$150 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
117 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Great location and clean place

Located within minutes' walk to the Time Square and Empire State Building, this Inn provides great... See full review

  • Jasonlice
  • Aug 7, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9854
Area served
New york city
Nearby airports
Laguradia Airport, John F Kennedy International Airport,Newark International Airport.
Area description
Situated in the Midtown area of Manhattan, 4 blocks from the Empire State Building, 6 blocks to New York's Broadway Theaters.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (117)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ashok B
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 31, 2014

Terrible Experience

Terrible service, I reached early and though there were rooms available, they insisted rooms have not been cleaned and made me wait until 3pm (not even 1 minute earlier) to get a room. Very rigid, very rude, horrible. Also rooms had odor, and super small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TNTenor
Business
WI
Dec 5, 2013

In a state of improvement

The staff was very friendly and they were polite to everyone. However, this hotel is more of a hostel experience. Dormitory rooms, no Wi-Fi, community bathroom. But it's NYC, you shouldn't be hanging out in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nodrogtrams
Manhattan New York
Oct 30, 2013

Small rooms

When we got there it was late and we were given a so called double room, it was a double bed in a single room. you could only get in the bed from one side and almost impossible to use the sink as it was so close to the bed. The next day after complaining we were moved to a bigger room but it was a bit smelly so we had to buy an air freshener to leave in the room. The bathrooms were clean and functional and although shared there were at least two or three on each floor. On the positive side It was however very close to Times Square,Don't get the hotel to order a taxi as they add on 23 dollars for the privilege. We ordered our own. Hotel is basic so don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. They also have a kitchen on each floor to use if you want .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Study the open top bus tour options before you book anything they are quite complicated and don't forget they add tax to everything and everybody wants a tip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrsnitch
FLorida
Oct 27, 2013

Great location but overpriced

Pros: Excellent location, semi-pleasant staff Cons: -Hides the fact that all bathrooms are communal, no ensuite -TV but no cable, only local channels even though it advertises cable TV -Put in a room on a busy corner, SO LOUD from the traffic and people outside I had to buy ear plugs in order to sleep, and I'm not a light sleeper -Rooms are cramped and UGLY -Bathrooms aren't dirty but aren't very pleasant either, building is pretty run down -2 of the 5 bathrooms were broken on my floor, I was told they would be fixed by the following morning, the next night, one was fixed, the other wasn't for the 4 days I stayed there -Very little temp control, the room was VERY cold -No WiFi, not even for a fee, come on, this is 2013! -Staff wasn't very helpful -elevator is slow and hardly big enough for 2 people Would avoid unless you have no other options, at this price range, these problems are unacceptable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are here for 3 days or less, you can walk to most things and don't need to buy a $30 subway pass, just pay as you go

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Flaquita bonita
DF
Oct 14, 2013

Disappointing

The price for what you get is excessive. Shared bathrooms for 200 USD a night is not what I expect to get on this website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bzik
Odessa, Ukraine
Oct 10, 2013

cheap but valuable

It's a good place to stay just for one night. When everything you need - is a good bed and a quick shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MariaLisa100
Newcastle, UK
Sep 3, 2013

Value for money

This hotel is really good for someome who needs a place to sleep and not much else. The hotel is clean and tidy but dated and my room had no bath included so I had to use the communal bath. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is no breakfast or wi-fi included. The location of the hotel is unbeatable, being in close to time square. Delis, shops and pharmacies are around the corner. Overall, I thought that this was good value for money but I did not spend much time in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
In NYC for work
Business
Mountain View, California
Aug 23, 2013

Served its purpose

Didn't realize this place had shared bathrooms when I booked (the price should have been a dead give away) but it turned out to be fine. Air conditioner worked well, TV, bathroom was always empty when I tried to use it. No real complaints. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SuperBobBobbob
New York
Jul 28, 2013

Not what I expected

No private bathroom. Super strong smell of cleaning product to cover up cigarette smells. More like staying in a European hostel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennL89
San Francisco, California
Jul 23, 2013

Great for short trip in NYC!

I love this place. The location is just perfect!! The guy who helped me check in on Sunday morning was really nice and very helpful! Very clean on room main area, but got so dusty on edges.There is an AC/heater inside the room, and I find the room is really comfortable, regardless its small size. They also have tiny little clean kitchen. My only main problem is the shared bathroom. On level 3, the cold shower did not work, so I have to try the other shower at other level. Also, although they clean the bathroom most of the time, it could get really dirty and wet, especially the toilet seats. However, it really good value for money. I would recommend this hotel, and would definitely come back if i stay here less than 3 nights :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search