$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
120 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Value for money

Great position-close to Times Square, central rail & subway. Shopping & restaurants close. Clean,... See full review

  • AussieinNY
  • Sep 28, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9854
Area served
New york city
Nearby airports
Laguradia Airport, John F Kennedy International Airport,Newark International Airport.
Area description
Situated in the Midtown area of Manhattan, 4 blocks from the Empire State Building, 6 blocks to New York's Broadway Theaters.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Erie, PA
Jul 30, 2011

Americana Inn

Overall, the hotel was just as you would expect. We had the twin bed room, so it was two beds, a small bedside table, and a sink crammed in a tiny room. It wasn't an issue, as we weren't spending a ton of time in the room. My only complaint about the hotel was the fact that the bathrooms do not have a fan/ventilation system, so the bathrooms on the floor always seems to be hot and muggy from the last person that took a shower. Other than that though, the hotel was in a great location, only a few blocks from Bryant Park, Times Square, subway stations, and only a short walk from Rockefeller and 5th Avenue. I would recommend it to anyone looking to stay somewhere for a few days that just needs somewhere to sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have a smart phone/iPhone, I would definitely recommend the Hop Stop app - it was incredibly useful to us when figuring out which subways to take to get where we wanted to go!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
west bend wisconsin
Sep 1, 2010

nothing fancy but did the job

i was small but great location would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
playgoer
Business
Lafayette, CA
Jun 17, 2010

Great hotel, great location, great price

I have stayed at the Americana Inn about five or six times now. It is perfect for me. The location is central to events and transportation. The desk people are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, as are the shared bathrooms. I have never had any problem using a clean bathroom whenever I needed one. And I like the international clientele the hotel caters to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk up to 50th street and Bway and get half price tickets for Broadway shows at Tickets!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
little apple kristen
Business
manhattan, ks
Mar 15, 2010

not terrific, not terrible

as a college student this was a good price. the location was pretty decent. my biggest complaint was the noise level. past 7am or so it was pretty loud from doors shutting. the bathroom next to my room ran out of hot water pretty quickly but there with plenty of other bathrooms. i'd stay here again, as long as i had a way to block out all the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to divine bites!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 9, 2010

Great location at a great price!

My friend and I visited New York for a show, sights, and shopping and found that the Americana Inn fit the convenience of location and a clean, comfortable place to rest. However, when time came to sleep, the noise outside was as audible as if all the windows were open (we had a room facing 6th St and could hear every yell, honk, screetch of tires, etc.), and woke us throughout the night/morning. Rooms ran a bit small, and guests shared bathrooms (which again were quite clean), but these weren't necessarily dealbreakers. Its certainly not a luxury hotel, but it is a quaint, simple alternative. All in all, the Americana Inn provides the best value to any traveller combining the convenience of location, cleanliness, and budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morgantown, WV
Feb 22, 2010

Great location with a great price

The hotel was a great little get-a-way. My boyfriend and I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights while we were in the city. The room was small but it was perfect for what we needed. The "shared" bathrooms were personal bathrooms and they had at least 1 per 4 rooms so it seemed like you had your own private bathroom very close to the room. The bathrooms were clean and so were the rooms. They provided towels and shampoo. Like I said, the room wasn't big and didn't have much in it but perfect if you don't plan on spending much time in their. There was also a cute sink in the room that was perfect. We had a great view of the street from our room. The temperature and everything was great. We both didn't have any complaints about the hotel or the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

South & Seaport is a beautiful area near Pier 17 where you can go and see the Brooklyn Bridge at night. On the other side of the shops by the pier its beautiful and very romantic at night. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
n.j.
Dec 22, 2009

"its was ok"

i bring my family to see a christmas tree in n.y. city, and visit a santa too. the location was good but the rooms to small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Dec 17, 2009

I wouldnt go there again

The stuff wasnt very nice, either helpful, every my question was answered with annoyed attitude, the rooms are TINY, you can hear all the noise from the street, heater was broken and since it was December while we were staying there, it was freezing cold at night. Only credit I can give the hotel is the location, you are pretty much in the middle of Manhattan, few blocks from Empire State Building, I could see Times Square from there... Great for tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bfree in DC
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 16, 2009

Reasonably Priced

The hotel has shared bathrooms- the website really downplays that and I didn't notice prior to booking. Other than that, the overall experience was positive. the room (and bathroom) was clean, and the location was great. This is not a luxury hotel- just a place to crash at the end of a long day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Dec 14, 2009

clean but creepy

Was not aware that bathroom/showers were shared. The clientel at the hotel were creepy. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everyone as they walk in and out of their rooms. It is a glorified hostel. Everything was clean, but did not get a good sense that the place was secure. The fact I had to be buzzed in to the hotel set a bad tone, and I had trouble locking my room. It is ok if you are a student and with a large group, awful if you are alone and on business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't stay here. Spend the extra $150 a night and feel safe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top