$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, NY

3 stars
1100 Danby Road- Rte 96b, Ithaca, NY 14850
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
22 reviews
Excellent hotel for business or pleasure

The check-in staff was very friendly, the hotel has free coffee always available in the lobby. The... See full review

  • Dim Sum Joe
  • Sep 5, 2014
Stayed for conference

The hotel and rooms were extremely well kept, it was like a bed and breakfast feel. Comfortable,... See full review

  • traveler2013a
  • Oct 8, 2013
Comfortable and convenient with free cookies and a local shuttle

Close to Buttermilk Falls State Park and relatively new in town, Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Ithaca welcomes guests with a cozy lobby, fireplace and classic wood-banister staircase. Free coffee and cookies tempt around the clock, and a free shuttle runs guests to the airport, local businesses or popular Ithaca shopping destinations. Waffles are a highlight on the free deluxe continental breakfast buffet. Afterward, guests can relax at the indoor pool or whirlpool or set out to explore wineries, parks or colleges of the Finger Lakes region.

Rooms

The 58 large guest rooms of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Ithaca promote convenience and comfort, whether guests check in for the night or are on an extended stay. Enjoy the 32-inch flat-screen HD TV with premium satellite channels and free Wi-Fi access. Each room offers a work desk, microwave, refrigerator, coffee-maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board and a free copy of USA Today. Suites and pet-friendly rooms are available as well (fees apply).

Highlights

  • Free deluxe continental breakfast with waffles
  • Free 24/7 coffee, cookies and candy in the lobby
  • Free wireless Internet access in all rooms
  • Free shuttle service to the airport, local businesses and shopping centers
  • Indoor pool, spa tub and fitness center

Features

Parking, newspapers and 24-hour coffee and cookies are all complimentary at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Ithaca. Head to the business center or the fitness center with treadmill and exercise bike 24 hours a day. Several popular restaurant choices sit within less than four miles of the hotel including an oyster bar, remodeled firehouse and a steakhouse. In a renovated historic brick school building just two blocks away, Moosewood Restaurant has been featured in Bon Appetit magazine. The acclaimed restaurant serves up natural foods, creative vegetarian cuisine and many in-house-authored cookbooks.                  

Transportation

  • Ithaca Tompkins Regional Airport (8.5 mi/13.7 km)
  • Syracuse Hancock International Airport (63.9 mi/102.8 km)
  • Free shuttle to the airport, local businesses or nearby shops

Attractions

  • Ithaca Commons shops (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Buttermilk Falls State Park (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Sciencenter (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Hangar Theatre (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Museum of the Earth (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Shops at Ithaca Mall (6.5 mi/10.4 km)
  • Greek Peak ski area (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Cascades Indoor Water Park (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Watkins Glen International Raceway (31 mi/49.9 km)
  • Corning Museum of Glass (45 mi/72.4 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access in rooms
  • 24-hour business center with copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • 1600 square feet of meeting space seats up to 100 people with free Internet access, sound and lighting service and multimedia player

Hotel Map

42.4072 -76.5031
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
TOMKINS COUNTY, (ITH), 10.00, MI, S; HANCOCK INTL, (SYR), 67.00, MI, S; EDWIN A LINK FIELD, (BGM), 42.00, MI, N;
Area description
Suburban, This hotel is located in a suburban area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, NY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Security
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Kitchen
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Schoellkopf Field: 2.8 mi
  • Lynah Rink: 3 mi
  • Cornell University: 3.1 mi
  • Newman Arena: 2,361 mi

Dining

Breakfast Room
Located near the lobby
John Thomas Steakhouse
Located less then 1 mile South of hotel at Latourelle Spa & Resort 1152 Danbury Road (Rt 96B)
Simeon's on the Commons
Corner of Aurora Street and Commons. Outdoor dining available in season
Mahogany Grill
607-272-1438 114 N Aurora Street
Za Za Cucina
607-273-9292 622 Cascadilla Street
Joe's Italian Restaurant
602 West Buffalo Street
The Antlers Restaurant
607-273-9725 1159 Dryden Road
Boatyard Grill
525 Taughannock Boulevard

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, NY

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, NY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern NJ
Dec 10, 2009

Nice Hotel in Ithaca

This is my second time staying at a Country Inn. I would highly recommend this hotel chain to someone looking for a reasonably priced and comfortable hotel. The Country Inn in Ithaca looked to be fairly new. So the facilities were in excellent condition. The rooms were fairly large and have a separate living room. There was a free breakfast buffet. The location is excellent if you're visiting Ithaca College and/or Cornell University, which was the purpose of our trip. It is also convenient to Watkins Glen. I will use this hotel again on my next trip to the Ithaca region. Great hotel for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Had a great dinner at the Boat Yard. On a previous visit to the area we ate at Maxie's Supper Club, which is also very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, NY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dim Sum Joe
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Sep 5, 2014

Excellent hotel for business or pleasure

The check-in staff was very friendly, the hotel has free coffee always available in the lobby. The included breakfast is good. Rooms are clean and spacious. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel; I had a lovely time there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, NY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveler2013a
Business
New York
Oct 8, 2013

Stayed for conference

The hotel and rooms were extremely well kept, it was like a bed and breakfast feel. Comfortable, quiet, had a fridge which was very convenient. The only "complaint" is that the shower drain was not draining so well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, NY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lilly of rochester
Business
Rochester, NY
Aug 5, 2012

Beware this hotel "downgrades" reservations!

We reserved a suite at this hotel with two queen beds. The hotel took our full deposit on credit card. When we arrived at check in the hotel explained our room had been "downgraded" to a one queen bed suite. When I stood my ground the hotel offered 20 dollars off and a comforter so our extra party members could "sleep on the floor" if need be. When I asked why we were "downgraded", it was explained that a large wedding party had "bumped" our reservation and that the hotel was "overbooked" and we were lucky to have a room. There were no other rooms available in the area. This is dirty pool on the hotels' part. When you make a reservation for a specific type hotel room...(i.e. a two room suite, or two queen beds in a room instead of one) THAT is the type of room you should be getting. I might also add that the hotel offers higher rates online than if you call the hotel directly. I think they are "bumping" people down who agreed to a lower rate.... .....rooms up for bid..... NOT COOL.....taking up the problem with my credit card company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

great parks in the Ithaca area....enjoyed the Science Center as well as the Nature Center

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, NY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shan141414
Business
Westchester, NY
May 14, 2012

Great stay but overpriced

The hotel was excellent for our one night stay to visit Cornell however, I did not feel that the price was appropriate. I have stayed at luxurious hotels for a lower price than this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, NY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ithaca Colege Mom and Dad
Business
Bosto, MA
Jan 25, 2011

Not as Good as it could have been!

Nice ,newer,hotel. Room was about average size for type hotel. Not a lot of closet space. Beds very comfortable, plenty of pillows. Nice 32" TV. Bathroom was all right. About average size but could have been a bit brighter. Breakfast very good. Nice pool and workout area. Maid Service WAS AWFUL!. Did not empty out the trash after first night., and did not even clean room till we came back after 2:30pm and complained after 2nd night. Would have given higher marks but the Maid Service ruined what would have been a nice stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, NY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tarrytown, NY
Nov 9, 2010

Good location for Ithaca College parents

Very comfortable and clean hotel room. Good space and the staff is very accommodating. Only complaint is that the pipes clang when the hot water comes up in the shower in the next room. Keep the cookies coming!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss Ithaca Bakery or Collegetown bagels right in Ithaca!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, NY

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Sep 3, 2010

Trip to Cornell University/Ithaca, NY

We had a large group of folks across the hall from our room that simply made a lot of noise, and quite frankly made my daughter and I a bit uncomfortable. Other than that, the hotel was simply that: just a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, NY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 28, 2010

Ithaca, NY

This hotel is typical of Country Inn and Suites. Large rooms, clean and good staff. The breakfast was a little weaker than most with little variety, but that's what you get for free I guess. All in all, a good hotel, but the price is a little high for this experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the many gorges and falls in the area. It's a shockingly good tour. Robert Treman, Watkins Glen, Buttermilk and Taughannock are all terrific parks. And if you pay the entrance fee for one, the remainders you visit that day are free. However, your legs won't carry you more than two hikes in a day. Also, Wegman's supermarket is nearby on Route 13. Go there for sandwiches, breakfast and more. You'll be amazed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, NY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JFE2030
Business
Upstate NY
Jul 25, 2010

Very good

Very nice staff. Helpful with directions to area attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, NY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
llw
Business
fairfield, ct
Jul 15, 2010

comfortable and friendly

Great hotel and staff, [...]Staff lovely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Buttermilk falls right next to hotel. Everywhere short and easy drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top