$120 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Americana Inn

2 stars
View map of 69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Aug 3, 2009

good location

I just came back from NYC,althought the room is small and noisy, I still would like to recommend this inn, the location is excellent and is very close to the subway station, you can go to a lot of attractions within a few minutes work. Bad thing is that there is not internet access in the room and you have to pay $1 to have 10 minutes internet access in the lobby, besides, you have to share restroom with others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to time square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan, USA
Jul 24, 2009

Americana Inn

I had forgotten that the restrooms and showers were down the hall. The deal I made wasn;t that good anymore. There weren't a great selection of channels on the tv. I do like that it is right in the heart of midtown though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mbcai
Business
Houston
Jul 6, 2009

good location

good service, good location for traveling

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mbcai
Business
Houston
Jul 6, 2009

good location

good service, good location for traveling

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
Jun 17, 2009

Below Expectations

I booked adjoining rooms, they did not have them, nor did they have double beds, both of these requests were responded with there are no guarantees and if you have any problems, talk to Orbitz, we have nothing to do with your requests. Waited over 20 minutes to get my rooms, one of them did not have AC. Waited antoher 15 minutes to be sent to a floor where the shower in the bathroom was not working, and let me tell you about the bathrooms, they are located down the hallway so five to six rooms can share it. Keep this in mind when booking at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nyc wanderer
Business
charlottesville, va
Jun 15, 2009

good value

We stayed there just for one night. The hotel was quiet and clean. It is very close to Times Square and it is quite safe to hang out at Times Square and walk down to the hotel even if it is very late. However, the rooms are small and do not have any view. The toilets are shared. There are about 12 rooms and 4 toilets per floor. But the toilets are clean. Overall, I found it good value for its location. Since, I did not care much for staying indoors while in NYC, I was fine with the facilities offered by the hotel. It suited me just fine to sleep in for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ithaca
Jun 11, 2009

cheap and good inn

it is a cheap and good inn. and i hope to choose again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 3, 2009

Horrible noise. Earplugs required.

The hotel is clean. Definitely no frills: one small pillow per bed, thin mattress, no AC, no fan, one single light per room, not bedside tables or lamps, etc... The room was extremely loud from the traffic bellow. It was a corner room and the noise was unbearable... the worst I experienced in my travels. You could not open the windows so it was hot and stuffy at first. Eventually it got cool. I am a deep sleeper, I do not require much, but this was ridiculous and actually pretty pricey for what you get, since it a hostel-style residence with shared bathrooms (which were very clean, BTW) Still, a pretty horrible stay, definitely the worst place I have stayed in my trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent guest in NY
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 26, 2009

Best Value hotel in Manhattan

I am doing a distance graduate program in NY causing me to often have to travel to the city. I have now stayed in 6 hotels and youth hostels in the area, and can hands down say, this one is one of the best! Ofcourse if you are expecting the hilton, this is not the place for you, but if you are used to buget accomodations in big cities (where rooms tend to be smaller) this hotel is a great choice. It's clean, and though the rooms are small, there is a sink in the room (something I haven't seen in any other hotel I stayed in this area, but which makes a big difference!). The bathrooms are shared and in the hallway, but they are not multiple occupancy. IE, once your in the bathroom it's private. I have been to some other places where you walk into the bathrooms and there are stalls and shower cabins. Here it's one small bathroom, very close to the room, and I never had to wait. There is also a kitchen in the hallway, and being on a really tight buget, it helped to be able to save some money on food. The staff was friendly, and though the guests were definately on the younger side, The hotel did not have a sometimes annoying youth hostel vibe. I will stay here again in a heartbeat, and wish I had found this place sooner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NY
May 25, 2009

Great Location and super price

This is not a luxury hotel and I was a little skeptical of booking but I took the leap and went with the other travelers experiences. As a middle age traveler I do love luxury but didn't want to spend a lot for this trip. The rooms do not have carpeting and the bathroom is shared with two other rooms. I thought this might be a problem but never had to wait to use it. They were very very clean. The room was also very clean. I was pleased with my experience and would definitely stay there again. It is right off Times Square so seeing all the sights was a breeze. Subway stops within walking distance. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. I would suggest bringing something in the bathroom with you to hold your clean clothes while showering as there are no stands in the bathrooms, only a double hook. Another side point..you don't have to worry about random people wandering into the hotel as the door is locked and you have to ring the buzzer to be let in. Made me feel much more secure. There is also an internet computer in the lobby for a very small fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top