Affinia Manhattan

4 stars
371 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
329 reviews
Overnight stay

Great stay. Only thing they could improve on is to offer less expensive internet access See full review

  • Karenmomski
  • Aug 10, 2014
Great Location, Service and Comfort

Need I say more, but I still have 16 characters left. Oh Well no more characters left See full review

  • Lousans
  • Feb 24, 2014
Centrally located in New York City near Chelsea; Times Square and across from Pennsylvania Station and Madison Square Garden - The Manhattan offers guests an authentic New York experience with just the right blend of style comfort and modern decor. On-site amenities and services include Niles NYC Restaurant - a 24-hour gym and The Corner Store. Our impressive meeting venue boasts up to 10000 square feet of flexible space accommodating up to 325 guests. From a palatial ballroom for opulent weddings to a VIP boardroom for corporate meetings there are nine distinctive multi-purpose rooms in total and all are outfitted with cutting-edge audio/visual equipment. Customizable catering menus and resourceful event planners are available as well to suit your specific preferences.

Affinia Manhattan Rooms

Studio Suite - Accessible
Accessible Studio Suite-2 Dbls-City View-WiFi- Full Kitchen-LCDTV-Evening Wine Hour-410 SqFt
Studio Suite - 2 Double Beds
Studio Suite-2 Double Beds-Limited View-WiFi- Full Kitchen-LCDTV-Wine Hour-410 SqFt-Max Occ 4
One Bedroom Suite - King/Queen
One Bedroom Suite-King or Queen-Full Kitchen- Sofa Bed-Limited View-WiFi-LCD TV-510-610 SqFt
One Bedroom Suite - 2 Queens
One Bedroom Suite-2 Queen Beds-Full Kitchen- Sofa Bed-Limited View-WiFi-LCD TV-510-610 SqFt
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite King
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite-1 King-Full Kitchen- 2 Bath-Sofa Bed-Limited View-WiFi-570-670 SqFt
Dlx One Bedroom Suite 2 Beds
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite-2 Beds-Full Kitchen- 2 Bath-Sofa Bed-Limited View-WiFi-570-670 SqFt
Two Bedroom Suite - 2 Kings
Two Bedroom Suite-2 King Beds-Full Kitchen- Sofa Bed-Limited View-WiFi-LCD TVs-700-950 SqFt
Deluxe Guest Room - 1 Queen
Deluxe Guest Room-One Queen Bed-410 SqFt- City View-WiFi-LCDTV-Eve Wine Hour-Max Occ 3
One Bedroom Terrace Suite
One Bedroom Suite-1 King-Terrace-Full Kitchen- City View-Sofa Bed-WiFi-LCD HDTV-510-610 SqFt
Deluxe Terrace Guest Room
Deluxe Guest Room-King or Queen Bed-410 SqFt- Terrace-City View-WiFi-Eve Wine Hour-Max Occ 3
Guest Room - 1 Queen Bed
Guest Room-One Queen-Limited View-LCD HDTV- WiFi-Desk-Evening Wine Hour-260 SqFt-Max Occ 2
Dlx One Bedroom Terrace Suite
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite-1 King-2 Bath-Terrace- City View-Kitchen-Sofa Bed-WiFi-570-670 SqFt
Guest Room - 2 Double Beds
Guest Room-2 Double Beds-Limited View-LCD HDTV- WiFi-Desk-Evening Wine Hour-260 SqFt-Max Occ 4
Deluxe One Bedroom Accessible
Accessible Deluxe One Bedroom Suite-2 Queens- Full Kitchen-2 Bath-Sofa Bed-WiFi-570-670 SqFt
Studio Suite - King or Queen
Studio Suite-King or Queen-Limited View-WiFi- Full Kitchen-LCDTV-Wine Hour-410 SqFt-Max Occ 3

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

40.7487 -73.9917
Nearby airports
Metropolitan Area, (NYC), 0.00, MI, SW; Mercer County Airport, (TTN), 62.00, MI, NE; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 17.82, MI, NW; Westchester County Airport, (HPN), 34.93, MI, S; Teterboro Airport, (TEB), 13.00, MI, SE
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • High Line: 0.7 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Niles Bar and Restaurant
Niles Bar and Restaurant offers a sleek setting for a wide variety of contemporary continental cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (329)

Ratings and reviews for Affinia Manhattan

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
329 out of 329
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Commuter from Chicago
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Sep 8, 2012

Incredibly loud / bad location

First, they told me my reservation was at a different location and blamed me, even after I showed them the confirmation. They moved the reservation to this location and did I regret it (by the way - I had to wait while they forgot about me at the front desk and then had to check in with them again after 30 mins of waiting - they had said they would find me). Second - and more important - the location right next to Penn Station is very loud with the sound of horns and sirens waking me several times a night. Also, the room window air conditioner was loud and added to the lack of sleep. Room was nice though, even if small, and very clean - no complaints there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Biz Travels
Business
Beverly Hills, CA
Sep 10, 2012

Outrageous Price For What You Get

Checked in on September 5 2012 having booked and prepaid ($353/night per room) two deluxe rooms for business trip. Upon arrival was told that the system was down and that we would be given a two bedroom suite instead. Turned out the two bedroom suite was two very small bedrooms with full size beds and even smaller bathrooms. Went back to front desk to change rooms and got two new rooms on the 5th floor. Upon entering one of the rooms, the shower and bathroom had not been cleaned, had hair in the drain and smelled of mildew. Went back to desk to change rooms yet again, then had rooms 531 and 2320. Came to find out that one bathroom (531) was just a shower and not a full bath while the other (2320) had a full bathroom. When we asked the front desk about this we were told that the hotel does not have "cookie cutter" rooms and that while each room is considered a deluxe room that they can be different. I can not find this fact explained anywhere on the hotel's website or on this website and this makes very little sense particularly considering the rooms were pre-paid and booked at the same time and should have been held as two identical rooms. It seemed that the staff did their best to understand the problem but really did not wish to rectify it or give any financial remediation. Felt exceptionally cheated and that we very much over paid. I have stayed at other properties of theirs and had a much better experience and thought that the rooms there were better priced and better maintained. I would not recommend this hotel unless it was priced dramatically lower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trisha M
Business
Irvine, CA
Oct 25, 2012

Noisy Noisy Noisy

From what I understand, the rooms that have been updated are quite lovely. However, I was placed in an unrenovated room directly over 7th avenue and it sounded as if I was standing on the street corner. It was also much smaller and much dingier than other rooms in the hotel so book cautiously. I am a frequent traveler and am in NY often so I mean these comments even within the context of a Manhattan hotel. Considering the price I paid, I was very disappointed and will never use this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Easy Going 2
Business
NYC
Dec 5, 2012

Cold and as noisy as a Barn!!

Rooms are cold with old antiquated heaters. We were told that the hotel shuts off the heat in the hotel if the outside temperature exceeds 55 degrees (a new york law??) Because it was 54 or so when I complained (for the 3rd time) they would turn it on. That was 1 hour ago, and it's till cold in this room and the heaters are not working!. I'll bet it's great here in the Summer!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Professional Road Warrior
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 14, 2013

Dump

NO SLEEP! NO TOWELS! NO PILLOWS! NO CUSTOMER SERVICE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Professional Road Warrior
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 14, 2013

Three star my a**

Really? Affinia is a dump. My entire floor smelled like pot (yeah, they're really enforcing the no smoking rule). If you don't need decent towels, pillows, sheets, or heat in your hotel room you'll be fine - until you're woken up every 5 minutes by the noise of other guests (noise travels through the vents and under the doors) or the street (window AC units are not properly sealed). However, if you're looking to practice your foreign language skills, just call "guest services." I understand NY is expensive, but for the same price I can stay at a decent boutique hotel where I can at least get some sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ripped off Victim
Business
San Antonio, Tx.
Mar 11, 2013

Beware! Expensive Property Stolen Out of the Safe!

It was a nightmare experience that still has no resolution since 12/19/12. My passport, airline tickets, and extremely high dollar concert tickets were stolen out of the locked safe in our room. This claim is valued at $9000, and AIG Insurance Co. has been stalling and totally non-compliant in reimbursing me for this theft. Do not stay here, the Denham Group takes no responsibility for this tragedy in my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kyvan
Business
Boston,ma
Jun 17, 2013

Not good

No noise insulation, smelly (septic tank), old and moldy linen, lumpy mattress, cramped, old ac unit in the room Don't do it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BR23
Business
Syracuse, NY
Sep 2, 2013

Nightmare in Manhattan

I book this upgraded room in what's supposed to be this 4 star hotel with enlarged square footage and a full kitchen in the room. We get there after the 3pm check in time and told no rooms available for a couple hours...checked back at 6pm, no rooms, 7pm, no rooms, 9pm no rooms, almost 10pm when we finally get offered a single bed room after we booked and paid for the deluxe 2 bed room with full kitchen and 400+ square foot. Long story short, we have no where else to go, have been waiting 6 hours to shower and relax so we retreat to the smallest, plainest, little room they have and do our best to sleep off the nightmare. I could have booked any one of dozens of different hotels in the city for less money, better service, more square footage and a better night sleep. Pretty expensive rates for a 10'x10' box -and no one even thought enough of the hassle to offer us a free cup of coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FLA
Jun 6, 2011

not impressed

I had to bring my daughter for a second opinion on medical matters and see a doctor at Mt Sinai.The hotel was older, has a 13th floor which we had to stay On,kinda liKe the shining movie.SO LOUD right across the street from madison sq garden....loud loud. THE HEAT STUCK ON ,BATHROOM WAS NOT BAD AND CLEAN,THAT i WAS HAPPY WITH.FOR THE MONEY WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top