$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Affinia Shelburne

4 stars
303 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
101 reviews
A wonderful small boutique hotel

The staff is its greatest asset.... Engaging, friendly, accommodating and informative. Rooms are... See full review

  • Dan4001
  • Sep 15, 2014
25th Anniversary trip to New York

We recommend booking a shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel which wasn't to costly and made... See full review

  • MicknJan
  • Jun 21, 2014
Tucked into the laid back Murray Hill - Shelburne NYC exudes warm-tones and a homey common area. With 325 guest rooms on-site dining at Rare Bar and Grill a seasonal rooftop lounge with panoramic views and a bike program this boutique hotel is the perfect escape on the east side. Shelburne NYC is just a few blocks from Grand Central Station and The Chrysler Building for added convenience. Shelburne NYCs 1250 square feet of versatile and technologically advanced multi-use event space is ideal for business meetings in Manhattan - accommodating groups up to 90 guests. Perfect for corporate events - social gatherings - executive and boardroom meetings. Theres also plenty of room to mix and mingle at its seasonal rooftop bar - Rare View.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Affinia Shelburne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Affinia Shelburne Rooms

One Bedroom Suite - 1 Bed
1 bedroom suite, 1 bed, 2 LCD TVs, living room, spa-like bathroom
One Bedroom Deluxe Suite - 2 Bed
1 bedroom suite, 2 beds 500sqft 2 LCD TV,living room,modern granite pantry,spa bath
Guest Room - 1 Queen Bed
Guestroom 1 bed 325sqft eclectic decor LCD TV-Comfort Zone bath products
2 Bedroom Suite
2 bedroom suite-3 LCD TVs-living room-2 spa like baths-modern granite pantry
Guest Room - 1 Bed -Accessible
Guest room with1 bed offers-accessible bathroom with roll-in shower-luxury bed
Guest Room - 2 Queen Beds
Guestroom 2 beds 325sqft-eclectic decor -LCD TV-Comfort Zone bath products
Guest Room-2 Beds-Accessible
Guest room with 2 beds offers-accessible bathroom with bathtub and hand rails-luxury bed.
Studio Deluxe Suite - 1 Queen Be
Studio Suite 410sqft-eclectic decor-LCD TV granite pantry-Comfort Zone bath products
Studio Deluxe Suite - 2 Queen Be
Studio 2 beds 325sqft eclectic decor LCD TV ,modern granite pantry spa like bath
One Bedroom Deluxe Suite - 1 Que
1bedroom suite-1bed-2 LCD TV- living room-modern granite pantry-spa like bath

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • International Building: 0.7 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.7 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.8 mi

Dining

Rare Bar and Grill
One of the best burgers in town - the Rare Bar and Grill has earned rave reviews with its unique spin on this all-American favorite.
Room Service
7am-11pm Monday - Friday and 8am - 11pm Weekend from Rare Bar and Grill

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (101)

Ratings and reviews for Affinia Shelburne

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 101
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8
Sort by:
Review of Affinia Shelburne

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Sep 26, 2010

Yes and No

I love the location. Murray Hill is centrally located to my favorite parts of Manhattan. The room was large (I booked a 1BR Suite), but the decor was tired. Nothing was dirty or out of sorts, it's just that for the money I spent and the trendy vibe the hotel portrays, I wanted something more than poorly made furniture with the paint peeling off. Oh, and $13/day for wifi. That's just wrong. I don't see any need to return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pierpoint Morgan Library Museum is right around the corner. The Mark Twain and Roy Lichtenstein exhibits are outstanding. Not sure how long they'll be there, but still a nice little find.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Shelburne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wu wu
Business
NN,VA
Jul 22, 2012

Satisfied Customer

I was pleasantly surprised, satisfied and consider returning again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Shelburne

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Goldilocks Loves Walks
Business
Central Coast, California
Jun 7, 2012

Comfortable Convenient Boutique Hotel in East Midtown NYC

The lobby was small but cheerful with the comings-and-goings of youngish European and Asian tourists. The lobby staff were courteous. The elevators were a bit slow. My room was quiet; as a woman traveling alone I felt safe. The room was comfortable, with nice linens; the toiletries and bathroom were more upscale than is typical of the chain accommodations where I usually stay when traveling around in suburbs. My room had a rear window over a rooftop and behind a wall --- absolutely no view, though better than an air shaft. With Grand Central Station just five blocks away, this location is convenient to transportation and NYC sights. I would definitely stay there again and that is certainly a recommendation because I had to spend the weekend in New York on a sad errand. No doubt if I had been at the Affinia on a pleasure trip my memories would be even warmer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you enjoy literary history or smaller museums, stroll over to the Morgan Library & Museum, 225 Madison Avenue at 36th Street. Also, don't forget that Grand Central Station is not just one of New York's great buildings and its transportation hub but an excellent place to shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Shelburne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 26, 2011

Affinia Shelburne Hotel

This hotel is one of the best NYC hotels I have stayed at. I travel to NYC twice a year and I have never stayed in a more beautiful big spacious, clean room as I did in the Affinia. The bed is a king, very comfortable with central air that cooled off the room nicely for the summer. There was also another room within my room (suite type) and a small kitchenette with sink, fridge, microwave. The bathroom was new, clean and beautiful. The room I had faced East so there was no annoying noise when I slept at night (which is very rare for NYC.) The staff was great. I have no complaints at all. Since I have not stayed in the Murray Hill area before, I was pleasantly surprised and will certainly stay there again. It is surrounded by everything one needs within walking distance, and it is close to Grand Central Station. Also, good restaurant "Rare" in the hotel, and a wonderful rooftop bar to hang out at with a great view of the Empire State and Chrysler Blds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good restaurant "Rare" in the hotel. And a wonderful rooftop bar to hang out at with a great view of the Empire State and Chrysler Blds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top