$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Affinia Dumont

4 stars
150 East 34th Street, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
252 reviews
Relaxin wonderful stay

Love the Affinia Dumont !! Our stay was quiet and relaxing. Beds are soo comfy. Would love to stay... See full review

  • Mary Ann y town m
  • Feb 23, 2014
great

great no problems had a nice trip good good good!! See full review

  • jane1111111
  • Sep 25, 2013
Suites, spa and fun amenities near the Empire State Building
Service is the name of the game at the Affinia Dumont, a boutique-style property in Murray Hill. The hotel offers special services and complimentary perks for guests' children and pets. Guests can choose a themed Experience Kit such as the running kit, which includes an iPod to borrow. Most suites have kitchens. A spa and fitness center round out the amenities. Staying at Affinia Dumont affords guests access to a complimentary wine hour.
Highlights
  • All-suites rooms, most with kitchens
  • On-site spa that offers in-room treatments
  • Pet-friendly (fees apply, call for details) hotel has pet beds, toys and treats
Rooms

The Affinia Dumont is an all-suite hotel. The suites start at 400 square feet. Beige walls and dark wood accents lend a soothing and contemporary feel. Beds feature a six-choice pillow menu. Most studio suites, and all junior and one-bedroom suites, come with a full kitchen. High-speed Internet access (fees apply) and Damana bath products are among the amenities.

Features

The Affinia Dumont offers several themed Experience Kits that contain complimentary information and products for guests to use during their stays. The yoga kit has a yoga mat, props and yoga DVDs. The Jet Set Pets program provides amenities for guests' pets, including an in-room pet bed and a toy and treats.

Dining
Staying at the Affinia Dumont affords guests access to a complimentary wine hour. For dining needs, the hotel is within close proximity of numerous restaurants, bistros and cafes that offer a myriad of cuisines to satisfy discerning culinary palates.
Recreation

Oasis Day Spa offers a full menu of massage, facial, waxing and nail services. The spa is open seven days a week. The complimentary fitness center is open seven days a week.

Transportation
  • MTA Subway 4, 6 lines at 33rd St.-Lexington subway station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Penn Station (0.8 mi/1.29 km)
  • La Guardia Airport (8.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14.9 mi/24 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (16.5 mi/27 km)
Attractions
  • Empire State Building (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Times Square (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Central Park (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • Business center (fees apply)
  • 1,100-square-foot meeting room for up to 100 people
Policies and fees

All rooms at Affinia Dumont are non-smoking. A $250 penalty will be assessed for anyone found in violation of the non-smoking policy.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Affinia Dumont Rooms

One-Bedroom Skyline Suite - 1 Ki
550SF-CHRYSLER VIEW-42IN LCD-ONE KING BED SOFA BED-OVERSIZED DESK-IPOD DOCK-FULL KITCHEN
Junior Skyline Suite - 1 King Be
400SF-CHRYSLER VIEW-42IN LCD-KING BED-SOFA BED OVERSIZED DESK-IPOD DOCK-FULL KITCHEN
One-Bedroom Skyline Suite - 2 Qu
550SF-CHRYSLER VIEW-42IN LCD-TWO QUEEN BEDS SOFA BED-OVERSIZED DESK-IPOD DOCK-FULL KITCHEN
STUDIO SKLYINE SUITE
400SF-CHRYSLER VIEW-42IN LCD-KING BED OVERSIZED DESK-IPOD DOCK-PHILOSOPHY BATH
Junior Suite - 1 Queen Bed - Acc
Accessible Junior Suite with 1 bed offers -accessible bathroom-full kitchen- hi speed.
Studio Suite - 1 King Bed
Studio 1 Bed-HI speed-Comfort Zone bath- Luxury bed-Pillow menu-Kitchen-400-600 sq ft
Studio Suite - 2 Queen Beds
Studio Suite -2 Beds-HI speed-Comfort Zone bath Luxury bed-Pillow menu-Kitchen-400-600 sq ft
One Bedroom Suite - 1 King Bed
1 Bedroom-Living area-sofabed-Kitchen-HI Speed-Comfort Zonebath-Luxury bed
One Bedroom Suite - 2 Queen Bed
Bedroom 2 Beds-Living area-sofabed-Kitchen- HI speed-Comfort Zone bath-Luxury bed
Junior Suite - 1 King Bed
Junior -1 bed-Sofabed-Full kitchen-Comfort Zone bath-HI-speed-Living area-Full kitchen

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Affinia Dumont also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7461 -73.9791
Nearby airports
La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 7.99, MI, W; Westchester County Airport, (HPN), 33.80, MI, W; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 16.97, MI, W; Newark International Airport, (EWR), 17.78, MI, NE; Teterboro Airport, (TEB), 13.40, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Century Building: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.2 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Century Building: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.4 mi
  • The King's College: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.4 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.6 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.7 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Asser Levy Playground: 0.7 mi
  • The Players: 0.7 mi
  • Peter Cooper Park: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Second Avenue Kosher Deli: 0.8 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.8 mi
  • East Side: 0.8 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.8 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.8 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.8 mi

Dining

Cinema Cafe
Room service available 8am-11pm Cinema Cafe provides all in-room dining and catering for the hotel. The diverse menu includes everything from small plates to nosh to black angus burgers to fill up after a long day in the Big Apple. Room service is availa

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (252)

Ratings and reviews for Affinia Dumont

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
252 out of 252
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 31, 2009

Great place

This hotel is very clean, spacious-has a small kitchen, large king size bed. The location is great. It is quiet and it's only a 15 minute walk to times square maybe 5-8 blocks or so. On your way you pass the empire state building and you get a feel for the city. Great concierge, they will help you with maps, tours, subways. The cleaning serivice was amazing, the place was always spotless during our 5 day stay. I would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great places to eat on 9th steet, a lot of thai place with great food and it's cheap.

Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 31, 2009

Great place

This hotel is very clean, spacious-has a small kitchen, large king size bed. The location is great. It is quiet and it's only a 15 minute walk to times square maybe 5-8 blocks or so. On your way you pass the empire state building and you get a feel for the city. Great concierge, they will help you with maps, tours, subways. The cleaning serivice was amazing, the place was always spotless during our 5 day stay. I would go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great places to eat on 9th steet, a lot of thai place with great food and it's cheap.

Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Z
UK
Aug 20, 2009

Affinia Dumont - NYC

We found the hotel ideally located in midtown Manhattan - 2 blocks from the Empire States, close to subway, close to Fashion Avenue etc. The 6 subway line which was very close to the hotel was direct to so many places. Bits and pieces could be bought from the nearby store, as well as Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts being close too. The room was spacious, with a lovely comfy chair and useful desk. The bed was very comfy and huge! The bathroom was nice, and the kitchen basic but adequate. The staff were always friendly and helpful - very approachable too! Would definately stay again ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Rowing on the lake in Central Park is only $12!!!

Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joopnight
Youngstown, OH
Aug 16, 2009

Would Stay Again! Brilliant room & view!

My family & I selected this room because it was near my sister's place. The location is superb because it's close to Macy's, a variety of great restaurants, Murray Hill, etc. The area is quiet, which is hard to find in NYC, and the price is more reasonable compared to popular hotels in Time's Square, for example. There is easy accessibility to the subway from the hotel. One qualm is that there is no pool, but the room was well worth it. We stayed in the Family Room Suite near the top of the building and had a wonderful view of the Hudson River. Bathroom was very nice w/ Aveda products. They have a complementary pillow menu, which was pretty cool. Family room was spacious and a great place to congregate. There was a kitchenette with everything we needed. The "minibar" drinks and food for sale by the hotel in the room were expensive, so we opted to walk across the street and pick up a few things to put in the fridge. I'm not quite sure why the hotel was ranked at #94 in the world or it being ranked #9 in the US by [...]. I've been to outstanding hotels around the world, with luxurious rooms, unparalleled customer service and amenities, and my opinion is that the hotel is good but not that great. So, don't get sucked into the hype. All in all, I thought this was a very good room. My family loved it as well. This semi-luxury hotel is perfect for the traveller who wants a 4-star hotel at a 3-star price. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're in the mood for Indian food, try "Tiffinwallah" in nearby Murray Hill. It's a short walking distance from the hotel and the food there is outstanding. The spice level is mild-moderate, and easy on the belly for those wanting to try indian food.

Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joopnight
Youngstown, OH
Aug 16, 2009

Would Stay Again! Brilliant room & view!

My family & I selected this room because it was near my sister's place. The location is superb because it's close to Macy's, a variety of great restaurants, Murray Hill, etc. The area is quiet, which is hard to find in NYC, and the price is more reasonable compared to popular hotels in Time's Square, for example. There is easy accessibility to the subway from the hotel. One qualm is that there is no pool, but the room was well worth it. We stayed in the Family Room Suite near the top of the building and had a wonderful view of the Hudson River. Bathroom was very nice w/ Aveda products. They have a complementary pillow menu, which was pretty cool. Family room was spacious and a great place to congregate. There was a kitchenette with everything we needed. The "minibar" drinks and food for sale by the hotel in the room were expensive, so we opted to walk across the street and pick up a few things to put in the fridge. I'm not quite sure why the hotel was ranked at #94 in the world or it being ranked #9 in the US by [...]. I've been to outstanding hotels around the world, with luxurious rooms, unparalleled customer service and amenities, and my opinion is that the hotel is good but not that great. So, don't get sucked into the hype. All in all, I thought this was a very good room. My family loved it as well. This semi-luxury hotel is perfect for the traveller who wants a 4-star hotel at a 3-star price. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're in the mood for Indian food, try "Tiffinwallah" in nearby Murray Hill. It's a short walking distance from the hotel and the food there is outstanding. The spice level is mild-moderate, and easy on the belly for those wanting to try indian food.

Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Aug 11, 2009

Nice hotel, great location

Great room/hotel but I suspect we'd never be able to afford it without the Orbitz deal, including our flight. The room was huge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Take the concierge's suggestions for restaurants with a grain of salt. Some good, some pretty touristy/okay. Lots to choose from in the vicinity of the hotel so check Frommer's or Zagat before coming, if possible.

Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Aug 11, 2009

Nice hotel, great location

Great room/hotel but I suspect we'd never be able to afford it without the Orbitz deal, including our flight. The room was huge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Take the concierge's suggestions for restaurants with a grain of salt. Some good, some pretty touristy/okay. Lots to choose from in the vicinity of the hotel so check Frommer's or Zagat before coming, if possible.

Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashbonics
Atlanta, GA
Aug 9, 2009

Very Nice Hotel

I had to call the day of our reservations to increase the number of occupants from 2 adults to 3 adults. I didn't think this was a big deal b/c we had a junior suite reserved. The junior suite has a king-sized bed as well as a pull out sofa bed.When I called, the man I spoke with, [...], I think was his name was rather unfriendly. I would describe his tone as "[*]" This made me a little worried about what I would be in for over the next several days.HOWEVER, once I got there I was pleasantly surprised. Everyone ELSE was amazing! Very friendly, very helpful! The location was great for us. There were some cool restaurants close by. A quick taxi cab ride to the theatre. Not too far from Time Square. Rooms very clean. Tip the housekeeping & they'll take good care of you!I also found the rooms to be a lot cheaper when booking through Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go out the front entrance of the lobby and go right. Walk down to the next intersection & go right again, tons of restaurants that locals go to.

Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashbonics
Atlanta, GA
Aug 9, 2009

Very Nice Hotel

I had to call the day of our reservations to increase the number of occupants from 2 adults to 3 adults. I didn't think this was a big deal b/c we had a junior suite reserved. The junior suite has a king-sized bed as well as a pull out sofa bed.When I called, the man I spoke with, [...], I think was his name was rather unfriendly. I would describe his tone as "[*]" This made me a little worried about what I would be in for over the next several days.HOWEVER, once I got there I was pleasantly surprised. Everyone ELSE was amazing! Very friendly, very helpful! The location was great for us. There were some cool restaurants close by. A quick taxi cab ride to the theatre. Not too far from Time Square. Rooms very clean. Tip the housekeeping & they'll take good care of you!I also found the rooms to be a lot cheaper when booking through Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go out the front entrance of the lobby and go right. Walk down to the next intersection & go right again, tons of restaurants that locals go to.

Review of Affinia Dumont

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GISimonton
Grand Island NE
Aug 5, 2009

Amazing View

We stayed on the 32nd floor, what an amazing view! The Murry Hill Market right next door was very convinent to grab a pop or snack. The only thing was that the local subway was a few blocks away and when you have been walking and sightseeing all day it feels like forever untill you make it to the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Murry Hill Market right next door was great. I bought bagles and cream cheese to keep in my kitchen at the Affinia. So I had breakfast every morning right there. It was perfect to stock up on a few groceries to save some money!

Back to menu Return to top