$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Affinia Manhattan

4 stars
371 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
388 reviews
Overnight stay

Great stay. Only thing they could improve on is to offer less expensive internet access See full review

  • Karenmomski
  • Aug 10, 2014
Great Location, Service and Comfort

Need I say more, but I still have 16 characters left. Oh Well no more characters left See full review

  • Lousans
  • Feb 24, 2014

The Affinia Manhattan Hotel was inspired by the aesthetics of an art studio, making its layout crisp, clean, sleek and modern. Studios and suites are equipped with kitchenettes for guests who really want to make themselves at home, while the on-site Niles New York City Restaurant is available for those enjoy great food and service.  Guests craving a good pampering can request in-room spa treatments. Like all of the Affinia chain hotels, the Affinia Manhattan offers the My Affinia program, which allows guests to personalize their visits with extras; so whether you’d like freshly-baked cupcakes waiting for you upon arrival, or special equipment like yoga mats or golf putters, the hotel has you covered.

Key facts
  • 618 guestrooms
  • Fitness center
  • In-room childcare
  • Room service
  • Niles New York City Restaurant and Bar
  • Valet parking
  • Meeting/conference room
  • Concierge services
  • Pets allowed (fees and hotel policies my apply)
Neighborhood
Close to Penn Station and within easy walking distance of top-notch attractions like Times Square, the Empire State Building and Macy's, the Affinia Manhattan is right on Seventh Avenue. Adjacent to Madison Square Garden and close to the exceptional shopping opportunities of Fifth Avenue, visitors can also immerse themselves in New York?s vibrant arts scene by checking out the numerous art galleries of Chelsea.
Hints and tips
Peruse the incredible Dream Pillow Menu to find the perfect place to rest your head, and don't forget to check in with the evening wine hour at the Affinia Manhattan Hotel (starting at 5:00pm) to mingle with other guests.Request a terrace room or suite to experience unforgettable views of the Manhattan skyline, including the Freedom Tower.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7487 -73.9917
Nearby airports
Metropolitan Area, (NYC), 0.00, MI, SW; Mercer County Airport, (TTN), 62.00, MI, NE; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 17.82, MI, NW; Westchester County Airport, (HPN), 34.93, MI, S; Teterboro Airport, (TEB), 13.00, MI, SE
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Affinia Manhattan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Affinia Manhattan Rooms

Studio Suite - Accessible
Accessible Studio Suite-2 Dbls-City View-WiFi- Full Kitchen-LCDTV-Evening Wine Hour-410 SqFt
Studio Suite - 2 Double Beds
Studio Suite-2 Double Beds-Limited View-WiFi- Full Kitchen-LCDTV-Wine Hour-410 SqFt-Max Occ 4
One Bedroom Suite - King/Queen
One Bedroom Suite-King or Queen-Full Kitchen- Sofa Bed-Limited View-WiFi-LCD TV-510-610 SqFt
One Bedroom Suite - 2 Queens
One Bedroom Suite-2 Queen Beds-Full Kitchen- Sofa Bed-Limited View-WiFi-LCD TV-510-610 SqFt
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite King
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite-1 King-Full Kitchen- 2 Bath-Sofa Bed-Limited View-WiFi-570-670 SqFt
Dlx One Bedroom Suite 2 Beds
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite-2 Beds-Full Kitchen- 2 Bath-Sofa Bed-Limited View-WiFi-570-670 SqFt
Two Bedroom Suite - 2 Kings
Two Bedroom Suite-2 King Beds-Full Kitchen- Sofa Bed-Limited View-WiFi-LCD TVs-700-950 SqFt
Deluxe Guest Room - 1 Queen
Deluxe Guest Room-One Queen Bed-410 SqFt- City View-WiFi-LCDTV-Eve Wine Hour-Max Occ 3
One Bedroom Terrace Suite
One Bedroom Suite-1 King-Terrace-Full Kitchen- City View-Sofa Bed-WiFi-LCD HDTV-510-610 SqFt
Deluxe Terrace Guest Room
Deluxe Guest Room-King or Queen Bed-410 SqFt- Terrace-City View-WiFi-Eve Wine Hour-Max Occ 3
Guest Room - 1 Queen Bed
Guest Room-One Queen-Limited View-LCD HDTV- WiFi-Desk-Evening Wine Hour-260 SqFt-Max Occ 2
Dlx One Bedroom Terrace Suite
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite-1 King-2 Bath-Terrace- City View-Kitchen-Sofa Bed-WiFi-570-670 SqFt
Guest Room - 2 Double Beds
Guest Room-2 Double Beds-Limited View-LCD HDTV- WiFi-Desk-Evening Wine Hour-260 SqFt-Max Occ 4
Deluxe One Bedroom Accessible
Accessible Deluxe One Bedroom Suite-2 Queens- Full Kitchen-2 Bath-Sofa Bed-WiFi-570-670 SqFt
Studio Suite - King or Queen
Studio Suite-King or Queen-Limited View-WiFi- Full Kitchen-LCDTV-Wine Hour-410 SqFt-Max Occ 3

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • High Line: 0.7 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Niles Bar and Restaurant
Niles Bar and Restaurant offers a sleek setting for a wide variety of contemporary continental cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (388)

Ratings and reviews for Affinia Manhattan

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 388
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Easy Going 2
NYC
Dec 5, 2012

Cold and as noisy as a Barn!!

Rooms are cold with old antiquated heaters. We were told that the hotel shuts off the heat in the hotel if the outside temperature exceeds 55 degrees (a new york law??) Because it was 54 or so when I complained (for the 3rd time) they would turn it on. That was 1 hour ago, and it's till cold in this room and the heaters are not working!. I'll bet it's great here in the Summer!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kyvan
Boston,ma
Jun 17, 2013

Not good

No noise insulation, smelly (septic tank), old and moldy linen, lumpy mattress, cramped, old ac unit in the room Don't do it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelersatheart
Dallas, TX
Oct 9, 2010

Affinia Manhattan

We had a terrible experience at the Affinia Manhattan. We travel frequently and had gone to New York the last weekend in September for a wedding. When we arrived, check-in took 20 minutes as the clerk attempted to find our misplaced reservation. We were disappointed when we got to our room and found out it was literally a closet with the toilet next to the head of our bed. It was also unclean and had notes for someone else who had apparently been checked into the same room for the same night. We immediately contacted the front desk to let them know. They informed us we would have to pay for an upgrade to be moved. We agreed since we had originally had booked a relatively inexpensive room. Our new room was very large, but much worse than the last room in terms of cleanliness. The furniture was filthy and torn. The carpet was pulled up in sections, and there were mold and mildew stains on the walls as well as on the floor in the kitchen area. There were also window air conditioning units making it impossible to block any of the noise from the busy street below, and we could hear every word of our neighbors' conversations through the thin walls. I have stayed in downtown London, Paris, L.A., etc. and have never been in a hotel with such poor sound insulation. After one sleepless night there, we made a total of 6 phone calls to management as well as [...] (it took around three hours.) The best anyone could do for us was offer to transfer us to another Affina location that was more expensive and further east. This was highly unsatisfactory to us, since we were in a wedding located across the street, and we would have to pay close to a hundred dollars more per night at the new hotel. We went ahead and packed our bags and agreed to pay the difference to move to the Affina at 37th and Lexington. It was much more pleasant with a helpful staff and wonderful clean, spacious rooms. The whole experience though put a huge damper on our New York vacation, took up almost a day of our trip trying to work out, and drove up our budget drastically because of the increased expense, not to mention the cost of cab fare to switch hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aruba603
Tampa Florida
Oct 12, 2012

Sleeping In Traffic

I am a Native New Yorker however now live out of state. I travel to NYC at least three times a year to enjoy the city. I have never stayed at this hotel before and would not return or suggest it. Upon check in the staff was accomodating since I arrived early. However once I got into my room it had two double beds instead of the Queen bed that was on my confirmation. The front desk moved me to another room with a Queen bed and blamed the mis-hap on third party booking. The room was nothing special at all, and despite being on the 12th floor the noise from the street was extremely loud. It felt as if my bed was in the intersection of 7th Ave and 31st strreet. The hotel generally looked tired. For the amount paid for two days the value just wasn't there. On the plus side the location was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book directly with the hotel.

Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JD1877
Baltimore
May 13, 2013

Not a great value

Other comparable hotels in the area and price range that are better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Selma
Chicago
May 31, 2009

Convenient location, stinky hallways

Overall, it was ordinary. We wouldn't necessarily return, although the kitchen was convenient. Bathroom was impressively small. Guest services RARELY answered their telephone. Malfunctioning treadmills in fitness center. No free wifi. We liked that we could open the windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Jul 24, 2007

Shower too small

The Affinia Manhattan hotel location was great, basically across the street from Madison Square Garden/Penn Station. Easy walk to Broadway area and convenient access to subway and taxis to get either uptown or downtown. Bed was very comfortable, kitchen with full sized refrigerator was a plus. Wasn't thrilled with the window air conditioners, but in an older building such as this, it is understandable. Only main complaint would be the shower (no tub), rediculously small. The shower area was about 2' x 2.5'. I am a petite, slim person and I couldn't take a shower without the shower curtain touching me. If you dropped the soap, you either did a deep knee bend or got out of the shower to retrieve the dropped item.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bill in Liberty Lake
Liberty Lake, Wa.
Aug 31, 2010

Less than stellar

The hotel decor is outdated, the shower is so small I thought I was on a cruise ship. The bed was very comfortable. Great location !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay away from the pedi-cabs. The distance traveled in a cab that cost me $10 including tip cost me $50 with no tip.

Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JanJoJack
Wesley Chapel, FL
Jun 21, 2014

disappointed

The location was great. However, very disappointed in my room. I chose the room based upon the description on line. Offered a king bed and when I checked in, I was told this room did not come with a king. I told him that the website said it did and he said, "a lot of people complain about that". When I got up to the room, I felt like I had entered a college dorm. No room to turn around...no where to sit except the bed. I went down and complained to no avail. Only after I asked for a manager I was told they would upgrade me at no charge. This room was bigger and much nicer except for the VERY tiny bathroom and shower. Did I mention the hotel is next to a fire station?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had excellent meals at Fresco by Scotto near Times Square and Sophia in Little Italy.

Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
VannyB
New York
Feb 2, 2014

Room was modern, but freezing!

The room was very cute and modern and had clearly been updated which made a great first impression. The room was very cold and there was a horrible draft coming from the small window. The thermostat seemed to be broken so we were left freezing that night. I had also booked a room with a queen size bed and received a room with two full beds. Overall, it was a disappointing experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Madison square garden and penn station!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search