$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Americana Inn

2 stars
View map of 69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BojiGirl
Family
Okoboji, Iowa
Mar 19, 2013

Prime Manhattan Location

This was our first time to New York, so we had researched hotels and were aware that the rooms would be small. Our room at the Americana was small, had two twin beds, a tv., closet and wash sink. The shared bathroom was right outside our door and we never even encountered anyone else using the bathroom during our three night stay. My 17 year old daughter loved the corner window and really enjoyed watching the city streets from there. We brought a small floor fan to help drown out the street noise during the night - that worked really well. The location of the hotel is ideal - within walking distance to so many sights. For a low price hotel in midtown Manhattan, this is a great choice, would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
apodo
Single
florida
Mar 15, 2013

hotel

Hi The hotel was ok in ny but no bathroom inside the room, WHY the person help me with the booking do not tell me that ISSUE, and I will go to other hotel, I hope your employees get a BETTER TRAINING, and Thank you very Much.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Senior 1
Business
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Mar 11, 2013

Very Satisfied!

I was very satisfied with my four days at the Americana Inn. The room was small and clean, the bed comfortable and my 4th floor rear room very quiet. My room had a sink, fire escape and a sprinkler system. The staff was attentive and responsive. The bathroom across the hall was always clean and available -- plus there were three others on the floor. I informed the clerk at the reception desk that the bathtub drain was clogged, and the next time I took a shower it was clear. For the location, it was a real value. I would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tad's Steak House on 34th Street between 6th and 7th Avenues is a real value.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
donthaveanothername
Single
Westminster, CA
Mar 7, 2013

Great for the price, prime location

I didn't really like the fact that the restrooms and showers were shared but considering the price and since I am only there to sleep it was easy to get over. Friendly staff and very clean considering the shared amenities. Just a few blocks from Times Square and subways and just south of Central Park and the major museums. I would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I'm a budget vacationer and I was surprised to learn there is a lot a pretty cheep good food at venders and street carts.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beagle523
Single
Michigan
Feb 25, 2013

Clean and comfortable - good for single travelers

As someone who has stayed at hostels throughout Europe before, I was pleasantly surprised by how clean and fresh-smelling the room was (the floor was so shiny that it was slippery to walk on with socks). I was there in February so I was a little worried that the room might be too cold. When I got to the hotel, I did feel a bit of a draft near the window. After informing the staff and getting an extra blanket, I felt that the room was much warmer (maybe they turned up the heat?). The room included everything one would need: clean and fresh bed, clean bathroom (down the hall), towels and toiletries, TV if you need to unwind after a long day of shopping/walking, a dresser, a tiny closet to put your luggage in, and a sink and mirror. I was lucky enough to get a room where the window faced the other buildings (away from the busy/noisy streets) so I had no problem falling asleep at night. There was also a small kitchenette down the hall for you to microwave food. Now onto a couple things that could have been improved: on my last night there, the TV stopped working properly for some reason (I could hear the sound but I couldn't see the image on the screen). Even though I told the staff about it, they didn't fix it before I left. Also, there was construction right next to the hotel so the sign/awning for the hotel was covered up. If you're getting there on your own, you might have to look a bit harder to find the place. Since I used the shuttle service to get there, it wasn't too much of a problem. I got the room at a discounted price (thanks to a coupon code) so I really have no major complaints considering the ideal location of this place. But I probably wouldn't stay here if I have to pay over $150 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you arrive early (before check in time) or leave late (after check out time), there is a small closet under the stairs where you could store your luggage there. Just make sure you get a tag from the front desk. Since the elevator doesn't seem to work well, I would suggest NOT bringing too much luggage with you when staying at a place like this!

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Star
Family
Southamerica
Feb 7, 2013

Very good

The hotel is a little bit old, but the location amazing. The room was little but clean and the share rooms were very clean as well, and enough bathrooms for floor. Recomend it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lord and taylor, manhattan mall, macys, etc

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bushra
Family
Raleigh, NC
Jan 2, 2013

Good location, No Internet

You cannot beat the location, walking distance to almost anything and everything. Lots of places to eat around and nice discount stores to shop at. The only negative will be no internet service. They do not have a wifi and only way to access internet is a single computer placed in the lobby at the charge of 1 dollar for 10 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sulinod
Friends
Buffalo, NY
Dec 28, 2012

Good Hotel at Amazing location

Amazing location. The hotel is very good considering that is a cheap one. The bathroom is shared, but it is very clean and organized, and just a few rooms to use each. I like the hotel and I recommend to everyone that don't mind to share the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is really near the Times Square.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hotelgogo
Business
rome
Dec 10, 2012

Good location, overpriced but this is new york

We chose this hotel as it was one of the very few affordable ones for me; the locations is excellent. Only a few rooms have their own private bathroom. However the shared bathrooms are kept perfectly clean. The rooms are warm adn well equipped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to B&H, possibly one of the best value for money shops in NY

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anthrograd10
Single
New York
Nov 19, 2012

What I Expected

I wanted a resonably priced hotel in mid town Manhatten and that's what I got. Room was really clean, shared bathrooms were ok. A little loud in the morning because the walls are thin. But great location and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Caroline's Comedy Club on Broadway is great!

Back to menu Return to top