$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Ace Hotel New York

4 stars
View map of 20 West 29th St, Corner of 29 and Broadway, New York City, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ace Hotel New York

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UTer
Business
Toronto
Jun 10, 2014

Fun, but didn't really see what all the fuss is about

I was looking forward to staying at a super hip boutique hotel, but I can't say my stay here was notably better than one at a more generic hotel. Our "mini" room was, indeed, very small, but fine. The sink was located in the carpeted main area next to the bed, which I didn't love. The bathroom was small, but nice. For a 4-star hotel, I expected the a/c unit to cool the (small) room much better than it actually did. The free wi-fi and on-site coffee shop were nice amenities, but honestly, did the facts that my room had a vintage fridge and the lobby was always full of people on laptops do anything to enhance my stay? Not really.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mandirichma
Business
New York, New York
May 29, 2014

Always feel at home when I come back to the ace

Greeted with an amazing room upgrade, a handwritten note a Tshirt and free bottle of wine welcoming me back. This is not a one time thing, the ace values it's clients and values repeat business. The staff is young, enthusiastic, super helpful and gets you whatever you need. I don't love the area only because Korea town is two short blocks away and at night it's a bit shady. But 24/7 there's staff at the front helping you get a car or cab on the aces quiet very well lit safe block. Note to those with family's the hotel is very young, the lobby doubles as a lounge they have live music events and the like frequently. Don't be startled or put off by it's noise should you arrive at night, you can't hear a peep of the downstairs atmosphere from the guest floors and elevators require key card access! It's the best hotel I can't say enough about it. Truly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Koreatown 2 blocks north is manhattans "red light district" I advise you stay away from it (32nd Btwn 5th and broadway) after 6pm until 6am.

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vossie
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
May 1, 2014

Basic hip in midtown

Ace is a very cool hipster hotel, nothing shish here. Great lively lobby with fun drinks and young people. Not a place for business suites or polyester ties. Next door is an amazing Seafood/ Oyster bar named John Dory- very much worth the $ Rooms are basic, but very well styled. It has an awesome bed, old school record player and selection of records together with a guitar for those who like to play a tune before going to bed. Rooms where luckily quite enough for a relaxing sleep. Liked the soaps for the copper shower, although not a huge fan of taking showers in the bath tup. In general good value for money & good location in Midtown to get around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

John Dorey has some of the best oysters in town. Great spot to eat and for crowd watching.

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zara Jones
Business
Portland, Oregon
Mar 14, 2014

Great location

Close to wonderful restaurants, N subway. Beautiful view of the Empire State Building. My new spot in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
spinynorman
Business
UK
Mar 4, 2014

Place for hipsters

Booked Ace NYC on basis of family member's experience of Ace Palm Springs. NYC isn't in same league. Problem is the hotel tries so hard to be a cool hangout for "hipsters", it forgets to be a hotel and paying overnight guests are a low priority. We arrived about 4pm on Friday. Lobby seating was full of people surfing on Macbooks. We just needed somewhere to sit for a coffee and a sandwich, but there was nowhere. The coffee shop was crowded and freezing cold because of people coming in from outside, the sandwich shop is only accessible from the street and has no seating. Took sandwiches back to hotel, but weren't allowed to eat them in the bar/restaurant area, despite the shop being listed as one of the hotel's amenities. The Mini rooms are spartan and tired, with a very strange theme, like a futuristic prison cell with 1960s pine furniture. Bathroom suffered from icy draught from ill-fitting windows, shower and bath tap came on together, outlet was slow, so bath filled with water. Shower was lukewarm, though basin water was hot. The room had a kettle and some random packs of tea, but no coffee, sugar or milk. Positives, most staff were helpful, breakfasts were excellent, beds were comfortable. My recommendation to the hotel would be to create a space exclusive to overnight guests, maybe on an upper floor, where they can sit, get a coffee or other drink and light meals or sandwiches. That alone would have improved my first impression by 100%. And freshen up the decor and furniture in the rooms, it's not like they're cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Film Forum has great programs of classic films on big screen.

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
theatre fan
Business
The Bay Area
Jan 20, 2014

Crowded and noisy

Good location. Trendy if you are into trendy, Loud, crowded in lobby. Rooms small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FlatPiglet
Business
Cambridge, MA
Jan 11, 2014

Good mix of buzz and quiet

Had a 'small' room which was fine, with a comfy king bed, and no noise at all from the buzzy lobby. Couple of nits: no power socket available at the desk, and more power sockets in the lobby would be great. Also the bathroom window was pretty drafty, which in the cold snap during which I stayed, made for a chilly morning shower. But overall a good stay, and a great location for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
London gals
Business
London
Jan 6, 2014

Hidden Gem tucked away in the flatiron district

Could not fault this Hotel at all. Laid back trendy boutique Hotel The Breslin serves the best coffee I have ever had and the queue is worth the wait. Staff go out of their way to help make your stay a great experience. The beds are really comfortable and did not want to leave !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sarah Beths have the most amazing pancakes/french toast unfortunately the coffee was not as good as the Breslin though

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Neil and friends
Business
Snug harbor ri
Dec 30, 2013

Super cool place

This place was awesome. Staff was great. Cool bar downstairs. They even had a loaner guitar. I'd def stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Pioneer bar down the road was fun as well as tavern 29 for breakfast

Review of Ace Hotel New York

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SaraSara
Business
Pennsylvania
Dec 29, 2013

the worst experience

the hotel doesn't deserve any star. The room is dark, too small and doesn't follow any standard for a hotel. Don't get fool by the nice lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top