$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

3 stars
625 Union Street, Brooklyn, NY 11215
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
48 reviews
Very nice

WONDERFUL friendly staff. Great location-about 20 mins to Times Square by subway. Yummy breakfast. See full review

  • HKG2222
  • Dec 10, 2013
great stay

great and productive See full review

  • urban1
  • Jan 24, 2010
Stay Smart at our Brooklyn, New York Hotel Just a few miles from downtown Manhattan, our hotel in Brooklyn, New York is the traveler's affordable alternative to hotels in the center of the city. Business and leisure travelers alike appreciate our convenient location that's within walking distance to a number of restaurants, lounges, shopping, government and corporate offices. If you're staying with us on business in Brooklyn, New York, our hotel's 24-hour business center is a convenient place to catch up on some work out of the office. We offer copy, fax, print and e-mail services for your convenience. In addition, our close proximity to government and corporate offices and Long Island University makes corporate travel a breeze. From our easy access to the Brooklyn Bridge to a fun family adventure at Coney Island in Brooklyn, New York, our hotel is close to it all. Leisure guests can enjoy a visit to Manhattan and stand in the middle of Times Square or visit the famous Grand Central Station, which are both just a few minutes away by subway or taxi. One thing is for sure, there's never a dull moment at our hotel in Brooklyn, New York. Our Holiday Inn Express® New York Brooklyn hotel offers a number of amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. Stop in each morning and fill up on our Express Start breakfast bar. We offer hot and cold items and our signature cinnamon rolls to start your day off just right. Make your reservations today!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
General
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub
Trouser press

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BISHOP J
Business
VA
Nov 15, 2011

TRUE DISAPPOINTMENT

THIS HOTEL IS GREATLY OVER PRICED FOR WHAT IT OFFERS. IT HAS 115 ROOMS W/ 20 PARKING SPACES WHICH IS NOT INDICATED NO WHERE ON THE SITE. THE ROOMS ARE SO SMALL THAT THE LUGGAGE CART DOES NOT FIT THROUGH THE DOOR. THIS HAS TO BE THE WORST HOTEL STAY THAT I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED... I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND ANYONE TO STAY HERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bluesky1142
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 10, 2012

Worst hotel experience ever.

This was easily the worst hotel experience I ever had. We were placed in a room on the "second floor" steps from the lobby and the breakfast eating area, and adjacent to an ice machine. If it wasn't the television blaring in the breakfast area, it was the ice machine roaring like a jet engine, or patrons arguing in the lobby and/or breakfast area at 2:30am. Additionally, the maintenance room was on the wall that backed up to our bed, so we were treated to the sounds of the maintenance person banging trash cans around and shaking out trash bags both late in the evening and again at 6am when they were preparing for breakfast. At the stroke of 6:30am, we heard every parent and child coming into the breakfast seating area to dine. I made multiple trips to the front desk with no avail. They had no other rooms to move us to, and they "couldn't do anything about patrons talking loudly in the lobby." I wasn't expecting 4 star service at a Holiday Inn Express, but I at least expect it to be clean & quiet enough to sleep. I honestly would've gotten a better night's sleep on the park bench outside. Placing patrons in rooms that should only be used for storage shows greed and a complete lack of care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Crissyb65
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Aug 22, 2012

Didn't get what I paid for

The point of making a reservation is to assure you are going to get what you need. We did not. I booked a double room and was told all they had was a king. So one of the three in my party got stuck sleeping on an airmattress. The room was dusty and mildewy. The bed was hard and caused restless nights. We ended up leaving a day early because it was so bad. The hotel listed parking, but they didn't say they had a very small lot and it would most likely be full. We had to find parking elsewhere. This would have been fine, if not expected, for NYC, except it didn't specify this. A heads up for planning would be appreciated. Elevator was antiquated and sometimes didn't work. The circle drive was very narrow and tight. Our Explorer almost didn't clear it. The staff was slow, which is very unusual for NYC. I never did get to formally check out, it was just taking too long for the two ladies to help one person and there were two more ahead of me. After waiting thirty minutes, I just left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On the corner of 4th and Union is a diner with great staff and lovely food. They are open 24 hours Friday and Saturday and close at 4 on Sunday. They have reg hours during the week but I don't know what they are. If you are in the area and are hungry, safe place to try!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 24, 2011

Horrible hotel experience!

This was a horrible experience! I was given a room next to the breakfast/common area on the mezzanine floor (I guess these are the rooms they reserve for [...]customers!). Right next to my room, in the common area, there was a TV blasting until past midnight and the hotel staff was pretty annoyed when I asked to turn it down, since I was trying to sleep. Once the TV was turned down, some drunk hotel guests came to the common area and sat around screaming and laughing until 2am. And the hotel staff did nothing about this. Needless to say it was impossible to sleep until they left at 2:00am and past 5:00am when the hotel staff started cleaning the common area, dragging the furniture, vaccuming and talking loudly, disregarding the fact that it was 5:00am and there was a room with someone sleeping right in that area. And to top-it off they put the ice machine on which was right outside my room and which added to the unberable noise, And when I called the front desk to complain about the noise they justified it by saying "but it is the common/breakfast area", as if it was my choice or fault for staying in a room in the common area... This was a nightmare stay! I paid an exuberant price for 3 hours of sleep, in a small, rundown room at a horrible hotel in a dreadful location (the hotel was in a sketchy part of Brooklyn, surrounded by rundown autoshops)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia, pa
Mar 19, 2011

worst hotel stay ever.

i've stayed at a holiday inn express before, which is why i was willing to pay more to stay here than other hotels in the area. i was really disappointed, however. upon arrival, the parking lot was full, so there was no parking available. when i got up to the room, there were no pillowcases on the pillows and the room was VERY small. the bathroom lights did not work, the hairdryer did not work, housekeeping ignored "do not disturb" sign on the door, front desk called repeatedly. i'd never had an experience quite like this one. not worth $200.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dairy queen
Business
Bonita, CA, USA
Nov 19, 2011

Disappointed

Overpriced, very small, remote control did not work, nonsmoking room with a burn hole in the lamp shade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HJBD
Business
Cape Cod
Oct 8, 2013

Too expensive for what you get

$312 for a very small room in the basement. Immediate neighborhood is shabby, though this area of Brooklyn is quite a mixture of up and down scale neighborhoods, and better areas were only blocks away. The image provided of the building looks good, with no hint that many of the rooms are in the basement, or that the surrounding buildings can best be described as 'seedy'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pratt family
Business
Nc
Dec 31, 2013

Close to R line

Unfortunately the elevator was broken for the 5 days we were staying. They said they could not give any updates or discounts for the inconvenience. The stairs were very narrow and a little scary. We always ran out of hot water. The eating area was usually crowded at breakfast time so hard to find tables. A good variety of food was provided. Convenient location for catching the subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mesquite,tx
May 21, 2010

NEEDS IMPROVEMENT

we where in the basement floor you had to navigate around the room service equipment to go anywhere. The floor was dirty with litter and every morning the news paper was available for every one on the floor of the elevator. The first night we had to have the maintance enginer in to fix our heating and air conditioning system at 11:15pm..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Apr 25, 2011

Adaquate but not great.

The staff was very friendly and cooperative but not terribly professional. My room had no towels, was missing a lock on the door and the satellite TV failed. The neighborhood is being gentrified so the location isn't exactly great but will improve with time. Overall, it was an adaquate hotel but needs improvement to be a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A few blocks toward Prospect Park is a good eating and drinking and a few blocks is the Park, Brooklyn Zoo and Botanic Garden.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top