$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Adam's Mark Buffalo

3 stars
View map of 120 Church Street, Buffalo, NY 14202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Adam's Mark Buffalo

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Adam's Mark Buffalo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kai kai
Business
State College, PA
Aug 5, 2012

Worst experience ever!!! DO NOT stay here!

It took us over 1 hour to check in. First they said the computer system was not working. Then the check in staff flirt with two girls for over twenty minutes. There was a long line waiting to check in. Another staff there just said the computer was occupied so he could not help us. The room was a disaster. One wall was completely wet. There was water dripping from the top of the wall, probably from the air-conditioner upstairs. We requested to change a room but got refused. Finally they sent a staff to take a look at it. He just showed up for a second and said "Oh my God! I'll check upstairs", and then disappeared, forever. The mattress is too soft and very uncomfortable to sleep on. Almost everything in that room looks like 20 years old. The hotel looks nice from outside. But inside of it can not even compare to a motel or inn, especially the staffs are very unfriendly and unprofessional. I've traveled a lot. And I am not a mean person. But this is definitely a nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adam's Mark Buffalo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Moops
Business
Boston
Aug 12, 2012

Thinks its the Hilton

Myself and my friends were ejected from our room at about 2:00 AM for the smell of nicotine. We certainly had been smoking in the room given the fact it was listed as a smoking room. The security kid was beyond annoying so we got increasingly angry with him. His feelings being hurt he said you have to leave. Stayed at the Holiday Inn, no problems there. Adams Mark looks like it may have once been a decent hotel in the 1960's. Now it is just a giant Clarion Inn or worse. Everything around there sucks too. Go the Hampton or Holiday Inn if you are in Buffalo for some reason.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adam's Mark Buffalo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Smally Smalls
Business
los angeles, ca
Aug 23, 2012

from bad to bad

From the first impression to check out, this hotel failed to disappoint in how BAD it is. First impression; the windows dirty and scratched, no valet or bellman in sight as people unload twelve packs of beer from their vehicles. At check in, there was only one clerk actually checking in while others were on the phone or otherwise too busy to help people walking in. After walking down the long hall to my room and just looking for long delayed sleep after my red-eye, my room key didn't work. Back down to the front desk to wait again and be questioned by the clerk as to what color light appeared he seemed perplexed but graciously swiped me a new one anyway. Once in the the room I discovered the pillow on one of the beds to have a red spot like it was blood. The pillows on the bed I chose were not fully covered or tucked in the pillow cases so I had to finish the maids work to cover them fully. The room hadn't been updated in years and the overall impression was that a low budget chain motel. The room in general was of that quality down to the cheap plastic cups and old tube TV. The next morning I decided to eat at the hotel and try the breakfast buffet. Normally I look at it first but at $12 I figured I couldn't go wrong. Was I mistaken. My first indication that this was not going to be another disappointment was being ignored by the man at the register where you are seated. He, like other hotel employees had been, was too pre-occupied by the stack of receipts in his hand to acknowledge me. He finally passed me off to a waiter who asked me to wait as he asked the busy guy for a "rag" to wipe off my table to make it fresh. I had to ask him to remove a glass left on the table which he removed with an exasperated sigh. The "buffet' was the biggest surprise. It looked like the type of free breakfast served at budget chain hotels you get for free but was even worse: dry powdered scrambled eggs, only bacon clumped together, one type of bread for toast, french toast that looked to be pre-packaged and totally bland. There was a dish of plain yogurt laid out and like everything else with ZERO presentation. The only fresh looking item was some fruit laid out in the same manner all picked over and probably from a package somewhere as well. I expected at least a three star "experience" at this hotel but can only give it a one. The grievances at this hotel continue in list form; not worth of any more prose. 1. Doors banging at 1:30 in the morning; continual and incessant even ten more minutes after I call hotel security. 2. Parking key not working after after arriving late one night on third day. I have it reprogrammed and go to my room to AGAIN find my room key not working. Desk clerk explains I must have had it in contact with other cards in my wallet. (must be my fault then, huh?) 3. More noise in my hall at 1am the next night. What looks to be a refugee family is huddled in the hallway. 4. Fire alarm one morning as I'm taking a shower. Evacuate down 5 spider-webbed flights of stairs. No hotel personnel assist in evacuation nor explain as fire trucks come and go. A manager looks to apologize to the fire crew but returns inside without even addressing assembled guests. 5. Fire alarm goes off the next day around the same time. No explanation ever heard again. 6. After one long day out I return and can't sleep due to sensation of sleeping on unclean sheets; itching and slapping all night. 7. Many unsavory looking characters around the hotel and sitting on the curb at the entrance give me the impression that this is no longer a hotel but a Half-Way house. That's fine but not what I paid for. In summary, this hotel should close or find its true identity but does not deserve any more than 1 1/2 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adam's Mark Buffalo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Navs73
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 30, 2013

Will not recommend anyone to stay here

It has been a horrible experience staying at this hotel. This place sucks. On top of it, there is no free parking, Had to pay $ 10/day for parking. They charged even for toll free numbers saying only 1-800 is considered as toll free number for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adam's Mark Buffalo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
York, PA
Jul 5, 2011

Horrible Horrible place to live

This hotel must be very old. When my wife try to lock the bath room door, the glass on the door fall apart, cut her leg, ruin our vacation. My 3 years old daughter is still shaking with what she has seen on that horrible moment. Hotel people responded just a minute before the ambulance. Horrible, Horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adam's Mark Buffalo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marketing Rep
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 25, 2010

Adam's Mark - Not What I Expected

I stayed at the Adam's Mark Hotel Monday-Wednesday. I was not impressed; maybe I have been spoiled by staying in nicer, newer hotels while traveling for business but I was extremely disappointed when I stayed here. There were signs posted that there has been recent crime (I'm a small girl and I stayed alone) and the hallways smelled like sweat. The rooms had what looked like antique furniture and it made me feel like a million people had stayed there before me which kind of grossed me out. The staff was extremely helpful and nice so I do give credit for that but I definitely would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Although I was there for business, there were a ton of bars about a block or two away. It seemed like it would be fun on the weekends.

Review of Adam's Mark Buffalo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family Formerly from Buffalo
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 26, 2009

Sorry, we won't go back to Adam's Mark

This was my 4th trip to the Adam's Mark, a formerly-grand hotel. We had learned from previous trips that the food should be avoided entirely. This is our last trip, and if it hadn't been part of a package we would have left the first night. We were checked in and given keys to another guest's room... imagine if we hadn't been honest... we could have looted the room. We eventually got a room and unpacked, happy to get a little rest. Imagine our surprise while looking for plugs for our phone chargers when we found trash around the periphery of the room shoved against the wall by the vacuums.... lip gloss tubes, chunks of food, condom, etc. The last night of our stay was interrupted by a long fire alarm and evacuation -- which I understand -- but this is not the first trip to this hotel during which this has happened. After finally getting back to our room, exhausted, the raucus party in the room above us kept us awake another 2 hours at which time the water overflowing from their room started dripping down into our bathroom -- down the wall and flooding our floor. Our call to the desk brought a quick response to our room for a bathroom inspection and a promise that the tenant upstairs would be booted out the next day. We got 4 hours of sleep and left exhausted, never to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adam's Mark Buffalo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Sep 16, 2007

the AdamsMark was a nightmare

The air/heat did not work in the first room. The second room internet did not work and was dirty and the third room was in working order. I kept my shoes on with the spotted dirty rug in there. The room next door partied till 4am and the security finally woke the drunk and found his room at 6 am. HE was passed out in the hall. No big deal I guess but a night without sleep with a busy next day is not cool. Run as fast as you can away form the Adams Mark. I stayed there a few times before and stopped about a year ago when it started to go down. I gave it another try to find out it was worse than I could have imagined. They offered no appologies or compensation. Very very unprofessional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Adam's Mark Buffalo

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hated the Adams Mark
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 31, 2009

Dusty Awful Dingy Hotel

This was the worst hotel I've ever been to. It felt like I was in a hostel. They make you pay for breakfast and no continental breakfast was available. It was the worst hospitality. Their room service is nearly nonexistent and the food is less than desired. It tastes awful. The bathrooms are very dirty. The carpet looks as thought it has never been vacuumed and my bed was never made. At one point I was not left any towels in my room. I was very dissatisfied with my stay and will never stay there again. This Buffalo location makes the hotel chain Adams Mark look horrible. It's the worst hotel experience I've ever had. I wish I stayed near the airport instead. There are no amenities at the hotel and everything is very dirty! Beware of this hotel, it's dirty and dusty, I felt like I was sleeping at a hostel in a developing country!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go to another hotel, this was the worst hotel ever.

Review of Adam's Mark Buffalo

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
trvlplannr01
Business
Rochester, NY
Feb 18, 2014

Should have been cleaner

The hotel overall was nice enough, but the room could have been cleaner when we walked in. There was a dirty rag on the floor and dust on the furniture. The furniture was frayed and worn on the edges in places. Plus, our room door didn't lock properly and required service. Lobby was nice; rooms are lacking. Would not return to Adam's Mark Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Good for close access to downtown Buffalo businesses and attractions, but a disappointment in terms of cleanliness and quality of room furniture.

Back to menu Return to top