$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Affinia Shelburne

4 stars
303 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
101 reviews
A wonderful small boutique hotel

The staff is its greatest asset.... Engaging, friendly, accommodating and informative. Rooms are... See full review

  • Dan4001
  • Sep 15, 2014
25th Anniversary trip to New York

We recommend booking a shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel which wasn't to costly and made... See full review

  • MicknJan
  • Jun 21, 2014
A slice of history in a modern metropolis
The Affinia Shelburne is located in Murray Hill, one of the most interesting neighborhoods in Manhattan. The district is home to 19th century brownstones and has a touch of European style. The hotel embodies that atmosphere, from Rare View Rooftop Lounge to the bright, bold styling within. Catch stunning views of the Manhattan skyline from the Affinia Shelburne, which serves as a convenient home base for tourists and business travelers alike. Enjoy the modern conveniences and amenities combined with distinctly historic surroundings. Staying at the Affinia Shelburne affords guests access to a complimentary wine hour. This Upper East Side retreat is close to some of Manhattan’s most popular attractions, such as Central Park, just steps away.
3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Traditional European style gives the modern facility a charming, historic feel
  • Convenient for Midtown Manhattan and other popular destinations within the city
  • Spacious accommodations with full kitchens and large vanities with Hollywood lighting
Affinia Shelburne Rooms
The Affinia Shelburne offers comfortable, luxurious guest rooms. Following a complete renovation, guests find an exciting new range of decadent suites containing LCD televisions and bold, contemporary decor. The Affinia Shelburne pampers guests with Comfort Zone bath products and granite pantries. Suites are available for those seeking even more luxury. Some suites contain multiple televisions and beds, as well as living spaces and updated bathrooms. Visit the Rare Bar & Grill, an on-site restaurant that also provides room service for the hotel, before heading to the top of the building, where there is a Rare View Rooftop Lounge, making for truly relaxing views.
Things To Do:
  • Grand Central Station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Bryant Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Empire State Building (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • New York Pennsylvania Station (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Radio City Music Hall (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Wall Street (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Policies and fees
Wireless Internet access fee is $14.95 USD plus tax per day per device (up to two devices).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7484 -73.9779
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 8.00, MI, W; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 17.00, MI, NW; Newark International Airport, (EWR), 16.44, MI, NE; Westchester County Airport, (HPN), 33.80, MI, S; Teterboro Airport, (TEB), 13.69, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Affinia Shelburne also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Affinia Shelburne Rooms

One Bedroom Suite - 1 Bed
1 bedroom suite, 1 bed, 2 LCD TVs, living room, spa-like bathroom
One Bedroom Deluxe Suite - 2 Bed
1 bedroom suite, 2 beds 500sqft 2 LCD TV,living room,modern granite pantry,spa bath
Guest Room - 1 Queen Bed
Guestroom 1 bed 325sqft eclectic decor LCD TV-Comfort Zone bath products
2 Bedroom Suite
2 bedroom suite-3 LCD TVs-living room-2 spa like baths-modern granite pantry
Guest Room - 1 Bed -Accessible
Guest room with1 bed offers-accessible bathroom with roll-in shower-luxury bed
Guest Room - 2 Queen Beds
Guestroom 2 beds 325sqft-eclectic decor -LCD TV-Comfort Zone bath products
Guest Room-2 Beds-Accessible
Guest room with 2 beds offers-accessible bathroom with bathtub and hand rails-luxury bed.
Studio Deluxe Suite - 1 Queen Be
Studio Suite 410sqft-eclectic decor-LCD TV granite pantry-Comfort Zone bath products
Studio Deluxe Suite - 2 Queen Be
Studio 2 beds 325sqft eclectic decor LCD TV ,modern granite pantry spa like bath
One Bedroom Deluxe Suite - 1 Que
1bedroom suite-1bed-2 LCD TV- living room-modern granite pantry-spa like bath

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Century Building: 0.4 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.4 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • East Side: 0.6 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • International Building: 0.7 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.7 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • GE Building: 0.7 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.8 mi

Dining

Rare Bar and Grill
One of the best burgers in town - the Rare Bar and Grill has earned rave reviews with its unique spin on this all-American favorite.
Room Service
7am-11pm Monday - Friday and 8am - 11pm Weekend from Rare Bar and Grill

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (101)

Ratings and reviews for Affinia Shelburne

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Affinia Shelburne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steve1121
Business
Princeton, MA
Jan 29, 2014

Brief trip to NYC

Wonderful experience. We have stayed there before and they make you feel welcome in a great hotel in a convenient location. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. We will stay thereas often as possible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Shelburne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NG24
Business
San Juan
Feb 19, 2014

Good Location

Was very good..Nice Staff, ..Near location! Price was rigth and fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Shelburne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joey Valentino
Business
Hollywood,California
Mar 10, 2014

Fantastic place to stay ,like being at home.

I had the pleasure of staying at the Affinia Shelburne for the duration of my stay in New York City. I was in between moving from my old place to my new residence when I was told I had to wait7-8 days before I could move in. I decided to stay at the Shelburne for those 8 days.everyone working at the hotel were very nice,curtious and extremely helpful in making me feel like I was at home. I'm sort of a night owl, called for maid service at night or late in the night,and very quietly they came attended the room and left. The front desk are some of the nicest professional staff I dealt with in a long time, fast and eager, to accommodate you. The bell hops and door man were very helpful with luggage,doors,and most of all directions. The food is amazing in the restaurant next to the lobby. Those 8 days I felt so comfortable I extended my stay for a total of 21 days. I went got my deposit back from the new place I was going to rent for the month. The Shelburne is a great place to expiriance. Jgvalentino

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

5th and park avenue are minutes away walking. Grand central station has so many stores and boutiques, kind of feels like a hidden gem when I discovered it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Shelburne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SJB1402
Business
Portsmouth, UK
Oct 16, 2011

A great place to stay

The hotel staff were very friendly & helpful. The hotel room was spacious & the bed was extremely comfortable. The power shower was great. The hotel was near plenty of cafes, bars, restaurants & only 20 mins away from Times Square. Grand Central station was only 5-10 minutes away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Black Sheep on 3rd Avenue/38th Street was a great place to get a good pint & lovely food. The bar staff were very friendly & helpful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Shelburne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ann 71
Business
Belfast, UK
Oct 25, 2011

loved it!

This was the second time in a yr I stayed in this hotel and that in itself says everything. The most comfortable beds, clean big rooms, upgrades when they can. Staff can't be anymore accommodating, helpful and friendly. Great food in the hotel restaurant "RARE" Easy walking distance from grand central station, time square, ,macy's. Murray hill, nice safe quiet area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Shelburne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HungryBunny
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Oct 30, 2011

Wonderful Hotel

I got a special deal for this hotel. I think the rooms usually go for 300 or more a night but I got it for a bit over 220. The room wasn't huge but was a nice comfortable size. The bed was super comfortable and the staff was cordial and prompt. I recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Shelburne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M.Ann
Business
New Haven, CT
Mar 12, 2012

Empire State Building View/East River Views

Awesome view from our dining table of the ESB!!! Also Chrysler Building down the street. Room was very comfy with a minibar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Rare Bar and Grill wonderful for both dinner and breakfast. Fresh squeezed OJ and GJ. Lovely!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Shelburne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Claudio SF
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 21, 2012

Excellent Option

Staff was as friendly and helpful as they could be. Location is great, near everything in Midtown, but still in a quieter area. Room was conformable and spacious, which is unusual to hotels in NYC. Already recommended to my co-workers and it will be my first choice every time I get back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Shelburne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bogie's Boy
Business
Chicago
May 1, 2012

Great Midtown (Murray Hill) Value

Fast, friendly early check-in. Comfortable room and bed. At $179 this was a tremendous value. Terrific roof top terrace with bar and great views of Empire State and Chrysler buildings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Shelburne

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the crusher
Business
Kingston, NY
Jun 10, 2012

Sweet hotel

Wife and I spent two days, fitness center was lacking without a sauna, but everything else about the hotel was great. The staff was super friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable and they had free bikes for up to 4 hrs!!! It was in a great neighborhood, easy to get to both the east and west sides. I would definately reccomend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top