$130 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Americana Inn

2 stars
View map of 69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wagstaff
Business
New York
Nov 16, 2012

Good, inexpensive NYC spot

Will definitely do again. Bathrooms and room clean. Looked like mostly European travelers. The one negative: the room had that room freshener smell. We popped the window open and it was gone in a few hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dustytiger
Business
Ottawa, On, Canada
Nov 6, 2012

A place to lay your head

I chose this location because I was traveling by train and had to stay overnight in New York going to and from Florida. I was looking for cheap and close to Penn Station. My choices were cheap and clean or sleeping at the Amtrak guest waiting area at Penn Station. The Americana met this need. What does it have? A clean cheap place to lay your head for the night within a New York walk to anything you might want to see or eat. A sink to wash your face, towels under said sink. What doesn't it have? Wifi. Yeah seriously. Have your smartphone ready. A toilet in your room. There are many on the floor sometimes you have to go to a couple to find one that's free depending on the floor, (There are shower there too wasn't up for that adventure). Quiet and darkness. Bring ear plugs and sleep mask. When I first arrived at the Americana I thought I had made the biggest mistake of my life. This was my first solo trip. Thankfully I had a friend who lived in New York meet at my train and get me to the hotel. It is not really walking distance with luggage but I needed the stretch. We checked out the room and agreed it was clean and the security was there or else I would have been in his hole of an apartment whether or not we both fit. I thought about booking somewhere else for my trip home but I realised I would not find anything cheaper and I wouldn't know if it would be clean, nor where it was and how much it would cost to get to and from Penn station (like peanuts even with a good tip for the driver) so I kept the reservation. It's not luxury by any stretch. But after sleeping in my seat on a train any clean bed for the night is nice. Just be prepared. This is a place for a younger traveler out on an adventure who doesn't want to hang out in their room. Would I recommend it? Probably but only to people looking for exactly this; cheap and clean a place to lay your head nothing more nothing less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sillystu
Business
west chester, pa
Oct 17, 2012

back in the ny groove

i had to spend a couple of days in nyc, and this hotel was a blessing. ideally located, it made a perfect home base for me , while i was in nyc. the hotel was nice and clean, and the staff was very friendly. it made my trip run smoothly...thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time in NY
Business
Cambridge, UK
Oct 9, 2012

Excellent value for money hotel

It is exactly as it is advertised. Basic but excellent location so very good value for money. Only 2 or 3 rooms share a bathroom so that is not an issue. Definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Recovering Road Warrier
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 8, 2012

very disappointing

$230 an night is very overpriced even for NYC. There was no AC so the room was uncomfortably hot. The bed smelled of perfumed freshener and aggravated my allergies. Avoid this hotel if you are in search of a room that you can actually sleep in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jetset Kael
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 8, 2012

Not Again

I booked the Americana at the last minute for a business trip to NY. The rooms are creepy and for the size of the room, around 50-60 square feet, you're 100 times better off booking a 'Cabin Room' at the Jane hotel for arounr $135/night. I should have read more reviews before I booked, but I was strapped for cash and needed a place quick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Foo's is a good dinner spot that's close by, has a good range of asian dishes and a nice atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
budget travel guy
Business
CT
Sep 7, 2012

Overpriced for the value

This hotel was clean and in a good location, but is really just an overpriced hostel where you get your own room. Had I known that before booking I wouldnt have done it and would just pay a little more for a real hotel. The plus side is that there are many bathrooms on each floor so sharing is not too big a deal, and there are at least sinks in every room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A day in NY
Business
France
Aug 20, 2012

Good for what proposed

The Hotel was very clean, personel nice and informative, and it is very good localized. No noise. Air conditioning a little noisy. Very ok for what proposed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway, Macy's and 5th avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VisitorG
Business
dominican republic
Aug 18, 2012

the worst hotel in the world

The bathroom was shared with other rooms and it was dirty ... the bed too small for two people ... dirty floor and the bed felt something itching in the body. immediately we left the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lazooli
Business
Tampa, Florida
Jul 2, 2012

Perfect Location Basic Accomodations

I went into this knowing what I was getting, a basic hotel at an inexpensive price in an incredible location. Geographically you can't ask for more at this price. This was a short walk to Times Square, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and was convenient to the subway. The room was small; barely big enough for 2 twin beds and an end table. The shared bathrooms were not a problem because there were 4 on my floor so there was always one available to use. Optimally, I would have prefered to have had central air [instead of a window unit], a desk and wifi access. But those are incidental if your intention is to use the room as a place to sleep and you will be out and about during your trip. If you are ok with basic clean accomodations for a low price in mid-town manhattan, then this is a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top