$123 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

3 stars
48 Canada Street, Lake George, NY 12845
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
47 reviews
Brief stay

Check in was great- the eve gentleman was very helpful. He suggested great places to eat. Room was... See full review

  • katescoot
  • May 21, 2013
Lovely

First- staff could not have been more wonderful, especially the gentleman who checked me in that... See full review

  • katescoot
  • May 16, 2013
One of the few area resorts open year-round, the Fort William Henry offers a variety of lodging accommodations with the perfect mix of historical elegance and today's conveniences. There are three unique buildings to choose from - the upscale traditional grace of the Grand Hotel; the comfort of the Premium East Wing and the convenience of the Standard West Motel. All of our accommodations enjoy access to our extensive amenities, including an indoor pool with sauna and Jacuzzi, Olympic-size outdoor pool, several unique shops & boutiques, and three superb restaurants all on resort grounds. This historic Adirondack hotel is located on an 18-acre estate spanning the southern shore at the head of Lake George. A stunning location combined with beautifully landscaped grounds and world-class views of the many islands of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack mountains.
Located in the very heart of the Lake George Region, surrounded by the mountains, the hotel is set on immaculately groomed grounds that overlook the southern basin of Lake George. There is so much to do at the Fort William Henry Hotel grounds. Shopping for everything from casual wear, to old-fashioned fudge, to floral arrangements dining at one of the three acclaimed restaurants and of course, a tour through the famous Fort William Henry Museum & Restoration - the setting of James Fenimore Cooper's action classic "The Last of the Mohicans." You are invited to experience the fine dining and gracious hospitality. From the magnificent sunrise until long after the sun sets, the hope you will select the Lake George area as your destination choice. Please note that there is a mandatory USD 6.00 per day resort fee payable at check-out.

Hotel Map

43.421 -73.7127
Area served
Lake George.
Nearby airports
Albany International Airport 53 miles Taxi, Bus system
Area description
Located in the very heart of the Lake George Region, surrounded by the mountains, the hotel is set on immaculately groomed grounds that overlook the southern basin of Lake George.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center Rooms

Stand West Motel - Double
Stand West Motel - Double offers one double bed or one sofa bed and two double beds. Standard West - convenient exterior corridors make the two-story Standard West motel easy to unload and load your car (or bicycle!). Relax and take in the lake or village scenes from the decks or patios on both sides of the motel. Amenities include: Outside Access, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing Board, Coffee Maker, In-room safe, Pay Per View Movies/Games, Individual Climate Control, Heat/AC, Two Double Beds or One Double Bed and Full Size Sleeper Sofa, Bath/Shower Combo or Stand-up Shower Unit
Premium East Wing - Double
Premium East Wing - Double offers one double bed or one sofa bed and two double beds. Premium East wing - offers two stories of cozy Adirondack comfort with secure interior hallway access and all the amenities the resort has to offer, including the Fort William Henry Museum, just steps away! Amenities include: Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing Board, Coffee Maker, In-room Safe, Pay Per View Movies/Games, Wireless Internet Access, Individual Climate Control Heat/AC, Two Double Beds or One Double Bed and Full Size Sleeper Sofa, Bath/Shower Combo or Stand-up Shower Unit
Grand Hotel - Guest_Room
Grand Hotel - Guest_Room offers two double beds or one king bed and one sleeper sofa. Grand Hotel - The newest addition to the Fort William Henry Hotel brings back the style and elegance of a long ago era when adults sipped mint juleps on the lawns of elegant Lake George hotels while the children played croquet overlooking the sparkling water. The Grand Hotel offers five stories of rooms and suites with spectacular views of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack Mountains. Amenities include: Microwave, Mini Refrigerators, Hair Dryer, Iron/Ironing Board, Coffee Maker, In-room Safe, Pay Per View Movies/Games, Wireless Internet Access, Individual Climate Control Heat/AC, Double Sleeper Sofa (in all King Rooms), Twin Sleeper Sofa (in all Double Rooms), Standing Shower, Separate Bath

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Plan and attend unforgettable Lake George meetings for 10 to 300! The Fort William Henry Conference Center offers 16,500 square feet of flexible function space in the hub of the Adirondack Mountains.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.2

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Factster
Wilbraham, MA
Aug 18, 2014

Hotel or Motel?

When we first checked in we got put into the motel part of the hotel. The safe was propped up on the ground on top of a trash can, there were cracks in the walls, it was dark and it was a motel room. We asked to change into another room, while reluctant the staff member switched us. The hotel part is great, very clean, spacious, and I would recommend that you ask to stay in that part, unless you're looking to pay hotel prices for a motel. I would only recommend this hotel if you stay in the hotel section, not the motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Heather27
Newburgh
Aug 15, 2014

great location, indoor pool needs some work

Indoor pool was very cloudy and floating bandaids were present. Room was nice and location was perfect. Hotel double charged us, still waiting for reversal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NDE56
PA
Jul 10, 2014

Lake George

Room was basic average room. Nothing to write home about. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Had to change room due to someone smoking outside room near door. Recommend no smoking on premises. Unfortunately room had 2 year old who was up screaming and crying until 2 or 3 AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lake, and Fort William Henry next door.

Review of Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gimefreerretard
dover nh
May 28, 2014

Me and my girl

Stayed in the west motel part. Under the bed and chairs were very dirty. Noise from the bar across the street kept us up all night. The main hotel rooms are way more $. The grounds are amazing and breakfast was a good price with a awesome view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ny Mommy latina
Albany NY
May 27, 2014

family getaway

Great except for no microwave and hair in the shower drain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellen M Peters
Lake George
Apr 27, 2014

family getaway

Staff exceptionally helpful. Bed terribly uncomfortable- woke up with backache.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Irishgirl358
Massachusetts
Dec 9, 2013

They Were Closed When We Arrived!

I booked 3 days at the hotel back in August for the week of Thanksgiving fir my fiance and I. I booked from 11/26-11/29. His family is from the are and we wanted to stay at a hotel that was within close proximity (ie: walking distance) to everyone in town. When we arrived that afternoon we were greeted with a "Sorry Hotel Closed, come back tomorrow" sign! Needless to say, I was shocked and my fiance was outraged. I didn't receive a phone call about any changes. I was not notified that I would not have a place to stay when I arrived...by the hotel or this travel site. I was told that because I booked my stay through a third party they had no way of contacting me. I find this hard to believe, but I digress. The gentlemen at the front desk handled everything in stride and with efficiency. We were put up at another hotel in the area. It was very far out of the range that we wanted to be in. We had to drive or taxi where we traveled to. It was at the other side of town. At the second hotel we were upgraded to a king suite for the night, which was lovely. Upon our return to The Fort the next day we were upgraded from a queen room to a king suite with a jacuzzi and a lake view. It was much appreciated after having to travel around from hotel to hotel and with the booking mishaps. However, upon turning on the lights we noticed there were stains on some of the walls, as if no one had wiped them down or bothered to look at them. There was also mold in the corners of the stand-up shower. It was as if they had locked up the room for a few months and had not bothered to take the extra time to actually LOOK around to SEE what the everything looked like. Did they clean the room in the dark?! It took away from and tainted the fact that it was indeed such a beautiful room. The bed however was amazingly comfy. Do to it's close proximity to our family we are going to give it another shot this Christmas in hopes that we just arrived at a "bad time". It's a shame that I am even writing this type of review for such a beautiful place with rich history.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Judd's is a lovely little watering hole on the main town strip. Stop in for a beer, to catch a game, for a local musical treat or for some great appetizers.

Review of Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katescoot
Long Beach, NY
May 21, 2013

Brief stay

Check in was great- the eve gentleman was very helpful. He suggested great places to eat. Room was exactly what I needed; slightly dated, but otherwise fine. I cannot wait to return. My only real regret is that I was there very briefly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katescoot
Long Beach, NY
May 16, 2013

Lovely

First- staff could not have been more wonderful, especially the gentleman who checked me in that evening. Beautiful location, gorgeous views. The room is a little bit dated but clean, and was fine for my stay. Only regret was that I did not have more time there, and that it was a bit off season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Egide H.
Princeton, NJ
May 8, 2013

Wonderful breakfast room views

Interesting old resort atmosphere. Good room- breakfast room overlooks the lake. You can eat out in warm weather. Wonderful. old Fort right on the grounds. Breakfast pricing very competitive too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search