n.j.
Dec 22, 2009

"its was ok"

i bring my family to see a christmas tree in n.y. city, and visit a santa too. the location was good but the rooms to small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Dec 17, 2009

I wouldnt go there again

The stuff wasnt very nice, either helpful, every my question was answered with annoyed attitude, the rooms are TINY, you can hear all the noise from the street, heater was broken and since it was December while we were staying there, it was freezing cold at night. Only credit I can give the hotel is the location, you are pretty much in the middle of Manhattan, few blocks from Empire State Building, I could see Times Square from there... Great for tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Dec 17, 2009

I wouldnt go there again

The stuff wasnt very nice, either helpful, every my question was answered with annoyed attitude, the rooms are TINY, you can hear all the noise from the street, heater was broken and since it was December while we were staying there, it was freezing cold at night. Only credit I can give the hotel is the location, you are pretty much in the middle of Manhattan, few blocks from Empire State Building, I could see Times Square from there... Great for tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bfree in DC
Washington, DC
Dec 16, 2009

Reasonably Priced

The hotel has shared bathrooms- the website really downplays that and I didn't notice prior to booking. Other than that, the overall experience was positive. the room (and bathroom) was clean, and the location was great. This is not a luxury hotel- just a place to crash at the end of a long day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bfree in DC
Washington, DC
Dec 16, 2009

Reasonably Priced

The hotel has shared bathrooms- the website really downplays that and I didn't notice prior to booking. Other than that, the overall experience was positive. the room (and bathroom) was clean, and the location was great. This is not a luxury hotel- just a place to crash at the end of a long day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Dec 14, 2009

clean but creepy

Was not aware that bathroom/showers were shared. The clientel at the hotel were creepy. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everyone as they walk in and out of their rooms. It is a glorified hostel. Everything was clean, but did not get a good sense that the place was secure. The fact I had to be buzzed in to the hotel set a bad tone, and I had trouble locking my room. It is ok if you are a student and with a large group, awful if you are alone and on business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't stay here. Spend the extra $150 a night and feel safe.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Dec 14, 2009

clean but creepy

Was not aware that bathroom/showers were shared. The clientel at the hotel were creepy. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everyone as they walk in and out of their rooms. It is a glorified hostel. Everything was clean, but did not get a good sense that the place was secure. The fact I had to be buzzed in to the hotel set a bad tone, and I had trouble locking my room. It is ok if you are a student and with a large group, awful if you are alone and on business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't stay here. Spend the extra $150 a night and feel safe.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southampton, UK
Nov 20, 2009

Good for the budget traveller

If you want a location in the heart of the city but don't want to pay a fortune, this place isn't bad. Accommodation is clean and tidy, and staff are helpful, but it is pretty basic - the rooms are small and the shared kitchen/bathroom area is nothing special. Saying that, you don't come to New York to sit in your hotel room - if you're not fussed about luxuries, and are planning to be out and about most of the day anyway, this is sound, clean, basic-level accommodation - no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

No wireless in the hotel; Nearest free wifi access I found was at Bryant park (just two blocks north up 6th Avenue) - take your laptop, grab a coffee, and it's a great place to do a bit of work or catch up on e-mails, with a fantastic panoramic view of the city skyline all around!

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Durham, NC
Nov 14, 2009

Excellent Location, Great Price

Great location, great price. Walking distance to everything, including a GREAT coffee place across the street. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful (tho I didn't need much help). the shared bathrooms are a little inconvenient, but at the price I paid, who cares? I will DEFINATELY recommend the Americanna to anyone who asks and will stay there on my next trip to Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top