$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

70 park avenue, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
70 Park Avenue at corner, of 38th and Park Avenue, New York, NY 10016
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
115 reviews
New Years

was awesome best time I've ever had! hotel is by grand central. two blocks away , hop the trains to... See full review

  • chardog
  • Dec 5, 2014
Perfect stay

On arrival, the hotel staff were very pleasant and welcoming. Everything was explained clearly and... See full review

  • Lauz
  • Dec 3, 2014
Nice-price boutique on Park Avenue near the best of New York City
Enjoy Park Avenue boutique chic without the lofty New York City price tag at 70 park avenue, a Kimpton Hotel. A short walk from the hotel brings visitors to Times Square, Broadway shows and more. The 205 designer guest rooms provide lush sanctuary with classic cool, including high-tech touches such as 42-inch LCD TVs, spa-inspired bath amenities and minibars with gourmet and organic selections. Nonsmoking and pet-friendly, the 70 park avenue also features a restaurant/bar, in-room spa services, valet parking and a complimentary wine hour.
Highlights

  • Walk to the best of New York City from this central location
  • Designer-crafted boutique hotel with personal service and special extra touches
  • In-room spa services (fees apply) and a 42-inch LCD TV with CD/DVD player and sound system

Location
70 park avenue fronts famed Park Avenue at East 38th Street. The hotel is close to Grand Central Terminal, the New York Public Library, Bryant Park, Times Square and the subway station.
Rooms
Renowned designer Jeffrey Bilhuber created the "American Classicism" atmosphere at 70 park avenue, with 205 guest rooms that bring the traditional glamour of the city to life. Rooms range from doubles to a penthouse suite. Each includes a 42-inch LCD flat-screen TV with a CD/DVD player and a music/theater sound system, an iHome with MP3 docking station, a goose-down feather bed with Frette linens and high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access (fees apply, but free for Loyalty members).
Features
Dine in at Silverleaf Tavern, serving New York-with-a-twist breakfast and dinner (except Sunday) plus cocktails. The 70 park avenue also offers in-room spa services, a fitness room with free weights and cardiovascular, and access (fees apply) to the New York Sports Club.
Transportation

  • Grand Central Terminal (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Penn Station (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (10.8 mi/17.3 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14.9 mi/24 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (16.5 mi/26.6 km)

Attractions

  • Empire State Building (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Times Square (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Central Park (1.3 mi/2 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (3.3 mi/5.3 km)

Business

  • High-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access throughout the hotel (fees apply)
  • Offers 645 square feet of flexible meeting space (fees apply)
  • Catering and event-planning services (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed 70 park avenue, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

70 park avenue, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen B
Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Queen Bed 235-285 Sq Ft with Bigelow bath amenities
Accessible Dlx Rm 1 Kg Bd Roll I
Accessible Dlx Rm 1 Kg Bd Roll In Shower with grab bars and a handheld shower head.
Accessible Qn Dlx Rm Roll In Shw
Accessible Qn Dlx Rm Roll In Shwr with grab bars and handheld shower head
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room wit
Accessible Queen Deluxe Room with 1 Bed accessible tub with a handheld shower head.
Accessible Dble Rm with 1 Full S
Accessible Dble Rm with 1 Full Size Bed and a roll in shower with a handheld shower head.
Accessible Dbl Dlx 2 Bd Roll In
Accessible Dbl Dlx 2 Bd Roll In shower with a handheld shower head.
Accessible Dbl Rm 1 Full Bd Roll
Accessible Dbl Rm 1 Full Bd roll in shower with a handheld shower head.
Double Room with 1 Full Size Bed
Double Room with 1 Bed 225 Sq. Ft. Bigelow bath amenities 42 inch flat screen TV
Double Double Deluxe Room with 2
Double Double Deluxe Room with 2 Beds 260-280 Sq. Ft Bigelow bath amenities
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed
King Deluxe Room with 1 King Bed 260-300 Sq. Ft. Bigelow Bath amenities
Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 B
Queen Queen Deluxe Room with 2 Beds 300-325 Sq Ft with Bigelow bath amenities
King Premier Room with 1 King Be
King Premier Room with 1 King Bed 325-350 Sq. Ft., Bigelow bath amenities
Queen Suite with 1 Queen Bed
Queen Suite with 1 Queen Bed 350 Sq Ft with Bigelow bath products
Accessible King Suite with 1 Kin
King Suite with 1 King Bed 475 Sq Ft with separate living room
Parlor Suite
Parlor Suite 700 square feet with balcony. Views of Manhattan 2 bedroom 2 living room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.1 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.2 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chrysler Building: 0.3 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.3 mi
  • The King's College: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Macys: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Tudor City: 0.5 mi
  • Ralph Bunche Park: 0.5 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Robert Moses Playground: 0.5 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.5 mi
  • Century Building: 0.5 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.6 mi
  • International Building: 0.6 mi
  • Theater District: 0.6 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Japan Society Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.6 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.6 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • United Nations Headquarters: 0.6 mi
  • GE Building: 0.6 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • East 34th Street Heliport: 0.6 mi

Dining

silverleaf tavern
silverleaf tavern - inspired by the rich culinary diversity of New York and the history of the early American tavern - is a modern place - a top New York bar and restaurant where friends and neighbors gather to savor the joys of good food drink and life.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (115)

Ratings and reviews for 70 park avenue, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of 70 park avenue, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shannon T
Business
Petaluma, CA
Oct 15, 2012

Girls shopping trip

Wonderful experience, would definitely stay here again. Clean, comfortable, larger than other NYC rooms I've seen. Anything we needed, even a steamer was brought right up. Great, convenient midtown location. I love Kimpton's!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 70 park avenue, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B. Spears
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Oct 10, 2012

Nice hotel for NYC but not 5 star

They did a nice job during the recent renovation of 70 Park Ave. The hotel is clean and felt comfortable. I was a little disappointed with the 2nd floor room I had. The windows were completely frosted and didn't allow any light in due to the fact that a large A/C unit was directly outside. Not bad, but if you want something nicer and in a better location stay at the W for a couple dollars more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like burgers step over to Lexington Ave and hit up Black Shack. Great little place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 70 park avenue, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Girl777
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 18, 2012

Weekend in NYC

I had a great stay at this hotel. The hotel itself was really nice, clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. My only issue was the bathroom as it was a little small and hard to move around. The location was really convenient as my friend and I wanted to hit all of the touristy places; 15 min walk to Times Square, short walk to the Empire State Building & Grand Central Station, short cab ride to the World Trade Center memoral etc. There was also complimentary coffee/tea in the morning and wine/sangria in the evening. Great hotel at a great price, I would definately recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 70 park avenue, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JcfBx
Business
London, UK
Jun 13, 2012

Amazing, absolutely love it!

Great location and quiet, considering it's on Park Avenue and a couple of blocks from Grand Central. The staff were so friendly, helpful and funny, they really made us feel at home. Every single member of staff you passed greeted you warmly. The doorman was excellent, we had some trouble with getting a taxi to take us to the Bronx so he got the exact directions for the driver. The concierge and reception staff were extrmely helpful when it came to bookings, directions and general information.They planned an entire day for us, helicopter tour, tickets for World Trade Centre etc. then piled us with discounts for shops. We were too busy to enjoy the daily wine evening but the atmosphere in the lobby was exciting. We signed up for the free Kimpton membership programme which meant that we got free WiFi! The attached bar/restaurant is stunning. The only qualm we had was the morning breakfast there was quite dissappointing and a tad expensive for what was on offer. Overrall it was the best New York hotel I've stayed at so far and only wish we could've stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Pershing Square Cafe, opposite Grand Central- under the bridge - 2 blocks from the hotel, has the best pancakes I think I've ever had and the staff are amazing. What a beautiful restaurant. Really classic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 70 park avenue, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Auburn Girl
Business
Montgomery, AL
Jun 7, 2012

Fantastic Hotel

Stayed at 70 park avenue this past weekend. It was convenient to Grand Central Station. They have wine in the evening, which is great! The room was very clean. If the staff could've remembered that we needed three washcloths instead of two, it would've been perfect. However, we had to ask for an additional washcloth each of the three days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 70 park avenue, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Girls from OC
Business
Laguna Beach, California
Jun 1, 2012

Miss my hotel already!

My gfs and I, 4 of us just back from our mini Memorial Bday Weekend Getaway in NYC. This place made it even memorable for my first visit in the city plus made my bday weekend even funner. Perfect location in the middle of midtown 1 block away from Grand Central Station, and next door to Bofa and Starbuck..perfect for us since we love our coffee there. When I checked in the receptionist, forgot her name, gave me a welcome-bday-gift, a tray of champagne and 2 slices of delish cheese cakes and strawberries..well..actually I told her that I checked in the same day as my bday. But besides that this is not big hotel like W, this is a nice small hotel but very clean and cozy. The staffs are very nice and welcoming, overall..the girls and I had a wondeful time and everytime we back to our hotel we feel like home again. Thanks 70 park Ave..we miss you already!! kisses from Sunny Cali!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to R Lounge in Time Square if you want to see the best view. And to see the city, Manhattan, while you enjoying your cocktail go to Press Lounge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 70 park avenue, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. KinLA
Business
Encino, CA
May 14, 2012

small but works

Good service, good staff. All around not a bad place whatsoever. However, the room is small, the bathroom is microscopic. Luckily my girlfriend is small so we were able to manage, but i'm about 6ft tall and it was a bit difficult in the shower and bathroom area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 70 park avenue, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Factual Frankie
Business
Salt Lake City Utah
May 8, 2012

girls get away

very nice staff, great location close to Grand Central Station and 5th Ave. Local restaurants good. Concierge very accomodating. Cons the tub would not drain fast enough for a two person shower so we had to shower in shifts

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Belly Dancers at Arabesc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 70 park avenue, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GirlFriendWE1
Business
Henderson, KY, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Girl Friends Long Weekend Trip

The location was perfect, the room was comfortable and safe. The staff was very friendly, attentive and helpful. The four walk block to Grand Central was safe, even late at night. The only draw back was the temperature of the room, it got really warm in the night and couldn't get the thermostate to regulate the temperature. But the staff said they would look into it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of 70 park avenue, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
young retiree
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 23, 2012

cramp quarters

The room was very small. Could not get dressed without bumping into the bed or the desk. No wash cloths in room. toliet was stopped up. Staff responded to all isues promptly. Would not stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at one of the local deli. The in house restaurant very expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top