$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Americana Inn

2 stars
View map of 69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A day in NY
Business
France
Aug 20, 2012

Good for what proposed

The Hotel was very clean, personel nice and informative, and it is very good localized. No noise. Air conditioning a little noisy. Very ok for what proposed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway, Macy's and 5th avenue

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VisitorG
Business
dominican republic
Aug 18, 2012

the worst hotel in the world

The bathroom was shared with other rooms and it was dirty ... the bed too small for two people ... dirty floor and the bed felt something itching in the body. immediately we left the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lazooli
Business
Tampa, Florida
Jul 2, 2012

Perfect Location Basic Accomodations

I went into this knowing what I was getting, a basic hotel at an inexpensive price in an incredible location. Geographically you can't ask for more at this price. This was a short walk to Times Square, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and was convenient to the subway. The room was small; barely big enough for 2 twin beds and an end table. The shared bathrooms were not a problem because there were 4 on my floor so there was always one available to use. Optimally, I would have prefered to have had central air [instead of a window unit], a desk and wifi access. But those are incidental if your intention is to use the room as a place to sleep and you will be out and about during your trip. If you are ok with basic clean accomodations for a low price in mid-town manhattan, then this is a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laynelli
Business
Puerto Rico
Jun 20, 2012

Not perfect but good!

the staff was friendly and service oriented. The room was clean and have the basic things you need. The location is perfect. The badrooms are out of the room and no always clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ATX Alex
Business
Austin, TX
May 24, 2012

Great, clean location

Rooms were small (typical for Manhattan). 2 twin beds with about 9" of space in between, a small closet, and a sink in the room. There were 4 restrooms on our floor, each an individual-style room with toilet, sink, tub/shower. I was concerned about the shared bathrooms, but hotel staff did a great job of deep cleaning them daily, and only about 5 rooms shared each one. My only complaint about the room was the noise: you could hear every truck, horn, and siren on 6th Avenue all night long. We had a corner room right at the intersection of 38th/6th on the 3rd floor. If you get a room on the 38th St. side, it's probably a lot more quiet. After the first night, I slowly got used to the noise and actually had trouble sleeping without the "sounds of the streets" my first night back home. Hotel does not have wifi in the rooms, but it is available in the lobby for a fee. There is a cafe on the corner of 38th/6th (Pret a Manger) that has free wifi for their guests. Just go get a cup of coffee and the wifi password is on the bottom of the receipt. Location in Midtown is great. 2 subway stations easily accessible: 4 blocks north to 42nd St. for the BDFM, 4 blocks south to 34th for the NQR. 10 minute walk to Times Square. Plenty of restaurants around, though none are 24 hours. If you want food in the middle of the night, there are plenty of delivery options or there's a 24 hour convenience store across the street that has some small stuff. I'd stay here again if I could ensure that I get a room away from 6th Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're planning on exploring Manhattan, get a subway pass. You can buy a one-week unlimited pass for $29. So basically, use the subway at least twice a day and it pays for itself. Cabs will usually get you there faster, but the fares add up fast. Plus, you learn the subway system of Manhattan and start to feel like a real New Yorker.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Schuyler
Business
West Hartford, CT
May 11, 2012

Great on a budget

I was not expecting much from this hotel, but it ended up being a very pleasant stay. The room was clean, and we were within walking distance of Times Square. It was a short subway ride away from Broadway and a lot of great restaurants. If you are on a college-student budget and in a relationship, this is great for you because it is inexpensive and close to the many great things that NYC has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PeterN
Business
Florida
Mar 16, 2012

Great Location, Tiny room

I was traveling for one day business in Manhattan. This was located in the the center of downtown (Broadway). Walking-distance to main places. Room was a little bit tiny with one shared bathroom per one floor. Overall, it's good for short-term stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kayla4
Business
Plymouth, CT, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Great for Traveling on a Budget

This room was nothing fancy, very small but the price was unbeatable. The staff was friendly, rooms were clean. I heard people complain about having to share restrooms but I was aware of this before I booked the room and there are multiple restrooms on each floor so I didn't think it was a big deal. I also read reviews that said the rooms were very stuffy. It was when I got there but it was equipped with an ac so this was not a problem. I would say it's perfect for anybody traveling for work who needs a place to stay or if traveling on a budget and do not intend on spending any extra time in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeeSeminarOnBroadway
Business
Syracuse, NY, USA
Jan 23, 2012

A tight fit that's easy on your wallet.

Overall, we had a great stay. The room was tiny but what can you really expect in NYC? We only needed the room for a place to sleep and for that it served it's purpose. No bedbugs, (we thoroughly checked), sheets and sink were clean, and the room smelled fresh. We NEVER had to wait to use the community bathroom and it was clean too. The staff was polite and we were pleased to learned they had a secure room for baggage holding after we checked out. After seeing our show, we came back to pick up the bag and had no problems retrieving it. If you are looking for a place near broadway shows and times square this place is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We didn't have time for a nice dinner before our broadway show but wanted to have a nice breakfast or lunch instead. We found Le Pain Quotidien only a short walk away and were so happy we did. Sophisticated French breakfast or lunch food at a reasonable price - we felt very fancy indeed :) We only paid $25 but had a great filling meal and hot drinks. The butternut squash and goatcheese frittata is a must have.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bilu
Business
Wellfleet, MA
Dec 19, 2011

Economical Business Accommodations

This hotel reminded me of a dormitory with the shared bathrooms. While I was not prepared for this, I found the room warm, quiet, and efficient for my needs. The hotel was conveniently located in walking distance from my office (9th Ave & 35th streets); close to all needed transportation, shops, and eating options. The desk staff was pleasant and helpful. I appreciated the cleanliness of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top