$86 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

3 stars
620 Delaware Avenue, Buffalo, NY 14202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
66 reviews
Clean, comfortable and close to downtown

Stayed there for a weekend for a sporting event downtown at the First Niagara Center. Location was... See full review

  • Jothomas
  • Mar 24, 2014
Quick Stay

We only stayed for the night since we were in town for a comedy show so we didnt spend much time in... See full review

  • angellmr
  • Mar 13, 2012
Full-service dining and lodging excellence in the heart of Buffalo
The Holiday Inn Buffalo-Downtown Hotel is conveniently located in Buffalo's Allentown district yet still offers easy access to nearby Niagara Falls. Guest rooms are tastefully decorated with traditional furnishings, while a seasonal outdoor pool and fitness center provide recreational options. An on-site restaurant serves a broad range of entrees that border on the upscale, and complimentary airport shuttle service is a welcome addition guests appreciate.
Highlights
  • Across from the Wilcox Mansion
  • Complimentary 24-hour airport shuttle service and free parking
  • On-site restaurant and steps away from Buffalo wings mecca -- The Anchor Bar
Rooms
The 168 Holiday Inn Buffalo-Downtown Hotel guest rooms are smoke free and available with either two double beds or a king bed, all tastefully decorated with traditional furnishings. Additions include a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron/ironing board, telephone, complimentary Wi-Fi and satellite TV with premium channels and pay-per-view movies.
Features
Located in Buffalo's Allentown district directly across from the Wilcox Mansion, the site of Teddy Roosevelt's presidential inauguration, the Holiday Inn Buffalo-Downtown Hotel is a non-smoking hotel located in the heart of downtown Buffalo. Guest rooms are tastefully decorated with traditional furnishings. A heated, seasonal outdoor swimming is ideal for waders and swimmers, while a fitness center provides a basic assortment of cardio machines. An on-site laundry facility is perfect for those on extended vacations, and seven meeting rooms cater events and conferences that serve in excess of 400 guests. The Grille 620 serves breakfast and dinner with tasty offerings for every palate, and the complimentary 24-hour airport shuttle is a welcome, cost-savings feature.
 
Transportation
  • Buffalo Niagara International Airport (9.9 mi/15.9 km)
Attractions
  • First Niagara Center (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Albright Knox Art Gallery (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Darwin Martin complex (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Maid of the Mist (22.8 mi/36.7 km)
Business
  • 24-hour airport transportation
  • Business class rooms
  • Seven meeting rooms (largest accommodates up to 400 guests)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
Overhead projector
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • HSBC Arena: 1.8 mi
  • First Niagara Center: 1.8 mi
  • Alumni Arena: 8.3 mi

Dining

Grille 620
Stop by for Breakfast in the Grille 620 and enjoy a glass of Tropicana Orange Juice with your Colossal Burrito or Cinnamon Supreme French Toast. Relax in our comfortable, friendly atmosphere while catching up with your family and friends.Kids eat free fro
Tempo
Contemporary fine dining
Colter Bay
Informal pub style
Anchor Bar
Home of the Original Buffalo Chicken Wings
Bin620
Cappuccino, Cafe, and Wine Bar
Grille 620
Upscale bar with a detailed wine list to match.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 66
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hello Mountaineer
Business
Buffalo, N.Y
Sep 22, 2014

Good location

Hotel was close to the event we were attending. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carste
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Dec 1, 2013

Convenient location, friendly staff

The hotel staff was very kind and helpful. The location is great if your events are located in downtown. The hotel itself was average for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shops along Elmwood Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Traveler 2
Business
New York
Jul 28, 2013

Nice neighborhood

Slow check in, but friendly staff. Average workout room. Free coffee in the morning. Room was clean, but nothing special. In a good area, within walking distance of many restaurants, bars, and cute shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Prassi
Business
Millburn, New Jersy
Feb 28, 2013

Average Hotel

-No Fridge in the room, when requested demanded additional charge; -No complimentary break-fast; -Ordinary break-fast for $8; -No Microwave oven.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Urnina
Business
NYC
Jul 10, 2012

stayed 3 nights

We arrived and the bathroom was left not clean. we tried to flash it but it did not work. They ended up sending someone to fix it just on time. The carpet felt wet all the time of our stay. The sofa is very old and also feels unclean. The bed was nice and comfortable! In general the hotel is not in a good shape and the picture they have is exaggerated for what you actually get. After all a fine stay, but will not stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SJ Wedding Guest
Business
New York, NY
Jun 18, 2012

Dropping By

I was in town for a wedding and the recommended wedding hotels were significantly more expensive. The location was perfect - we were walking distance to a ton of great places (including the Anchor bar), the hotel shuttle took us everywhere we needed to get to, and we had a pool (the more expensive hotels didn't!). Really convenient, really helpful people. All around very good. Only negative was the waitstaff in the hotel restaurant were extraordinarily slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anchor Bar! Original Wings!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yulkin
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Aug 15, 2011

Pleasant Surprise

I have booked this hotel last minute after having my reservation cancelled unexpectedly by some other place and I must say I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful, the room and the bathroom was sparkling clean and the hotel even had a nice outdoor pool. I've never stayed at a Holiday Inn before because I assumed it would be a mediocre service, but this place completely changed my opinion of it, I might just become a regular customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
northcentral, pa
Jul 28, 2011

great stay....

close to attractions....very helpful hotel staff....clean rooms...nice bar area....only downside bathroom fan didnt work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 5, 2011

"Great for the money"

We didn't spend much time in the hotel. We went to the bar for drinks and the pool for a swim. I wish this please would have had a hot tub. It was solid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

In is in a very rich historic area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn BUFFALO-DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One Night Stay Visitor
Business
Syracuse NY
Feb 7, 2011

OK for short stay

Only there one night. This is an older Hotel but the Hotel and our room were clean which is always our #1 concern. Only stayed one night. Heating system in rooms didn't work to well. Snow storm outside but staff was very attentive, kept floors in lobby clean constantly as people were tracking in snow and ice. Price was right. No problem staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to City...not too much in immediate area but did not get out to walk due to snow storm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top