$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
121 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Value for money

Great position-close to Times Square, central rail & subway. Shopping & restaurants close. Clean,... See full review

  • AussieinNY
  • Sep 28, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Dec 14, 2009

clean but creepy

Was not aware that bathroom/showers were shared. The clientel at the hotel were creepy. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everyone as they walk in and out of their rooms. It is a glorified hostel. Everything was clean, but did not get a good sense that the place was secure. The fact I had to be buzzed in to the hotel set a bad tone, and I had trouble locking my room. It is ok if you are a student and with a large group, awful if you are alone and on business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't stay here. Spend the extra $150 a night and feel safe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southampton, UK
Nov 20, 2009

Good for the budget traveller

If you want a location in the heart of the city but don't want to pay a fortune, this place isn't bad. Accommodation is clean and tidy, and staff are helpful, but it is pretty basic - the rooms are small and the shared kitchen/bathroom area is nothing special. Saying that, you don't come to New York to sit in your hotel room - if you're not fussed about luxuries, and are planning to be out and about most of the day anyway, this is sound, clean, basic-level accommodation - no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

No wireless in the hotel; Nearest free wifi access I found was at Bryant park (just two blocks north up 6th Avenue) - take your laptop, grab a coffee, and it's a great place to do a bit of work or catch up on e-mails, with a fantastic panoramic view of the city skyline all around!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Nov 14, 2009

Excellent Location, Great Price

Great location, great price. Walking distance to everything, including a GREAT coffee place across the street. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful (tho I didn't need much help). the shared bathrooms are a little inconvenient, but at the price I paid, who cares? I will DEFINATELY recommend the Americanna to anyone who asks and will stay there on my next trip to Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50+ traveler
Business
Cupertino, CA
Oct 12, 2009

Shared Bathrooms

This hotel is ideal for budget travel. I didn't know there were shared bathrooms until two days before I got there with my wife. We talked to the front desk and they were extremely gracious and helpful about us not wanting to stay there, so we got refunded for two of the three nights (we slept there the first night). The noise within the inn is quiet, but because the building is old and has only one glass (instead of the modern two glass) windows, the outside noise did come inside. Other than those things, I thought this inn was great. If my children want to just take a short trip to NY, I would have them stay here because I know they wouldn't care about the shared bathrooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shared bathrooms, awesome location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 28, 2009

Great location!!

I will be staying at this hotel again!! Great place to stay! Very affordable, perfect location, clean rooms and bathrooms...multiple on each floor, friendly staff, and I felt very safe at this hotel. You have to be buzzed into the building so that was a plus for me!! It is between 2 subways and the coffee place across the street is a nice way to start the day. Also, if you need to look up something on the internet, like directions, they have a computer in the lobby with a printer ($1 for 10 mins) I didn't spend alot of time in the room (I mean, you ARE in NYC!) The front desk held my luggage for 6 hours so I could go out and not have to lug my bags around with me before my flight left!! The ONLY thing I would say is ask for or bring an extra pillow (if you're like me and like more than 1 pillow) Also, I feel the need to mention b/c some people are light sleepers: the air conditioning unit is sort of loud but it drowns out the noise from the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nairobi, Kenya
Sep 27, 2009

Great Location

Great location for the garment district shopper but not very friendly for someone with lots of luggage. Shared bath was a bit nasty at time with water on the floor and hair in the tub/shower, but they tried to keep it clean. Not bad for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jonfrompr
Business
Upper Saddle River NJ
Sep 21, 2009

Comfortable and quiet

I was in New York for a one-night stay and on a budget. For me the Americana was the perfect choice. Very professional staff (I was upgraded from a twin to a double with no charge). The room was tiny but spotless, and gave onto an interior shaft: quiet as a tomb. Guests were young people and one young family. For the price, the Americana can't be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
s-g
Business
vancouver, canada
Sep 15, 2009

Terrible

this place was terrible. smelly. the air conditioner was like a small plane taking off directly next to our bed, but if it was not on the room was so small that there was no air circulation and the street noise was super loud. There are residents in this building we were not bothered by them but it would have been good to know about them prior to the stay. The front desk man who seemed to be perpetually working was so unhelpful, unfriendly, and just down right rude. I really have nothing good to say about this place. Only stay here if you absolutely have no other options at all. This place sucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chap126
Business
St. Paul, Minnesota
Aug 26, 2009

Great Location, Great price

There is a shared bathroom for about every five single rooms. It was clean and I never had to wait to use it. Exceptional location, extremely budget friendly. Rooms are pretty tiny, but comfortable and clean. AC and a flat screen TV in every room. If you're planning a stay to NY on a budget, and plan not to spend too much time in the hotel room, this place is a definite win.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's an excellent coffee shop across the street when you wake up. Don't get suckered into the convenience of Starbucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinatti, OH
Aug 25, 2009

Clean, Cozy Room

Close to shopping area, Korean and China town. I really like the location for the price, but the room was facing the busy street and was too noisy. I had to sleep with Noise cancelling earphone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bryant Park is only 2 blocks away where you can sit and relax in the green.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top