$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Hyatt Regency Buffalo

4 stars
View map of TWO FOUNTAIN PLAZA, BUFFALO, NY 14202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Oct 21, 2010

Pricey

We went to a concert, we would have liked it more if the bar would have stayed open longer than 11:30 and the had a resturant that served snacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Attica, NY
Oct 18, 2010

Not a good experience

There for an over night after a concert downtown. Check was quite late........after 4:3O and there was no discount, food coupon nothing. Friends that were there got a parking coupon and $5. We got neither. Terribly inconsistent policy. Most staff seemed confused about directions. When asking about a restaurant nearby, bartender said just a block or 2 away. Desk person said oh not it's 7 blocks. Glad we didn't try to walk it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Eddie Brady's is a great bar

Review of Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia Area, PA
Oct 7, 2010

The Hyatt Regency was pretty, but......

The hotel seemed like it had potential, but they just haven't reached it yet. They claim to have 2 "Great" restaurants, but the one was closed & the Steakhouse was TERRIBLE!!! I actually had to send my food back! I also can't believe that in 2010 hotels still charge for the internet!! $10 to use the web!!! I think if you have to pay for parking at the hotel you SHOULD'T HAVE TO PAY FOR INTERNET!! Also, the hotel says they are in the "heart" of the city's Entertainment & Night Life districts.... Um, NO. The only thing outside our hotel was a Chinese restaurant & some homeless people. The one thing I can give them though is that it's the nicest place in that area, but I don't think that says a lot. I guess really just stay away from Buffalo all together, to be honest. If you're going up there, my advice would be to stay in Canada =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

JUST STAY IN CANADA.... DON'T STAY IN BUFFALO!!!! B-O-R-I-N-G!!!

Review of Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Sep 14, 2010

It was ok

We were in Buffalo for a quick getaway. We went to see Niagara Falls and the Hockey Hall of Fame and decided to stay in Buffalo to see a bit of New York also. The Hotel wasn't in the best part of town. A lot of boarded up shops and run down buildings. If you are planning to stay through a weekend i would advise to stay somewhere else, because this is in downtown and nothing is open during the weekend. It was a nice hotel but was missing something. The staff was excellent. The food was great (nevermind the endless confusion with the breakfast "coupons"). All-in-all a good hotel, but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Aug 8, 2010

An unqualified disaster

I visited Buffalo to take the New York Bar Exam with a friend who is also an attorney. First we didnt get the room we reserved, they put us somewhere else. The first room had bad plumbing in the bathroom, after a shower the bath water just stayed in the bathtub and wouldnt go down. Gross!!!! I immediately asked for a new room. The AC in the 2nd room wasnt cooling. It took almost 2 hours before the hotel provided me with a fan [in July!!!] Needless to say, I didnt get much sleep the night before the Bar Exam [as if taking the Bar isnt nerve-wracking enough]! Finally drifted off to sleep at about 3am after much tossing and turning. I woke up with a humongous headache. The hotel offered us complimentary breakfast as compensation and promised to have the AC fixed before we got back from our Exam in the evening. The breakfast was a joke: tepid coffee, greasy eggs and very greasy sausages. I was also not given what I ordered: I ordered white bread, eggs and sausages; but was given potatoes, whole wheat bread and eggs. I gave up and went for my exams. When we got back that evening, the AC was still not working and to make matters worse, the ceiling in my room had started leaking. I complained again and was moved to yet another room. In the 3rd room, we turned on the light and there was a small explosion with smoke coming out of one of the bulbs. We were moved YET AGAIN to another room but the 4th room had a single bed so we decided to stick with Room No 3 after the light bulb was fixed.I marched to the Front Desk to request a refund for my first night since Ididnt get much sleep due to lack of AirConditioning. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jul 26, 2010

Nice hotel but parking a problem

The hotel is very nice and the rooms in excellent condition. If you are looking for accommodation in downtown Buffalo or in driving distance to the Niagara Falls this is an excellent choice. However, the hotel does not have a parking garage built in and walking across the street to the nearest parking garage is an inconvenience. I got free breakfast and the 2-bed rooms were on sale - good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
k@rin@
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 14, 2010

Nice place

I only stayed at Hyatt one night, we arrived late at night after a 7 hour drive, we where exhausted and just wanted to go straight to sleep. At check in the lady that attended us was friendly and helpful, although I did not like that we had to then go get all the luggage from the car bring it up to our room and then have to go all the way back down to move the car to a parking lot across the street (where you have to pay) *hotel does not have a parking lot*. And as I walk in our room I do notice hair on the rest room floor, probably cleaning person missed it when cleaning the room, but i always carry my flipflops so problem fixed for me. Other than that the room fit its purpose. I also have to say I liked that our floor had ice maker and vending machine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Niagara lover
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 6, 2010

Good Place to lean back and relax!!

Wow. Nice getaway for a weekend visit to Niagara. Staff was really friendly and customer service was top notch!! Room was spotless,beautiful and comfortable( even though it is a old building.) Will visit again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are good pubs nearby the hotel that rock till late in the morning on saturday nights.

Review of Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Middle Seat Traveler
Business
Orange County CA
Dec 9, 2009

Pleasantly Surprised

I flew in to Buffalo for a brief meeting with clients--not enough time for a fair assessment. But I was pleasantly surprised to find the Hyatt a great place to stay: Warm, friendly staff and great room. The bed was comfortable and the amenities first rate. For those desiring a little more than a bare bones fitness center, the Hyatt fit the bill wonderfully. The lobby decor was aged and faded but not bad enough to go elsewhere. Great place to get a taste of a changing downtown Buffalo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

One of the best steakhouse menus I've experienced. The fish was excellent, not to mention the pianist in the lounge.

Review of Hyatt Regency Buffalo

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Professor T
Business
Stanford, CA
Nov 27, 2009

Best location for Arena shows in Buffalo

I chose this hotel for 2 reasons: I had a ticket for the Bruce Springsteen concert on November 22, and it is the closest hotel to one of my favorite antiquarian bookstores in the country, Old Editions, on East Huron St. I can't think of anything that was lacking from my stay. The staff was extremely courteous, efficient, and good humored. Parking was in a city garage diagonally across from the hotel. (At an additional fee, which wasn't specified on the reservation.) I enjoyed the scale of the hotel, the ease of finding my way around, and the accessibility of the Atrium Cafe. That the building was recycled from an older Buffalo building was even more delighting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Not every traveler to Buffalo realizes that there's a thriving nightlife/bar scene just a few (unappealing) blocks away on Chippewa Street. And the Albright-Knox Art Gallery on Elmwood Avenue at Scajaquada Expressway is one of the best museums in the country! I wouldn't go to Buffalo without checking out what's on display at the Albright-Knox.

Back to menu Return to top