$116 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Americana Inn

2 stars
View map of 69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Aug 1, 2011

good

location is so perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stenched out
Business
Evanston, IL
Jul 31, 2011

Horrible stench and other problems...

My first experience as I arrived at the hotel was the elevator up to the lobby: I noticed by chance that what is clearly meant to be and is used as the guest elevator is a load elevator that's illegal to use for passengers. The gentleman at the lobby, I have to admit, was friendly enough. The room had the look and size of a prison cell, which I suppose is OK for the price, though it'd be nice if the light wasn't provided by a CFL without a shade and if the broken TV mount wouldn't point the TV to the floor. By the reception desk there was some sign saying that smoke detectors are available for borrowing, and I didn't see any installed in my room--will the guy who smokes in his bed next to my room have borrowed a detector? When I booked nothing showed any mention of shared bathroom, but, indeed, you won't get your own bathroom, but will have to share a communal bathroom that's as stenched out as the bedroom. Which leads me to... The most serious problem with the hotel in general and my room in particular was an unbearable and sickening stench. It was a 90-degree day, so your experience might be better when it's colder. I don't know whether that has to do with cleaning standards inside the hotel or whether they store piles of trash under the guestroom windows, but I couldn't be in that room and quickly got myself a room in another hotel that cost a bit more but wasn't nauseating. This might be an OK accommodation when it's colder and you absolutely want to save the last dollar you can (though you might investigate taking the train from a cheaper area in that case). Definitely avoid when the weather is hot. Also avoid if you expect your hotel to abide by normal safety standards with respect to elevator operation, fire prevention, and presumably other fields, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Erie, PA
Jul 30, 2011

Americana Inn

Overall, the hotel was just as you would expect. We had the twin bed room, so it was two beds, a small bedside table, and a sink crammed in a tiny room. It wasn't an issue, as we weren't spending a ton of time in the room. My only complaint about the hotel was the fact that the bathrooms do not have a fan/ventilation system, so the bathrooms on the floor always seems to be hot and muggy from the last person that took a shower. Other than that though, the hotel was in a great location, only a few blocks from Bryant Park, Times Square, subway stations, and only a short walk from Rockefeller and 5th Avenue. I would recommend it to anyone looking to stay somewhere for a few days that just needs somewhere to sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have a smart phone/iPhone, I would definitely recommend the Hop Stop app - it was incredibly useful to us when figuring out which subways to take to get where we wanted to go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
west bend wisconsin
Sep 1, 2010

nothing fancy but did the job

i was small but great location would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
playgoer
Business
Lafayette, CA
Jun 17, 2010

Great hotel, great location, great price

I have stayed at the Americana Inn about five or six times now. It is perfect for me. The location is central to events and transportation. The desk people are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, as are the shared bathrooms. I have never had any problem using a clean bathroom whenever I needed one. And I like the international clientele the hotel caters to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk up to 50th street and Bway and get half price tickets for Broadway shows at Tickets!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
little apple kristen
Business
manhattan, ks
Mar 15, 2010

not terrific, not terrible

as a college student this was a good price. the location was pretty decent. my biggest complaint was the noise level. past 7am or so it was pretty loud from doors shutting. the bathroom next to my room ran out of hot water pretty quickly but there with plenty of other bathrooms. i'd stay here again, as long as i had a way to block out all the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to divine bites!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 9, 2010

Great location at a great price!

My friend and I visited New York for a show, sights, and shopping and found that the Americana Inn fit the convenience of location and a clean, comfortable place to rest. However, when time came to sleep, the noise outside was as audible as if all the windows were open (we had a room facing 6th St and could hear every yell, honk, screetch of tires, etc.), and woke us throughout the night/morning. Rooms ran a bit small, and guests shared bathrooms (which again were quite clean), but these weren't necessarily dealbreakers. Its certainly not a luxury hotel, but it is a quaint, simple alternative. All in all, the Americana Inn provides the best value to any traveller combining the convenience of location, cleanliness, and budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morgantown, WV
Feb 22, 2010

Great location with a great price

The hotel was a great little get-a-way. My boyfriend and I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights while we were in the city. The room was small but it was perfect for what we needed. The "shared" bathrooms were personal bathrooms and they had at least 1 per 4 rooms so it seemed like you had your own private bathroom very close to the room. The bathrooms were clean and so were the rooms. They provided towels and shampoo. Like I said, the room wasn't big and didn't have much in it but perfect if you don't plan on spending much time in their. There was also a cute sink in the room that was perfect. We had a great view of the street from our room. The temperature and everything was great. We both didn't have any complaints about the hotel or the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

South & Seaport is a beautiful area near Pier 17 where you can go and see the Brooklyn Bridge at night. On the other side of the shops by the pier its beautiful and very romantic at night. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
n.j.
Dec 22, 2009

"its was ok"

i bring my family to see a christmas tree in n.y. city, and visit a santa too. the location was good but the rooms to small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
n.j.
Dec 22, 2009

"its was ok"

i bring my family to see a christmas tree in n.y. city, and visit a santa too. the location was good but the rooms to small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top