$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
164 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Great location and save money

The location is awesome. You have everything around you. It is also great for saving money. The... See full review

  • Stevehehehe
  • Mar 24, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9854
Area served
New york city
Nearby airports
Laguradia Airport, John F Kennedy International Airport,Newark International Airport.
Area description
Situated in the Midtown area of Manhattan, 4 blocks from the Empire State Building, 6 blocks to New York's Broadway Theaters.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Erie, PA
Jul 30, 2011

Americana Inn

Overall, the hotel was just as you would expect. We had the twin bed room, so it was two beds, a small bedside table, and a sink crammed in a tiny room. It wasn't an issue, as we weren't spending a ton of time in the room. My only complaint about the hotel was the fact that the bathrooms do not have a fan/ventilation system, so the bathrooms on the floor always seems to be hot and muggy from the last person that took a shower. Other than that though, the hotel was in a great location, only a few blocks from Bryant Park, Times Square, subway stations, and only a short walk from Rockefeller and 5th Avenue. I would recommend it to anyone looking to stay somewhere for a few days that just needs somewhere to sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have a smart phone/iPhone, I would definitely recommend the Hop Stop app - it was incredibly useful to us when figuring out which subways to take to get where we wanted to go!

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Erie, PA
Jul 30, 2011

Americana Inn

Overall, the hotel was just as you would expect. We had the twin bed room, so it was two beds, a small bedside table, and a sink crammed in a tiny room. It wasn't an issue, as we weren't spending a ton of time in the room. My only complaint about the hotel was the fact that the bathrooms do not have a fan/ventilation system, so the bathrooms on the floor always seems to be hot and muggy from the last person that took a shower. Other than that though, the hotel was in a great location, only a few blocks from Bryant Park, Times Square, subway stations, and only a short walk from Rockefeller and 5th Avenue. I would recommend it to anyone looking to stay somewhere for a few days that just needs somewhere to sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have a smart phone/iPhone, I would definitely recommend the Hop Stop app - it was incredibly useful to us when figuring out which subways to take to get where we wanted to go!

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
west bend wisconsin
Sep 1, 2010

nothing fancy but did the job

i was small but great location would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
west bend wisconsin
Sep 1, 2010

nothing fancy but did the job

i was small but great location would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
playgoer
Lafayette, CA
Jun 17, 2010

Great hotel, great location, great price

I have stayed at the Americana Inn about five or six times now. It is perfect for me. The location is central to events and transportation. The desk people are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, as are the shared bathrooms. I have never had any problem using a clean bathroom whenever I needed one. And I like the international clientele the hotel caters to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk up to 50th street and Bway and get half price tickets for Broadway shows at Tickets!

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
playgoer
Lafayette, CA
Jun 17, 2010

Great hotel, great location, great price

I have stayed at the Americana Inn about five or six times now. It is perfect for me. The location is central to events and transportation. The desk people are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, as are the shared bathrooms. I have never had any problem using a clean bathroom whenever I needed one. And I like the international clientele the hotel caters to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk up to 50th street and Bway and get half price tickets for Broadway shows at Tickets!

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
little apple kristen
manhattan, ks
Mar 15, 2010

not terrific, not terrible

as a college student this was a good price. the location was pretty decent. my biggest complaint was the noise level. past 7am or so it was pretty loud from doors shutting. the bathroom next to my room ran out of hot water pretty quickly but there with plenty of other bathrooms. i'd stay here again, as long as i had a way to block out all the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to divine bites!

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
little apple kristen
manhattan, ks
Mar 15, 2010

not terrific, not terrible

as a college student this was a good price. the location was pretty decent. my biggest complaint was the noise level. past 7am or so it was pretty loud from doors shutting. the bathroom next to my room ran out of hot water pretty quickly but there with plenty of other bathrooms. i'd stay here again, as long as i had a way to block out all the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to divine bites!

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Mar 9, 2010

Great location at a great price!

My friend and I visited New York for a show, sights, and shopping and found that the Americana Inn fit the convenience of location and a clean, comfortable place to rest. However, when time came to sleep, the noise outside was as audible as if all the windows were open (we had a room facing 6th St and could hear every yell, honk, screetch of tires, etc.), and woke us throughout the night/morning. Rooms ran a bit small, and guests shared bathrooms (which again were quite clean), but these weren't necessarily dealbreakers. Its certainly not a luxury hotel, but it is a quaint, simple alternative. All in all, the Americana Inn provides the best value to any traveller combining the convenience of location, cleanliness, and budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Mar 9, 2010

Great location at a great price!

My friend and I visited New York for a show, sights, and shopping and found that the Americana Inn fit the convenience of location and a clean, comfortable place to rest. However, when time came to sleep, the noise outside was as audible as if all the windows were open (we had a room facing 6th St and could hear every yell, honk, screetch of tires, etc.), and woke us throughout the night/morning. Rooms ran a bit small, and guests shared bathrooms (which again were quite clean), but these weren't necessarily dealbreakers. Its certainly not a luxury hotel, but it is a quaint, simple alternative. All in all, the Americana Inn provides the best value to any traveller combining the convenience of location, cleanliness, and budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top