$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
121 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Value for money

Great position-close to Times Square, central rail & subway. Shopping & restaurants close. Clean,... See full review

  • AussieinNY
  • Sep 28, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MariaLisa100
Business
Newcastle, UK
Sep 3, 2013

Value for money

This hotel is really good for someome who needs a place to sleep and not much else. The hotel is clean and tidy but dated and my room had no bath included so I had to use the communal bath. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is no breakfast or wi-fi included. The location of the hotel is unbeatable, being in close to time square. Delis, shops and pharmacies are around the corner. Overall, I thought that this was good value for money but I did not spend much time in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
In NYC for work
Business
Mountain View, California
Aug 23, 2013

Served its purpose

Didn't realize this place had shared bathrooms when I booked (the price should have been a dead give away) but it turned out to be fine. Air conditioner worked well, TV, bathroom was always empty when I tried to use it. No real complaints. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SuperBobBobbob
Business
New York
Jul 28, 2013

Not what I expected

No private bathroom. Super strong smell of cleaning product to cover up cigarette smells. More like staying in a European hostel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennL89
Business
San Francisco, California
Jul 23, 2013

Great for short trip in NYC!

I love this place. The location is just perfect!! The guy who helped me check in on Sunday morning was really nice and very helpful! Very clean on room main area, but got so dusty on edges.There is an AC/heater inside the room, and I find the room is really comfortable, regardless its small size. They also have tiny little clean kitchen. My only main problem is the shared bathroom. On level 3, the cold shower did not work, so I have to try the other shower at other level. Also, although they clean the bathroom most of the time, it could get really dirty and wet, especially the toilet seats. However, it really good value for money. I would recommend this hotel, and would definitely come back if i stay here less than 3 nights :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LuvNYC
Business
md
Jul 10, 2013

Clean Decent Hotel - Good Staff - Great Location!!

Nice Hotel, nice friendly professional staff/Clerks. Check in/out a breeze. Room was Small, but not small enough to make you feel uncomfortable - I had a double-bed room. A single room may be much smaller. Bed felt ok enough, I slept well. The room was clean, bathrooms clean (outside of rooms), A/C worked fine. Not bad for price paid but it could have been a little cheaper! But, given the PRIME location, and an 15% discount on purchase. I have No regrets - I enjoyed my stay in NYC and the American Inn!! If price is right, would come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway system best way around city, subway maps/direction is a little confusing, but you figure it out eventually, or just ask the for assistance. Lot of places within Walking distance as well!! I walked most of the time to Times Square, Empire State Building, Union Square, etc...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss. Biddy
Business
Baltimore
Jun 17, 2013

Location

Great location and place to stay for my little one nighter getaway. . I'll come again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FitItAll
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 5, 2013

Not the greatest!

I happened to be there on two of the hottest days we've had so far this summer. The rooms had window air conditioners, that didn't work properly and were extremely loud. The room was small but clean. We had shared bathrooms and they also were really clean. Everyone had to leave their rooms to use the facilities at night and you had to slam the room doors in order for them to lock, which again made it loud. Not a place I would ever stay in again. It certainly wasn't worth the price charged per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

9th Avenue restaurants are plentiful and offer a great price range.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chanaleh
Business
New York, NY
May 25, 2013

SHARED BATH, but you can't beat the price

I actually live in Manhattan, but needed a room for one weeknight for an overnight guest. There's almost nothing in town available for under $170/night (unless you get down to the really skeevy Chinatown flophouses) -- except this place. The location is truly prime, so why's it so cheap? NO FRILLS. Shared bath -- funny it didn't say ANYTHING about that in the room description when I booked! No wifi (though there's a computer with internet in the lobby), no carpet, no curtains (just blinds), not even a dresser in the room (just a tiny night table). However, everything was sparkling clean, and the shared bath turned out to be a regular lockable individual bathroom (just across the hall from our room) with pristine tub and shower. The room did include a sink/washstand and mirror, surprisingly modern/luxe looking, suggesting fairly recent renovation. We overlooked 38th St., so the street noise was constant, but that was basically to be expected. Overall, would certainly return when next needed... but bring a bathrobe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent food options a few blocks down on 32nd, a.k.a. Korea Town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sister Vacay
Business
Dallas
May 23, 2013

Good location, friendly staff

My sister and I were in NYC for 1 night, 2 days, so we only really needed a hotel to sleep in for a few hours. The shared bathrooms/showers were the biggest barrier for us since we weren't used to anything like that in a hotel before, but for NYC, the hotel was a good enough price for what it offered that we didn't mind. The hotel met our needs - good location, affordable, knowledgeable staff, and able to hold our luggage before/after checkin/out while we explored the city. Overall, it was a good place for the one night we were there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JProf
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 22, 2013

unclean, unsafe, unfriendly

Bathroom is down the hall. Room has no chair or desk. Window looks out on ductwork and a brick wall. No wifi, of course. You have to get buzzed into the building; no card key option. You're warned that anything of value left in your room will get stolen. For those who may want them, smoke detectors are available at the front desk. Other than the location, an absolute pit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top