$150 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
117 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Great location and clean place

Located within minutes' walk to the Time Square and Empire State Building, this Inn provides great... See full review

  • Jasonlice
  • Aug 7, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9854
Area served
New york city
Nearby airports
Laguradia Airport, John F Kennedy International Airport,Newark International Airport.
Area description
Situated in the Midtown area of Manhattan, 4 blocks from the Empire State Building, 6 blocks to New York's Broadway Theaters.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Senior 1
Business
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Mar 11, 2013

Very Satisfied!

I was very satisfied with my four days at the Americana Inn. The room was small and clean, the bed comfortable and my 4th floor rear room very quiet. My room had a sink, fire escape and a sprinkler system. The staff was attentive and responsive. The bathroom across the hall was always clean and available -- plus there were three others on the floor. I informed the clerk at the reception desk that the bathtub drain was clogged, and the next time I took a shower it was clear. For the location, it was a real value. I would definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tad's Steak House on 34th Street between 6th and 7th Avenues is a real value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
donthaveanothername
Westminster, CA
Mar 7, 2013

Great for the price, prime location

I didn't really like the fact that the restrooms and showers were shared but considering the price and since I am only there to sleep it was easy to get over. Friendly staff and very clean considering the shared amenities. Just a few blocks from Times Square and subways and just south of Central Park and the major museums. I would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I'm a budget vacationer and I was surprised to learn there is a lot a pretty cheep good food at venders and street carts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beagle523
Michigan
Feb 25, 2013

Clean and comfortable - good for single travelers

As someone who has stayed at hostels throughout Europe before, I was pleasantly surprised by how clean and fresh-smelling the room was (the floor was so shiny that it was slippery to walk on with socks). I was there in February so I was a little worried that the room might be too cold. When I got to the hotel, I did feel a bit of a draft near the window. After informing the staff and getting an extra blanket, I felt that the room was much warmer (maybe they turned up the heat?). The room included everything one would need: clean and fresh bed, clean bathroom (down the hall), towels and toiletries, TV if you need to unwind after a long day of shopping/walking, a dresser, a tiny closet to put your luggage in, and a sink and mirror. I was lucky enough to get a room where the window faced the other buildings (away from the busy/noisy streets) so I had no problem falling asleep at night. There was also a small kitchenette down the hall for you to microwave food. Now onto a couple things that could have been improved: on my last night there, the TV stopped working properly for some reason (I could hear the sound but I couldn't see the image on the screen). Even though I told the staff about it, they didn't fix it before I left. Also, there was construction right next to the hotel so the sign/awning for the hotel was covered up. If you're getting there on your own, you might have to look a bit harder to find the place. Since I used the shuttle service to get there, it wasn't too much of a problem. I got the room at a discounted price (thanks to a coupon code) so I really have no major complaints considering the ideal location of this place. But I probably wouldn't stay here if I have to pay over $150 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

If you arrive early (before check in time) or leave late (after check out time), there is a small closet under the stairs where you could store your luggage there. Just make sure you get a tag from the front desk. Since the elevator doesn't seem to work well, I would suggest NOT bringing too much luggage with you when staying at a place like this!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr Star
Southamerica
Feb 7, 2013

Very good

The hotel is a little bit old, but the location amazing. The room was little but clean and the share rooms were very clean as well, and enough bathrooms for floor. Recomend it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lord and taylor, manhattan mall, macys, etc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bushra
Raleigh, NC
Jan 2, 2013

Good location, No Internet

You cannot beat the location, walking distance to almost anything and everything. Lots of places to eat around and nice discount stores to shop at. The only negative will be no internet service. They do not have a wifi and only way to access internet is a single computer placed in the lobby at the charge of 1 dollar for 10 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sulinod
Buffalo, NY
Dec 28, 2012

Good Hotel at Amazing location

Amazing location. The hotel is very good considering that is a cheap one. The bathroom is shared, but it is very clean and organized, and just a few rooms to use each. I like the hotel and I recommend to everyone that don't mind to share the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is really near the Times Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hotelgogo
Business
rome
Dec 10, 2012

Good location, overpriced but this is new york

We chose this hotel as it was one of the very few affordable ones for me; the locations is excellent. Only a few rooms have their own private bathroom. However the shared bathrooms are kept perfectly clean. The rooms are warm adn well equipped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to B&H, possibly one of the best value for money shops in NY

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anthrograd10
New York
Nov 19, 2012

What I Expected

I wanted a resonably priced hotel in mid town Manhatten and that's what I got. Room was really clean, shared bathrooms were ok. A little loud in the morning because the walls are thin. But great location and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Caroline's Comedy Club on Broadway is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wagstaff
Business
New York
Nov 16, 2012

Good, inexpensive NYC spot

Will definitely do again. Bathrooms and room clean. Looked like mostly European travelers. The one negative: the room had that room freshener smell. We popped the window open and it was gone in a few hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dustytiger
Ottawa, On, Canada
Nov 6, 2012

A place to lay your head

I chose this location because I was traveling by train and had to stay overnight in New York going to and from Florida. I was looking for cheap and close to Penn Station. My choices were cheap and clean or sleeping at the Amtrak guest waiting area at Penn Station. The Americana met this need. What does it have? A clean cheap place to lay your head for the night within a New York walk to anything you might want to see or eat. A sink to wash your face, towels under said sink. What doesn't it have? Wifi. Yeah seriously. Have your smartphone ready. A toilet in your room. There are many on the floor sometimes you have to go to a couple to find one that's free depending on the floor, (There are shower there too wasn't up for that adventure). Quiet and darkness. Bring ear plugs and sleep mask. When I first arrived at the Americana I thought I had made the biggest mistake of my life. This was my first solo trip. Thankfully I had a friend who lived in New York meet at my train and get me to the hotel. It is not really walking distance with luggage but I needed the stretch. We checked out the room and agreed it was clean and the security was there or else I would have been in his hole of an apartment whether or not we both fit. I thought about booking somewhere else for my trip home but I realised I would not find anything cheaper and I wouldn't know if it would be clean, nor where it was and how much it would cost to get to and from Penn station (like peanuts even with a good tip for the driver) so I kept the reservation. It's not luxury by any stretch. But after sleeping in my seat on a train any clean bed for the night is nice. Just be prepared. This is a place for a younger traveler out on an adventure who doesn't want to hang out in their room. Would I recommend it? Probably but only to people looking for exactly this; cheap and clean a place to lay your head nothing more nothing less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search