$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Aloft Harlem

3 stars
2296 Frederick Douglass Boulevard, New York, NY 10027
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
23 reviews
Great stay, right in the heart of Harlem

Had a great little weekend get away in my own city, in a chic convient hotel tht was great for... See full review

  • Myoddfuture
  • Mar 18, 2014
great

front desk staff were very nice and helpful, the room was clean and pleasent. we will stay there... See full review

  • disco bob
  • Nov 18, 2013
Aloft hotels are the new twist in travel from Starwood Hotels & Resorts. Aloft Harlem is a bold, fresh, and fun new hotel featuring loft-inspired design and always-abuzz public spaces. Perfectly positioned for an easy breezy travel experience in NYCs most happening historic neighborhood! Experience the new Harlem Renaissance at this lively locale in uptown Manhattan. Inspiration is all around, thanks to a creative local culture and Columbia Universitys intellectual energy. Catch a show at the legendary Apollo Theater. Sample some soul food. Or pop into the 125th Street subway station just steps away to zip downtown in mere minutes. Rise and shine in our bright and modern aloft rooms, featuring plush platform beds, oversized showers, custom amenities by Bliss® Spa and more. Recharge all your gadgets with the plug & play docking station, which also links your laptop or tunes to the 42 LCD TV. Meet and mingle at our w xyz(SM) bar, grab a snack at the 24/7 re:fuel by aloft(SM) gourmet pantry, or work and play at our re:mix(SM) lobby lounge. Plenty of perks include free hotel-wide Wi-Fi, our always-open re:charge(SM) gym, stylish splash pool, and more!

Hotel Map

40.8092 -73.9518
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 5.00, MI; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 14.00, MI;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aloft Harlem also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Aloft Harlem Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Apollo Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Theresa Towers: 0.2 mi
  • Harlem: 0.4 mi
  • Morningside Park: 0.4 mi
  • Jewish Theological Seminary: 0.5 mi
  • Malcolm Shabazz Mosque: 0.5 mi
  • Low Memorial Library: 0.5 mi
  • Marcus Garvey Memorial Park: 0.5 mi
  • Columbia University: 0.5 mi
  • New York Amsterdam News Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Black Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • St. Nicholas Park: 0.6 mi
  • Philosophy Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Langston Hughes House: 0.6 mi
  • Sakura Park: 0.6 mi
  • Apollo Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Theresa Towers: 0.2 mi
  • Harlem: 0.4 mi
  • Morningside Park: 0.4 mi
  • Jewish Theological Seminary: 0.5 mi
  • Malcolm Shabazz Mosque: 0.5 mi
  • Low Memorial Library: 0.5 mi
  • Marcus Garvey Memorial Park: 0.5 mi
  • Columbia University: 0.5 mi
  • New York Amsterdam News Building: 0.5 mi
  • National Black Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • St. Nicholas Park: 0.6 mi
  • Philosophy Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Langston Hughes House: 0.6 mi
  • Sakura Park: 0.6 mi
  • Barnard College: 0.6 mi
  • Riverside Church: 0.6 mi
  • James Weldon Johnson Residence: 0.6 mi
  • General Grant National Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Schomburg Center: 0.7 mi
  • Union Theological Seminary: 0.7 mi
  • Conservatory Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Hamilton Grange National Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Straus Park: 1 mi
  • Nicholaas Roerich Museum: 1 mi
  • Riverside Park: 1 mi
  • El Museo Del Barrio: 1.1 mi
  • Riverbank State Park: 1.1 mi
  • Museum of the City of New York: 1.2 mi
  • Matthew Henson Residence: 1.3 mi
  • American Numismatic Society: 1.4 mi
  • The Hispanic Society of America: 1.7 mi
  • Andrew Carnegie Mansion: 1.7 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.7 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 1.8 mi
  • Randall's Island-Wards Island: 1.8 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 1.8 mi
  • National Academy: 1.8 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Central Park: 2 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 2.1 mi
  • Beresford: 2.1 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Asphalt Green: 2.2 mi
  • The Obelisk: 2.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Aloft Harlem

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aloft Harlem

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Myoddfuture
New York, New York
Mar 18, 2014

Great stay, right in the heart of Harlem

Had a great little weekend get away in my own city, in a chic convient hotel tht was great for catching a near by train and also for working out. Great lounge with great music as well, definitely booking another stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aloft Harlem

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimmy Loves soul food
Australia
Dec 18, 2013

Great deal

For the price we paid this was an excellent holiday place, very close to the station with lots of soul food around. The hotel is modern and funky and we couldn't hear any noise from the bar despite lots of people drinking downstairs. They have a great snackbar station selection and their green choice option is a brilliant idea to give you a $5 voucher in return for no housekeeping. Although they stuffed up a couple of times and forgot to give us a voucher or do our housekeeping or forgot to send up a voucher, they were very good with rectifying it when we advised them. The service is not bad, didn't find them the most welcoming of hotels in terms of greeting but they tried to help us when something would go wrong. Everything feels funky and new with an awesome room layout. Definitely would recommend it to people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amy Ruth's and Mamas fried chicken

Review of Aloft Harlem

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
disco bob
boston ma.
Nov 18, 2013

great

front desk staff were very nice and helpful, the room was clean and pleasent. we will stay there again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Aloft Harlem

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach Bum Guy
Business
Seattle
Jul 4, 2013

Harlem Aloft Experience

Very interesting. Cab put me out at street curb. Had to lug luggage Down Steep Steps. Ask guy at desk where to eat, he said just walk around lol. Regular New York aloofNess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Aloft Harlem

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RDGD
Columbia, MO
Jun 16, 2013

Quick visit to NY

Stayed 2 nights at Aloft. Staff friendly. Rooms small but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Aloft Harlem

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DGriff
Maryland
Jun 10, 2013

Convenient Harlem hotel

Our one night stay was comfortable. There is no parking other than valet at the hotel, and that is more than $50, so it was pretty pricey. It was convenient for us to visit our daughter in the area. The rooms were clean and attractive. It was pretty surprising to have to go to the lobby for ice, and there is a fee for almost everything. The hotel staff was very courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aloft Harlem

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thatchick8
wisconsin
May 15, 2013

good value

Pretty good for the money. I'd stay again. 8th ave is better than 125th

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aloft Harlem

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thatchick8
wisconsin
Apr 22, 2013

good price for manhattan

Ok little hotel in harlem. Its sorta smallish and the food downstairs is over priced but actual room rate was good. Not my first choice but I'd stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Fort Tryon park. 10 min north on a train

Review of Aloft Harlem

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
greg an mike bros
florida
Apr 1, 2013

great staff

very helpful staff went out of their way to help and inform us i am a young student and they were great to me and my friend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Aloft Harlem

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eber3511
DC
Feb 24, 2013

Ideal for Visiting Kids at Columbia University

I went to see my 2 daughters at Columbia this weekend--Harlem aloft is a perfect place to do that. It is the nearest walkiing distance hotel to the campus, at least nearest I am aware of. Very nice staff, fine rooms, good gym downstairs aand a fine bar as well. For those oldsters like me who do not know--Harlem has been transformed over the past generation, it is not only safe for tourists but offers lots of wonderful attractions: I took my girls and their friends out to dinner at a wonderful French bistro (Chez Lucienne)on Lenox and 125, for example.. Boottom line--I will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top