$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Affinia Manhattan

4 stars
371 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
469 reviews
Great Location, Service and Comfort

Need I say more, but I still have 16 characters left. Oh Well no more characters left See full review

  • Lousans
  • Feb 24, 2014
Great hotel

We were able to check in early and the staff was very friendly. Room was bigger then it looked in... See full review

  • Crys1982
  • Jan 2, 2014

The Affinia Manhattan Hotel was inspired by the aesthetics of an art studio, making its layout crisp, clean, sleek and modern. Studios and suites are equipped with kitchenettes for guests who really want to make themselves at home, while the on-site Niles New York City Restaurant is available for those enjoy great food and service.  Guests craving a good pampering can request in-room spa treatments. Like all of the Affinia chain hotels, the Affinia Manhattan offers the My Affinia program, which allows guests to personalize their visits with extras; so whether you’d like freshly-baked cupcakes waiting for you upon arrival, or special equipment like yoga mats or golf putters, the hotel has you covered.

Key facts
  • 618 guestrooms
  • Fitness center
  • In-room childcare
  • Room service
  • Niles New York City Restaurant and Bar
  • Valet parking
  • Meeting/conference room
  • Concierge services
  • Pets allowed (fees and hotel policies my apply)
Neighborhood
Close to Penn Station and within easy walking distance of top-notch attractions like Times Square, the Empire State Building and Macy's, the Affinia Manhattan is right on Seventh Avenue. Adjacent to Madison Square Garden and close to the exceptional shopping opportunities of Fifth Avenue, visitors can also immerse themselves in New York?s vibrant arts scene by checking out the numerous art galleries of Chelsea.
Hints and tips
Peruse the incredible Dream Pillow Menu to find the perfect place to rest your head, and don't forget to check in with the evening wine hour at the Affinia Manhattan Hotel (starting at 5:00pm) to mingle with other guests.Request a terrace room or suite to experience unforgettable views of the Manhattan skyline, including the Freedom Tower.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Affinia Manhattan Rooms

Deluxe One Bedroom - 2 Beds - Ac
Relax in an accessible spacious suite with full kitchen Luxury Bed Accessible Bathroom.
Deluxe One Bedroom - 1 Bed - Win
570SF-53M2- SPACIOUS ONE BEDROOM SUITE OFFERS SIGNATURE AFFINIA QUEEN BED.-Wine Hour
Deluxe One Bedroom - 2 Beds - Wi
570SF-53M2- SPACIOUS ONE BEDROOM SUITE OFFERS 2 SIGNATURE AFFINIA BEDS.-Wine Hour
Two Bedroom Suite -Includes Wine
2 bedroom suite 1 bed per room-1 sofabed kitchen-luxury beds-Comfort Zone bath-HI speed
Deluxe Guest Room - 1 Bed- Wine
410SF-38M2-THE DELUXE GUESTROOM OFFERS ONE SIGNATURE AFFINIA BED AND A PULL OUT SOFA
Guest Room - 2 Beds -Includes Wi
260SF-24M2- THE GUESTROOM OFFERS TWO SIGNATURE AFFINIA DOUBLE BEDS IN A COMFORTABLE SETTING
Guest Room - 1 Bed- Includes Win
260SF-24M2-THE GUESTROOM OFFERS A SIGNATURE AFFINIA QUEEN BED IN A COMFORTABLE SETTING
Studio Suite-2 Beds-Accessible-W
Accessible Studio was designed for maximum comfort Luxury Bed Accessible Bathroom.
Studio Suite - 1 Bed -Includes W
410SF-38M2- THE SPACIOUS STUDIO OFFERS ONE SIGNATURE AFFINIA QUEEN BED AND FULL KITCHEN
Studio Suite - 2 Beds-Includes W
410SF-38M2- THE SPACIOUS STUDIO OFFERS TWO SIGNATURE AFFINIA DBLE BEDS AND FULL KITCHEN
One Bedroom Suite - 1 Bed - Wine
510SF-57M2- SPACIOUS ONE BEDROOM SUITE OFFERS SIGNATURE AFFINIA QUEEN BED.-Wine Hour
One Bedroom Suite - 2 Beds - Win
510SF-57M2- SPACIOUS ONE BEDROOM SUITE OFFERS 2 SIGNATURE AFFINIA BEDS.-Wine Hour

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Airline desk
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Affinia Manhattan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7487 -73.9917
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 17.82, MI, NW; Westchester County Airport, (HPN), 34.93, MI, S; Teterboro Airport, (TEB), 13.00, MI, SE; Newark International Airport, (EWR), 17.26, MI, NE; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 8.85, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • High Line: 0.7 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Niles New York City Restaurant and Bar
Just off the lobby of Affinia Manhattan at the gateway to the City Niles offers a sleek setting for an entertaining meal from morning till late night. Chef Dale Spinks prepares a wide variety of contemporary continental cuisine as brightly colored geometr

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (469)

Ratings and reviews for Affinia Manhattan

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
469 out of 469
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
michael h
edinburgh
Nov 21, 2012

affinia....pleasure

This is the second time we have stayed here....its got the lot....location,superb staff,clean comfortable rooms and good food.....can't wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelersatheart
Dallas, TX
Oct 9, 2010

Affinia Manhattan

We had a terrible experience at the Affinia Manhattan. We travel frequently and had gone to New York the last weekend in September for a wedding. When we arrived, check-in took 20 minutes as the clerk attempted to find our misplaced reservation. We were disappointed when we got to our room and found out it was literally a closet with the toilet next to the head of our bed. It was also unclean and had notes for someone else who had apparently been checked into the same room for the same night. We immediately contacted the front desk to let them know. They informed us we would have to pay for an upgrade to be moved. We agreed since we had originally had booked a relatively inexpensive room. Our new room was very large, but much worse than the last room in terms of cleanliness. The furniture was filthy and torn. The carpet was pulled up in sections, and there were mold and mildew stains on the walls as well as on the floor in the kitchen area. There were also window air conditioning units making it impossible to block any of the noise from the busy street below, and we could hear every word of our neighbors' conversations through the thin walls. I have stayed in downtown London, Paris, L.A., etc. and have never been in a hotel with such poor sound insulation. After one sleepless night there, we made a total of 6 phone calls to management as well as [...] (it took around three hours.) The best anyone could do for us was offer to transfer us to another Affina location that was more expensive and further east. This was highly unsatisfactory to us, since we were in a wedding located across the street, and we would have to pay close to a hundred dollars more per night at the new hotel. We went ahead and packed our bags and agreed to pay the difference to move to the Affina at 37th and Lexington. It was much more pleasant with a helpful staff and wonderful clean, spacious rooms. The whole experience though put a huge damper on our New York vacation, took up almost a day of our trip trying to work out, and drove up our budget drastically because of the increased expense, not to mention the cost of cab fare to switch hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
FLA
Jun 6, 2011

not impressed

I had to bring my daughter for a second opinion on medical matters and see a doctor at Mt Sinai.The hotel was older, has a 13th floor which we had to stay On,kinda liKe the shining movie.SO LOUD right across the street from madison sq garden....loud loud. THE HEAT STUCK ON ,BATHROOM WAS NOT BAD AND CLEAN,THAT i WAS HAPPY WITH.FOR THE MONEY WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Professional Road Warrior
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 14, 2013

Dump

NO SLEEP! NO TOWELS! NO PILLOWS! NO CUSTOMER SERVICE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Professional Road Warrior
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 14, 2013

Three star my a**

Really? Affinia is a dump. My entire floor smelled like pot (yeah, they're really enforcing the no smoking rule). If you don't need decent towels, pillows, sheets, or heat in your hotel room you'll be fine - until you're woken up every 5 minutes by the noise of other guests (noise travels through the vents and under the doors) or the street (window AC units are not properly sealed). However, if you're looking to practice your foreign language skills, just call "guest services." I understand NY is expensive, but for the same price I can stay at a decent boutique hotel where I can at least get some sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Savannah, GA
Jun 17, 2007

mold

this was my third stay at the affinia manhattan and in all i have logged 24 days at there hotels, 17 in the last month at the manhattan. the room was standard a-m stuff, extremely courteous staff, comfortable beds, clean rooms with two bathrooms( a big deal when you are traveling with a female that spends the first few hours of the day there).the crusty wash cloth hanging from the curtain rod turned out to be an omen. the shower was so small, i did not measure but being in construction have pretty good judgement on short distances, it was well under 3 feet in any direction probably 2'6 that you had to keep your arms so close to you body that frankly, you could not bathe your entire body and had two lean on two wall at any given time. you also were always rubbing on a shower curtain that had a lot of mildew on it.an overweight person simply could not have fit in this shower, how bad would they feel? i was unhappy that i was paying as much as i was for this. the female who has (a lot) of long hair was positively and genuinely miserable. I am still angry at this experience and likely will not stay at this chain again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Easy Going 2
NYC
Dec 5, 2012

Cold and as noisy as a Barn!!

Rooms are cold with old antiquated heaters. We were told that the hotel shuts off the heat in the hotel if the outside temperature exceeds 55 degrees (a new york law??) Because it was 54 or so when I complained (for the 3rd time) they would turn it on. That was 1 hour ago, and it's till cold in this room and the heaters are not working!. I'll bet it's great here in the Summer!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trisha M
Business
Irvine, CA
Oct 25, 2012

Noisy Noisy Noisy

From what I understand, the rooms that have been updated are quite lovely. However, I was placed in an unrenovated room directly over 7th avenue and it sounded as if I was standing on the street corner. It was also much smaller and much dingier than other rooms in the hotel so book cautiously. I am a frequent traveler and am in NY often so I mean these comments even within the context of a Manhattan hotel. Considering the price I paid, I was very disappointed and will never use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kyvan
Boston,ma
Jun 17, 2013

Not good

No noise insulation, smelly (septic tank), old and moldy linen, lumpy mattress, cramped, old ac unit in the room Don't do it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ripped off Victim
San Antonio, Tx.
Mar 11, 2013

Beware! Expensive Property Stolen Out of the Safe!

It was a nightmare experience that still has no resolution since 12/19/12. My passport, airline tickets, and extremely high dollar concert tickets were stolen out of the locked safe in our room. This claim is valued at $9000, and AIG Insurance Co. has been stalling and totally non-compliant in reimbursing me for this theft. Do not stay here, the Denham Group takes no responsibility for this tragedy in my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Commuter from Chicago
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Sep 8, 2012

Incredibly loud / bad location

First, they told me my reservation was at a different location and blamed me, even after I showed them the confirmation. They moved the reservation to this location and did I regret it (by the way - I had to wait while they forgot about me at the front desk and then had to check in with them again after 30 mins of waiting - they had said they would find me). Second - and more important - the location right next to Penn Station is very loud with the sound of horns and sirens waking me several times a night. Also, the room window air conditioner was loud and added to the lack of sleep. Room was nice though, even if small, and very clean - no complaints there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top