$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 21, 2014 Check-out: Nov 22, 2014

Americana Inn

2 stars
69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
120 reviews
As good as i had hoped for.. Awesome deal.

As good as i had hoped for. Big room, three beds when we were only 2 people.. The shared bathrooms... See full review

  • Wahbi90
  • Mar 19, 2014
Value for money

Great position-close to Times Square, central rail & subway. Shopping & restaurants close. Clean,... See full review

  • AussieinNY
  • Sep 28, 2014
The Americana Inn is located within walking distance to the top exciting sights and sounds of the big apple. The Americana Inn is perfect for the budget minded traveler seeking comfortable accommodations, excellent location and good value. The property does have the needed amenities to make each guests stay both convenient and relaxing. Each floor has a community kitchen for those who wish to remain inside for a day.

Hotel Map

40.7521 -73.9854
Area served
New york city
Nearby airports
Laguradia Airport, John F Kennedy International Airport,Newark International Airport.
Area description
Situated in the Midtown area of Manhattan, 4 blocks from the Empire State Building, 6 blocks to New York's Broadway Theaters.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Americana Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Americana Inn Rooms

Twin Twin
Bedding option-2 twin beds. Room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones,shared bathroom.
Double
Bedding option- 1 Double Bed. This room includes dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phones, shared bathroom.
Standard Twin
Bedding option- One Twin. This Room offers Dial-up Internet access, direct-dial phone,shared bathroom.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
Phone service
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Porters
Room
Telephone
TV remote control
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.1 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.1 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.2 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.3 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Theater District: 0.3 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.4 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 3, 2009

Horrible noise. Earplugs required.

The hotel is clean. Definitely no frills: one small pillow per bed, thin mattress, no AC, no fan, one single light per room, not bedside tables or lamps, etc... The room was extremely loud from the traffic bellow. It was a corner room and the noise was unbearable... the worst I experienced in my travels. You could not open the windows so it was hot and stuffy at first. Eventually it got cool. I am a deep sleeper, I do not require much, but this was ridiculous and actually pretty pricey for what you get, since it a hostel-style residence with shared bathrooms (which were very clean, BTW) Still, a pretty horrible stay, definitely the worst place I have stayed in my trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent guest in NY
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 26, 2009

Best Value hotel in Manhattan

I am doing a distance graduate program in NY causing me to often have to travel to the city. I have now stayed in 6 hotels and youth hostels in the area, and can hands down say, this one is one of the best! Ofcourse if you are expecting the hilton, this is not the place for you, but if you are used to buget accomodations in big cities (where rooms tend to be smaller) this hotel is a great choice. It's clean, and though the rooms are small, there is a sink in the room (something I haven't seen in any other hotel I stayed in this area, but which makes a big difference!). The bathrooms are shared and in the hallway, but they are not multiple occupancy. IE, once your in the bathroom it's private. I have been to some other places where you walk into the bathrooms and there are stalls and shower cabins. Here it's one small bathroom, very close to the room, and I never had to wait. There is also a kitchen in the hallway, and being on a really tight buget, it helped to be able to save some money on food. The staff was friendly, and though the guests were definately on the younger side, The hotel did not have a sometimes annoying youth hostel vibe. I will stay here again in a heartbeat, and wish I had found this place sooner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NY
May 25, 2009

Great Location and super price

This is not a luxury hotel and I was a little skeptical of booking but I took the leap and went with the other travelers experiences. As a middle age traveler I do love luxury but didn't want to spend a lot for this trip. The rooms do not have carpeting and the bathroom is shared with two other rooms. I thought this might be a problem but never had to wait to use it. They were very very clean. The room was also very clean. I was pleased with my experience and would definitely stay there again. It is right off Times Square so seeing all the sights was a breeze. Subway stops within walking distance. I found the staff very friendly and helpful. I would suggest bringing something in the bathroom with you to hold your clean clothes while showering as there are no stands in the bathrooms, only a double hook. Another side point..you don't have to worry about random people wandering into the hotel as the door is locked and you have to ring the buzzer to be let in. Made me feel much more secure. There is also an internet computer in the lobby for a very small fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CBANY
Business
St Louis, MO
May 25, 2009

Expect what you pay

It´s ok. Great location. May get a little bit too noisy late at night. Good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 1, 2009

excellent location

The room was small but a single and it was perfect. It contained a small dresser, chair, closet, suitcase stand, flat screen TV attached to the wall and .... AND a sink. I think I liked this the best. Clean. The full bathroom (one of three on the floor) was clean as well. I was there only one night so I forgot about the small kitchen. Room enough to do what you have to do: Mucrowave, 2 burners, small fridge, 2 small cabinets and a sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

5-6 blocks from Penn Station, Times Square and the public library

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 13, 2008

My review of Americana Inn

The hotel provided a place to sleep while we toured NYC. We were surprised to share the bathroom but having camped a bit, it was not a new experience. We wanted to be within walking distance of the theater district. Could have used a clock and a reading lamp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio
Oct 11, 2008

My review of Americana Inn

Form the Laguardia airport, I took a shuttle to Americana Inn. It was very convenient. Americana Inn is about 10' or 15' away from Times Square. The location is perfect. From the hotel I went to the location for the tour New York in one day easily. This tour is very useful and the tourist guide is very friendly and so kind. In Americana in, I had to share bathroom with two other rooms, but it was available whenever I needed. The room was quite clean. There was no free wireless, but I could use the Internet service to print flight ticket for the next day. The only disadvantage was the noise. I tried my best to sleep but I just slept about 4 hours. However, I accept this because New York is the city that never sleeps. If you don't have much money like me, America Inn is a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Springs
Sep 26, 2008

No Bathroom in the Room

The room was tiny and the bathroom was communal. I won't be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 1, 2008

Great location

room clean,bathrooms clean, and great location near Times Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near shopping, bars, Bryant Park, Empire State Building, Times Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Everett
Aug 21, 2008

ok for night or two

The desk clerk at check in was just unpleasant and room air conditioner was loud. The room was clean. . It wasn?t bad for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Time square and the empire state building only a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top