$242 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Affinia Manhattan

4 stars
371 Seventh Avenue, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
326 reviews
Overnight stay

Great stay. Only thing they could improve on is to offer less expensive internet access See full review

  • Karenmomski
  • Aug 10, 2014
Great Location, Service and Comfort

Need I say more, but I still have 16 characters left. Oh Well no more characters left See full review

  • Lousans
  • Feb 24, 2014

The Affinia Manhattan Hotel was inspired by the aesthetics of an art studio, making its layout crisp, clean, sleek and modern. Studios and suites are equipped with kitchenettes for guests who really want to make themselves at home, while the on-site Niles New York City Restaurant is available for those enjoy great food and service.  Guests craving a good pampering can request in-room spa treatments. Like all of the Affinia chain hotels, the Affinia Manhattan offers the My Affinia program, which allows guests to personalize their visits with extras; so whether you’d like freshly-baked cupcakes waiting for you upon arrival, or special equipment like yoga mats or golf putters, the hotel has you covered.

Key facts
  • 618 guestrooms
  • Fitness center
  • In-room childcare
  • Room service
  • Niles New York City Restaurant and Bar
  • Valet parking
  • Meeting/conference room
  • Concierge services
  • Pets allowed (fees and hotel policies my apply)
Neighborhood
Close to Penn Station and within easy walking distance of top-notch attractions like Times Square, the Empire State Building and Macy's, the Affinia Manhattan is right on Seventh Avenue. Adjacent to Madison Square Garden and close to the exceptional shopping opportunities of Fifth Avenue, visitors can also immerse themselves in New York?s vibrant arts scene by checking out the numerous art galleries of Chelsea.
Hints and tips
Peruse the incredible Dream Pillow Menu to find the perfect place to rest your head, and don't forget to check in with the evening wine hour at the Affinia Manhattan Hotel (starting at 5:00pm) to mingle with other guests.Request a terrace room or suite to experience unforgettable views of the Manhattan skyline, including the Freedom Tower.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7487 -73.9917
Nearby airports
Metropolitan Area, (NYC), 0.00, MI, SW; Mercer County Airport, (TTN), 62.00, MI, NE; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 17.82, MI, NW; Westchester County Airport, (HPN), 34.93, MI, S; Teterboro Airport, (TEB), 13.00, MI, SE
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Affinia Manhattan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Affinia Manhattan Rooms

Studio Suite - Accessible
Accessible Studio Suite-2 Dbls-City View-WiFi- Full Kitchen-LCDTV-Evening Wine Hour-410 SqFt
Studio Suite - 2 Double Beds
Studio Suite-2 Double Beds-Limited View-WiFi- Full Kitchen-LCDTV-Wine Hour-410 SqFt-Max Occ 4
One Bedroom Suite - King/Queen
One Bedroom Suite-King or Queen-Full Kitchen- Sofa Bed-Limited View-WiFi-LCD TV-510-610 SqFt
One Bedroom Suite - 2 Queens
One Bedroom Suite-2 Queen Beds-Full Kitchen- Sofa Bed-Limited View-WiFi-LCD TV-510-610 SqFt
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite King
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite-1 King-Full Kitchen- 2 Bath-Sofa Bed-Limited View-WiFi-570-670 SqFt
Dlx One Bedroom Suite 2 Beds
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite-2 Beds-Full Kitchen- 2 Bath-Sofa Bed-Limited View-WiFi-570-670 SqFt
Two Bedroom Suite - 2 Kings
Two Bedroom Suite-2 King Beds-Full Kitchen- Sofa Bed-Limited View-WiFi-LCD TVs-700-950 SqFt
Deluxe Guest Room - 1 Queen
Deluxe Guest Room-One Queen Bed-410 SqFt- City View-WiFi-LCDTV-Eve Wine Hour-Max Occ 3
One Bedroom Terrace Suite
One Bedroom Suite-1 King-Terrace-Full Kitchen- City View-Sofa Bed-WiFi-LCD HDTV-510-610 SqFt
Deluxe Terrace Guest Room
Deluxe Guest Room-King or Queen Bed-410 SqFt- Terrace-City View-WiFi-Eve Wine Hour-Max Occ 3
Guest Room - 1 Queen Bed
Guest Room-One Queen-Limited View-LCD HDTV- WiFi-Desk-Evening Wine Hour-260 SqFt-Max Occ 2
Dlx One Bedroom Terrace Suite
Deluxe One Bedroom Suite-1 King-2 Bath-Terrace- City View-Kitchen-Sofa Bed-WiFi-570-670 SqFt
Guest Room - 2 Double Beds
Guest Room-2 Double Beds-Limited View-LCD HDTV- WiFi-Desk-Evening Wine Hour-260 SqFt-Max Occ 4
Deluxe One Bedroom Accessible
Accessible Deluxe One Bedroom Suite-2 Queens- Full Kitchen-2 Bath-Sofa Bed-WiFi-570-670 SqFt
Studio Suite - King or Queen
Studio Suite-King or Queen-Limited View-WiFi- Full Kitchen-LCDTV-Wine Hour-410 SqFt-Max Occ 3

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Play ground
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Cellular telephone rental
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.5 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.5 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • High Line: 0.7 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Niles Bar and Restaurant
Niles Bar and Restaurant offers a sleek setting for a wide variety of contemporary continental cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (326)

Ratings and reviews for Affinia Manhattan

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
326 out of 326
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Geoff cat1
West Yorkshire, uk
Dec 16, 2012

Great 40th birthday

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left the staff could not have done more, no request too small or too big was dealt with in a professional manner with no hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDBC
Windsor Mill, Maryland
Aug 20, 2011

NY getaway

Wonderful location, very clean, nice staff, basic amentIties. Bathroom was extremely small and housekeeping didn't come to clean after they called and asked if I wanted the service. Still enjoyed my stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop around before you purchase, you might find the same item at a cheaper price on the next block.

Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dark
Southold, NY, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Husband and Wife getaway

Traveled from the east end of Long Island, took the train in from Mineola to Penn. Station. After a two hour commute to the city, having the hotel across the street from Penn. Station was great. We checked-in, changed into more appropriate clothing for dinner and a show. The day was perfect and relaxing back at the hotel was not too shabby either. We had a slight problem with the sink, only when the drain had a little too much water (above the stopper) did it start to leak into the cabinet below on onto the hair dryer and other items. As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is still under construction, though from what we saw, just the outside remains. The smell of the rugs on the floor we stayed (15) was not that pleasant but the room itself had no such smell and had no bearing on the overall experience, we never stayed in the hallways for long anyways. This was our first night over in the big city and we both had a great time and would certainly do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
whypisces
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Nice hotel but seriously lacking in basic areas

I stayed in a queen room - so I wasn't surprised by how tiny the room is. The AC is a bit too powerful and loud, which is fine, as I turned it off at night. There could be more pillows but again, I can make do. However, three things were extremely annoying: 1) Very hard to find ANY useful power outlets in the room; 2) The bathroom was too hip for its own good, as there was ZERO counter space in a bathroom barely large enough to turn in; and 3) The housekeeping staff seems asleep on the job. One day they leave only hand towels. The next day, only one bath towel. Still the day after, no wash cloths. Seriously? I stayed for five days, and in that length of stay, one expects a bit more. One last item to note - the Internet is unacceptable. If I'm paying $14.95 per day, I expect faster Internet than this. Highly doubt I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're traveling in or out of Penn Station, the location can't be beat.

Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nycleisure
dallas tx
Aug 8, 2011

nyc123

convernient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is walking distance

Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JennMc
Business
Dallas,TX
Aug 7, 2011

Awesome staff, spacious rooms for NYC

The staff was really great. The concierge; I think her name was [...] knew everything and was so helpful. The housekeeping staff went out of their way to accommodate me and was so friendly about it. (I am very picky!) The magnetic pillows made my nights sleep great. The room was spacious, all updated and urban but with a home feel. Flat screen TV's and security was great. No complaints here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Three blocks from the Empire state building, right across the street from Penn station and Madison Square Gardens. Short walk to times square. I would definitely stay here again.

Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jul 27, 2011

Great location,Great Service,Decent Room

The Lobby is beautiful but the rooms are a tad outdated, as well as the scary elevators. Other than that it was a great experience! It is directly across from Madison Square Garden, outside of Penn Station and surrounded by the best shopping and restaurants. All of the rooms are suite style with kitchens in them. I would assume this may be nice for families traveling with small kids or people who need extended stays. The fitness room fit its purpose. All in all it is a nice place to stay when visiting NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
KS
Jul 23, 2011

Affinia Manhattan Was Really Good

Hotel is perfectly located for arrivals/departures at NY Penn Station, directly across the street from Madison Square Garden. Room (entire hotel floor, actually) was renovated so shortly ago that the new carpet smell was still present. Room had a queen bed with an office and a very small bathroom. (And by small, it was 2* Hong Kong bathroom small. Nice, but larger people would have a tough time showering or using the toilet). A/C worked magnificently, bellmen & reception were friendly and prompt, and the lobby was small but nicely appointed. We had a delightful experience, walked to Times Square in 10 min., Rockefeller Center in 15min, and the hotel was really good for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just on the opposite street corner from the hotel front entrance was a magnificent pizza parlor. Inexpensive, but very tasty food & friendly owner. Also, the Chelsea Market was about 10 blocks or 2 subway stops away and had a wonderful variety of interesting foods as well.

Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Yankee fan
Gloucester, VA
Jun 23, 2011

Great Location to everything

We were there to see a Yankees game. This was our 4th year staying at this location. Every year we get a clean,spacious room and have the best staff. Carl, the bellhop is wonderful. He remembers us every year. This year he even had a bottle of complimentary wine sent to our room to welcome us back. We pick this location year after year because of location, space, and staff. We are right across the street from Penn Station, so easy subway access. There is a great Irish pub 1 block down and a terrific pizza place 2 blocks over. They are doing renovations and we are not sure what the new rooms look like but I am positive they will be just as wonderful as they are currently. You will not go wrong staying at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Only Business traveler
Business
Canada
Jun 20, 2011

A tired hotel

Although the location of this hotel is close to many attractions, I would not recommend staying here for any length of time. The hotel is very tired with smelly carpets, old anemities, and very thin doors. There is construction going on throughout the hotel and the cable was out. When calling to complain about an issue, I had to do so several times before it was resolved. Although the staff was very nice and did their best to cover up for a hotel that needs improvement, I was very tired after a few nights of restless sleeps.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Penn station, Macy's and the Empire State Building

Review of Affinia Manhattan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
FLA
Jun 6, 2011

not impressed

I had to bring my daughter for a second opinion on medical matters and see a doctor at Mt Sinai.The hotel was older, has a 13th floor which we had to stay On,kinda liKe the shining movie.SO LOUD right across the street from madison sq garden....loud loud. THE HEAT STUCK ON ,BATHROOM WAS NOT BAD AND CLEAN,THAT i WAS HAPPY WITH.FOR THE MONEY WOULD NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search