$150 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Americana Inn

2 stars
View map of 69 West 38th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Americana Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Nov 14, 2009

Excellent Location, Great Price

Great location, great price. Walking distance to everything, including a GREAT coffee place across the street. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful (tho I didn't need much help). the shared bathrooms are a little inconvenient, but at the price I paid, who cares? I will DEFINATELY recommend the Americanna to anyone who asks and will stay there on my next trip to Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50+ traveler
Business
Cupertino, CA
Oct 12, 2009

Shared Bathrooms

This hotel is ideal for budget travel. I didn't know there were shared bathrooms until two days before I got there with my wife. We talked to the front desk and they were extremely gracious and helpful about us not wanting to stay there, so we got refunded for two of the three nights (we slept there the first night). The noise within the inn is quiet, but because the building is old and has only one glass (instead of the modern two glass) windows, the outside noise did come inside. Other than those things, I thought this inn was great. If my children want to just take a short trip to NY, I would have them stay here because I know they wouldn't care about the shared bathrooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shared bathrooms, awesome location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 28, 2009

Great location!!

I will be staying at this hotel again!! Great place to stay! Very affordable, perfect location, clean rooms and bathrooms...multiple on each floor, friendly staff, and I felt very safe at this hotel. You have to be buzzed into the building so that was a plus for me!! It is between 2 subways and the coffee place across the street is a nice way to start the day. Also, if you need to look up something on the internet, like directions, they have a computer in the lobby with a printer ($1 for 10 mins) I didn't spend alot of time in the room (I mean, you ARE in NYC!) The front desk held my luggage for 6 hours so I could go out and not have to lug my bags around with me before my flight left!! The ONLY thing I would say is ask for or bring an extra pillow (if you're like me and like more than 1 pillow) Also, I feel the need to mention b/c some people are light sleepers: the air conditioning unit is sort of loud but it drowns out the noise from the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nairobi, Kenya
Sep 27, 2009

Great Location

Great location for the garment district shopper but not very friendly for someone with lots of luggage. Shared bath was a bit nasty at time with water on the floor and hair in the tub/shower, but they tried to keep it clean. Not bad for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jonfrompr
Business
Upper Saddle River NJ
Sep 21, 2009

Comfortable and quiet

I was in New York for a one-night stay and on a budget. For me the Americana was the perfect choice. Very professional staff (I was upgraded from a twin to a double with no charge). The room was tiny but spotless, and gave onto an interior shaft: quiet as a tomb. Guests were young people and one young family. For the price, the Americana can't be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
s-g
Business
vancouver, canada
Sep 15, 2009

Terrible

this place was terrible. smelly. the air conditioner was like a small plane taking off directly next to our bed, but if it was not on the room was so small that there was no air circulation and the street noise was super loud. There are residents in this building we were not bothered by them but it would have been good to know about them prior to the stay. The front desk man who seemed to be perpetually working was so unhelpful, unfriendly, and just down right rude. I really have nothing good to say about this place. Only stay here if you absolutely have no other options at all. This place sucks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chap126
Business
St. Paul, Minnesota
Aug 26, 2009

Great Location, Great price

There is a shared bathroom for about every five single rooms. It was clean and I never had to wait to use it. Exceptional location, extremely budget friendly. Rooms are pretty tiny, but comfortable and clean. AC and a flat screen TV in every room. If you're planning a stay to NY on a budget, and plan not to spend too much time in the hotel room, this place is a definite win.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's an excellent coffee shop across the street when you wake up. Don't get suckered into the convenience of Starbucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinatti, OH
Aug 25, 2009

Clean, Cozy Room

Close to shopping area, Korean and China town. I really like the location for the price, but the room was facing the busy street and was too noisy. I had to sleep with Noise cancelling earphone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bryant Park is only 2 blocks away where you can sit and relax in the green.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wing_forward_forever
Business
DC
Aug 23, 2009

good

The location is perfect. It is on the corner of 6th Ave and 38th str. You can walk down and find a lot of places of interests there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Krean food, Italian food, American food are near the krean town. There is still Deli's Buffet which will only cost you $6.00 (quite cheap in NY).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Americana Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
brescia, italy
Aug 22, 2009

good, but nothing special

I usually went to the hotel to sleep. the room was really small, but confortable. The air conditioned was warking but really too noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top