$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
163 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Great location and save money

The location is awesome. You have everything around you. It is also great for saving money. The... See full review

  • Stevehehehe
  • Mar 24, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9854
Area served
New york city
Nearby airports
Laguradia Airport, John F Kennedy International Airport,Newark International Airport.
Area description
Situated in the Midtown area of Manhattan, 4 blocks from the Empire State Building, 6 blocks to New York's Broadway Theaters.

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (163)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
163 out of 163
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
budget travel guy
Business
CT
Sep 7, 2012

Overpriced for the value

This hotel was clean and in a good location, but is really just an overpriced hostel where you get your own room. Had I known that before booking I wouldnt have done it and would just pay a little more for a real hotel. The plus side is that there are many bathrooms on each floor so sharing is not too big a deal, and there are at least sinks in every room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A day in NY
Business
France
Aug 20, 2012

Good for what proposed

The Hotel was very clean, personel nice and informative, and it is very good localized. No noise. Air conditioning a little noisy. Very ok for what proposed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Broadway, Macy's and 5th avenue

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
VisitorG
dominican republic
Aug 18, 2012

the worst hotel in the world

The bathroom was shared with other rooms and it was dirty ... the bed too small for two people ... dirty floor and the bed felt something itching in the body. immediately we left the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lazooli
Tampa, Florida
Jul 2, 2012

Perfect Location Basic Accomodations

I went into this knowing what I was getting, a basic hotel at an inexpensive price in an incredible location. Geographically you can't ask for more at this price. This was a short walk to Times Square, Bryant Park, the Empire State Building and was convenient to the subway. The room was small; barely big enough for 2 twin beds and an end table. The shared bathrooms were not a problem because there were 4 on my floor so there was always one available to use. Optimally, I would have prefered to have had central air [instead of a window unit], a desk and wifi access. But those are incidental if your intention is to use the room as a place to sleep and you will be out and about during your trip. If you are ok with basic clean accomodations for a low price in mid-town manhattan, then this is a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Laynelli
Puerto Rico
Jun 20, 2012

Not perfect but good!

the staff was friendly and service oriented. The room was clean and have the basic things you need. The location is perfect. The badrooms are out of the room and no always clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ATX Alex
Austin, TX
May 24, 2012

Great, clean location

Rooms were small (typical for Manhattan). 2 twin beds with about 9" of space in between, a small closet, and a sink in the room. There were 4 restrooms on our floor, each an individual-style room with toilet, sink, tub/shower. I was concerned about the shared bathrooms, but hotel staff did a great job of deep cleaning them daily, and only about 5 rooms shared each one. My only complaint about the room was the noise: you could hear every truck, horn, and siren on 6th Avenue all night long. We had a corner room right at the intersection of 38th/6th on the 3rd floor. If you get a room on the 38th St. side, it's probably a lot more quiet. After the first night, I slowly got used to the noise and actually had trouble sleeping without the "sounds of the streets" my first night back home. Hotel does not have wifi in the rooms, but it is available in the lobby for a fee. There is a cafe on the corner of 38th/6th (Pret a Manger) that has free wifi for their guests. Just go get a cup of coffee and the wifi password is on the bottom of the receipt. Location in Midtown is great. 2 subway stations easily accessible: 4 blocks north to 42nd St. for the BDFM, 4 blocks south to 34th for the NQR. 10 minute walk to Times Square. Plenty of restaurants around, though none are 24 hours. If you want food in the middle of the night, there are plenty of delivery options or there's a 24 hour convenience store across the street that has some small stuff. I'd stay here again if I could ensure that I get a room away from 6th Avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're planning on exploring Manhattan, get a subway pass. You can buy a one-week unlimited pass for $29. So basically, use the subway at least twice a day and it pays for itself. Cabs will usually get you there faster, but the fares add up fast. Plus, you learn the subway system of Manhattan and start to feel like a real New Yorker.

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Schuyler
West Hartford, CT
May 11, 2012

Great on a budget

I was not expecting much from this hotel, but it ended up being a very pleasant stay. The room was clean, and we were within walking distance of Times Square. It was a short subway ride away from Broadway and a lot of great restaurants. If you are on a college-student budget and in a relationship, this is great for you because it is inexpensive and close to the many great things that NYC has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PeterN
Business
Florida
Mar 16, 2012

Great Location, Tiny room

I was traveling for one day business in Manhattan. This was located in the the center of downtown (Broadway). Walking-distance to main places. Room was a little bit tiny with one shared bathroom per one floor. Overall, it's good for short-term stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kayla4
Business
Plymouth, CT, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Great for Traveling on a Budget

This room was nothing fancy, very small but the price was unbeatable. The staff was friendly, rooms were clean. I heard people complain about having to share restrooms but I was aware of this before I booked the room and there are multiple restrooms on each floor so I didn't think it was a big deal. I also read reviews that said the rooms were very stuffy. It was when I got there but it was equipped with an ac so this was not a problem. I would say it's perfect for anybody traveling for work who needs a place to stay or if traveling on a budget and do not intend on spending any extra time in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeeSeminarOnBroadway
Syracuse, NY, USA
Jan 23, 2012

A tight fit that's easy on your wallet.

Overall, we had a great stay. The room was tiny but what can you really expect in NYC? We only needed the room for a place to sleep and for that it served it's purpose. No bedbugs, (we thoroughly checked), sheets and sink were clean, and the room smelled fresh. We NEVER had to wait to use the community bathroom and it was clean too. The staff was polite and we were pleased to learned they had a secure room for baggage holding after we checked out. After seeing our show, we came back to pick up the bag and had no problems retrieving it. If you are looking for a place near broadway shows and times square this place is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We didn't have time for a nice dinner before our broadway show but wanted to have a nice breakfast or lunch instead. We found Le Pain Quotidien only a short walk away and were so happy we did. Sophisticated French breakfast or lunch food at a reasonable price - we felt very fancy indeed :) We only paid $25 but had a great filling meal and hot drinks. The butternut squash and goatcheese frittata is a must have.

Back to menu Return to top