$86 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

3 stars
620 Delaware Avenue, Buffalo, NY 14202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
66 reviews
Clean, comfortable and close to downtown

Stayed there for a weekend for a sporting event downtown at the First Niagara Center. Location was... See full review

  • Jothomas
  • Mar 24, 2014
Quick Stay

We only stayed for the night since we were in town for a comedy show so we didnt spend much time in... See full review

  • angellmr
  • Mar 13, 2012
Full-service dining and lodging excellence in the heart of Buffalo
The Holiday Inn Buffalo-Downtown Hotel is conveniently located in Buffalo's Allentown district yet still offers easy access to nearby Niagara Falls. Guest rooms are tastefully decorated with traditional furnishings, while a seasonal outdoor pool and fitness center provide recreational options. An on-site restaurant serves a broad range of entrees that border on the upscale, and complimentary airport shuttle service is a welcome addition guests appreciate.
Highlights
  • Across from the Wilcox Mansion
  • Complimentary 24-hour airport shuttle service and free parking
  • On-site restaurant and steps away from Buffalo wings mecca -- The Anchor Bar
Rooms
The 168 Holiday Inn Buffalo-Downtown Hotel guest rooms are smoke free and available with either two double beds or a king bed, all tastefully decorated with traditional furnishings. Additions include a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, telephone, complimentary Wi-Fi and satellite TV with premium channels and pay-per-view movies.
Features
Located in Buffalo's Allentown district directly across from the Wilcox Mansion, the site of Teddy Roosevelt's presidential inauguration, the Holiday Inn Buffalo-Downtown Hotel is a non-smoking hotel located in the heart of downtown Buffalo. Guest rooms are tastefully decorated with traditional furnishings. A heated, seasonal outdoor swimming is ideal for waders and swimmers, while a fitness center provides a basic assortment of cardio machines. An on-site laundry facility is perfect for those on extended vacations, and seven meeting rooms cater events and conferences that serve in excess of 400 guests. The Grille 620 serves breakfast and dinner with tasty offerings for every palate, and the complimentary 24-hour airport shuttle is a welcome, cost-savings feature.
 
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
Attractions
  • First Niagara Center (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Albright Knox Art Gallery (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Darwin Martin complex (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist (22.8 mi/36.7 km)
Business
  • 24-hour airport transportation
  • Business class rooms
  • Seven meeting rooms (largest accommodates up to 400 guests)

Hotel Map

42.9012 -78.8734
Nearby airports
Niagara Falls International Airport, (IAG), 18.00, MI, S; Buffalo Niagara International, (BUF), 9.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
Overhead projector
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • HSBC Arena: 1.8 mi
  • First Niagara Center: 1.8 mi
  • Alumni Arena: 8.3 mi

Dining

Grille 620
Stop by for Breakfast in the Grille 620 and enjoy a glass of Tropicana Orange Juice with your Colossal Burrito or Cinnamon Supreme French Toast. Relax in our comfortable, friendly atmosphere while catching up with your family and friends.Kids eat free fro
Tempo
Contemporary fine dining
Colter Bay
Informal pub style
Anchor Bar
Home of the Original Buffalo Chicken Wings
Bin620
Cappuccino, Cafe, and Wine Bar
Grille 620
Upscale bar with a detailed wine list to match.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 66
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bryann
Business
Florida
Jul 27, 2013

**Very Disappointed**

This hotel is in a desperate need of a renovation. It is OLD. On top of that our room was FILTHY. After a long day of travelling, got into the bed only to find tomato/ketchup and yellow stains in the sheets. The bed skirts looked like it had chocolate milks stains. Carpets appear so dirty would not walk on barefoot. bathroom floors had spots, needed mopping. There was mold in between the door jams. My son took a shower and the towel rack fell down. The door looks like it had been kicked in and was falling apart. Went to front desk, their response was that "it is an older hotel"...UNACCEPTABLE. For the $179 I am paying a night (currently staying here) a Red Roof Inn or a Super 8 Motel would be a better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YessyR
Business
Bridgeport
Apr 23, 2013

Trip to Buffalo

I had a good time, service was good, clean, organized.pleasant and caring. I felt comfortable and willing to go back for a better price. Thank you so much....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short ride to relatives house, shopping area, dining area..I was very please on the locations from the hotel...

Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
S.E.P.
Business
Amherst, NY, USA
May 8, 2012

Probably won't go back.

Was woken early on Sat. Morning due to housekeeping staff talking loudly outside my door for quite a long time. Ordered breakfast for two...only one meal came. Left room at 1:00 pm. Returned at 8 and housekeeping had never come in. Have stayed there several times before and was pleased. Someone from housekeeping did call and apologize for the staff persons behavior in the morning and room service was very nice about quickly getting the other meal up there. So staff was nice but just don't feel the service was what should be expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BigDaddy
Business
NJ
Sep 10, 2011

Weekend Stay

Clean, comfortable rooms. Decent location, easy to get to from the skyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good restaurants in the area. Lake Effect Diner, silver dining car, hometown greasy spoon for lack of better description serves good/great food especially breakfast, prices are very reasonable. Much better then the hotel restaurant.

Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hampton, VA, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Front Desk Clerks has no hospitility

When we first arrived, the front desk clerk was so rude to my husband. And as we stayed we realized that every shift that we encountered from the Front desk was terrible. No greeting, No smiling just appeared that for the four days we stayed every clerk had a bad day. even we talked to the general manager about a charge that was on credit card he was also rude. The housekeepers, and the restaurant staff their was very good and had good hospitility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
frequent travleler
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Aug 12, 2011

I could not sleep at all!

There was a (LOUD AT NIGHT) ticking noise coming from the wall. Staff was aware of this. As I couldn't take it anymore, I went to the lobby at 3:00am to request earplugs. They told me they don't have it but I can get some at Walgreen! They won't see me again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 19, 2011

Niagara fall

everything is fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joan wonder women
Business
new city,ny
May 11, 2011

great relaxation

i was a fast check in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Buffalo NY
Dec 26, 2010

The great and not so great

Good over all, but restaurant needs better quality food, for the price not bad. Business travel could be not a family hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

from Walgreen

Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Nov 30, 2010

Comfy Stay

This hotel is in a convenient place (near the Downtown area in Buffalo), and the room was nice! Though the bed was a bit sturdy, I still had a great sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There were many restaurants in the area to choose from.

Back to menu Return to top