Flushing YMCA

2 stars
View map of 138-46 Northern Boulevard, Flushing, NY 11354

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Flushing YMCA

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.2
Location:
3.2
Value:
2.9

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Flushing YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Minling
Business
Mount Pleasant, MI
Aug 19, 2012

Small room but friendly staff

Room is very small. But, hotel staff are friendly and helpful. And people living there are also friendly. Happy to meet some foreign friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flushing YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FLYINGTRAVELER
Business
COLUMBUS, OH
Aug 7, 2012

Flushing Ymca Hotel, NY

for the $95.00 we paid I will not recommend this place unless you just want it for one night, rooms carpets are dirty and just a couple of beds, bathroom was in the 4th floor and my room was in the 5th floor, no privacy at all. Air Condition is window A/C unit. It is located inside the YMCA so you will see many people using their facilities, Saunas, gyms, etc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flushing YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hokie1
Business
Virginia
Jul 25, 2012

Never again

There are three counters in the reception. When I waited at the first one, they directed my to the second one for checking in. The second counter person directed me to the third counter, only to find that no one was there in the seat. After waiting for 10 minutes or so, received room key. When I entered the room, it was smelling horrible. Room was very small ( 60-70 sq ft) with a small single bed, which the hotel call it as twin bed. There is a small wash basin, but no bathrooms. Bathroom was far away, and it was more like a community shower. Just separated from the main hall by a shower curtain and people are supposed to shower in line with a small division in between. After arguing about the smell, I was assigned another room, this time less smelling and spacious ( of course, without attached bathroom). After one hour, some one knocked at the room and demanded me to vacate everything from the old room or pay two room's rent. I was sure that there was nothing in the previous room, but I escorted him just to show him that there was nothing. No internet availability, TV was small and had close to 10 useless channels. The place is pretty crowded with lots of people using the gym facilities in the downstairs. Never in this place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flushing YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stardust
Business
London
May 28, 2012

Sight seeing

The hotel was near the supermarket, busy streets and subway. However it was about 45 minute train ride from Manhatten, where most of the main attractions were. After a day sightseeing, it was pretty exhausting travelling back and forth. The hotel was ok for price, but I don't think I will stay there again. You had to share shower and toilet. I didn't feel really safe when taking a shower, it seemed like a prison; dark and dingy. But I got used to it after the first day. Also for sight seeing, the location was far from manhatten.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flushing YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ali shah
Business
houston
Jan 3, 2012

bad experience

there wasn't any thermostat control in the room, they had put the heat on full, pretty much boiled us in the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flushing YMCA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
IWalkTheLand
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Very spare and bare-bones

Typical YMCA. Reminds me of staying at a college dorm, but with higher turnover and more worn-out sheets. I'd suggest you bring your own amenities if you want to be more comfortable. However, I do appreciate the existence of such a lodging choice and hope that other travelers do their part in maintaining cleanliness and upkeep, so that we all benefit from this shared experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flushing YMCA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Viana
Business
China
Oct 12, 2011

good choice

It's the best choice!If you want to find a better hotel and not far away the Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

near the subway!you can go anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flushing YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lonley traveler
Business
Portland, OR
Oct 5, 2011

Great Hostel, don't expect it to be a hotel though

You have your own bedroom with small refridge and TV and a facet to wash your hands and face. The room is not very clean, especially the carpet. However, the bed and the refridge is clean and usable. And the bed seems to have an extra inside cover (I think to prevent bedbugs) so there is a less worry about getting bedbugs from some of the hostels around NYC. You should share the common bathroom and a shower rooms, which is quite clean. Everyone in the same floor will be given a key to acess thos shared bathroom. So, this is not really an hotel. But as an hostel I think it is very nice place to stay. Since it is close to Flushing Main street, which is the Flushing downtown, you have a lot of 24 hours grocery and fast food/coffee places. And, you can get variety of decent asian foods and yummies (such as bubble tea and others) at a low price. Subway 7 line is quite close, so easy to travel out to Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flushing YMCA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lonley traveler
Business
Portland, OR
Oct 5, 2011

Great Hostel, don't expect it to be a hotel though

You have your own bedroom with small refridge and TV and a facet to wash your hands and face. The room is not very clean, especially the carpet. However, the bed and the refridge is clean and usable. And the bed seems to have an extra inside cover (I think to prevent bedbugs) so there is a less worry about getting bedbugs from some of the hostels around NYC. You should share the common bathroom and a shower rooms, which is quite clean. Everyone in the same floor will be given a key to acess thos shared bathroom. So, this is not really an hotel. But as an hostel I think it is very nice place to stay. Since it is close to Flushing Main street, which is the Flushing downtown, you have a lot of 24 hours grocery and fast food/coffee places. And, you can get variety of decent asian foods and yummies (such as bubble tea and others) at a low price. Subway 7 line is quite close, so easy to travel out to Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Flushing YMCA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
舊金山, 加利福尼亞州, 美國
Aug 29, 2011

suck

when I go into the room, there is a terrible smell. also there is a cockroach on the floor, and everything looks very dirty. I had terrible dreams these four night ~terrible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are many kinds of food in flushing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top