$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

3 stars
View map of 625 Union Street, Brooklyn, NY 11215

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pegstar
Business
New York, NY, USA
Aug 25, 2011

the new brooklyn

Room was very clean; staff was very friendly and helpful. Very quiet. Would definitely stay again. Only Con-----fee for parking is $24 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Proud Mom of a Brooklyn College Grad
Business
Seymour, IN
Jun 5, 2011

Better than we expected

We spent 5 consecutive nights at the hotel and my husband and I stayed in one room and our 21 year old son stayed in a second room. The only flaw in either room was that the smoke alarm in our room was missing the cover and it was inoperable. We traveled to NYC to attend our 24 yr old son graduation from Brooklyn College. The hotel is near a subway station. Our rooms and all of the common areas were clean and well lit. The breakfast bar was well attended and if something was out of order it was taken care of immediately. The front desk clerks were helpful in obtaining taxi service when requested and made check in and out very simple. The housekeeping staff were sensitive to our coming and going and kept the rooms stocked and bed made daily. The neighborhood was safe but the buildings surrounding this modern Holiday Inn Express were run down. The reviews I read on this hotel before we booked were mixed and I almost didn't book this location. We found it to be very clean and as good as any other hotel we have stayed in the past. I appreciated the HDTV, free WiFi, clock radio in the room. While we were there we visited our NY son at his apt. in Brooklyn and traveled to Manhattan via the subway system everyday to sight see and attend a play. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Purchase a METROPASS card at almost any Subway station that is appropriate for your length of stay. We purchased 3 passes each good for 7 days at a cost $29. There is no limit to the number of times the card can be accessed per day and the subway system got us around the entire 5 boroughs. We only taxied to and from the airport due to the luggage. You can purchase the metropass for different amounts of days and the cost is adjusted for amount of days needed. Our son purchases a 30 day pass every months to get to and from work and school.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlingame CA
May 21, 2011

Holiday Inn Express Brooklyn

I arrived late at night, maybe 11pm, having flown in from San Francisco. It was raining when I got to the hotel. I was informed that the hotel had overbooked and I would have to stay in the sister hotel, Holiday Inn Brooklyn on Butler. My room there was barely acceptable. The tv was missing the remote. I called and a technician came holding another one. Told me there were six missing at the hotel and his was the last one. He finally consented to loaning it to me. Presumably the people after me were fat out of luck. The next day I had to check out and trot back to the the Hotel for which I reserved and paid for the room months ago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gorilla Coffee House. It's on 3rd or was it 5th?. Great coffee. Yours is undrinkable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis
Apr 25, 2011

Adaquate but not great.

The staff was very friendly and cooperative but not terribly professional. My room had no towels, was missing a lock on the door and the satellite TV failed. The neighborhood is being gentrified so the location isn't exactly great but will improve with time. Overall, it was an adaquate hotel but needs improvement to be a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A few blocks toward Prospect Park is a good eating and drinking and a few blocks is the Park, Brooklyn Zoo and Botanic Garden.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 24, 2011

Horrible hotel experience!

This was a horrible experience! I was given a room next to the breakfast/common area on the mezzanine floor (I guess these are the rooms they reserve for [...]customers!). Right next to my room, in the common area, there was a TV blasting until past midnight and the hotel staff was pretty annoyed when I asked to turn it down, since I was trying to sleep. Once the TV was turned down, some drunk hotel guests came to the common area and sat around screaming and laughing until 2am. And the hotel staff did nothing about this. Needless to say it was impossible to sleep until they left at 2:00am and past 5:00am when the hotel staff started cleaning the common area, dragging the furniture, vaccuming and talking loudly, disregarding the fact that it was 5:00am and there was a room with someone sleeping right in that area. And to top-it off they put the ice machine on which was right outside my room and which added to the unberable noise, And when I called the front desk to complain about the noise they justified it by saying "but it is the common/breakfast area", as if it was my choice or fault for staying in a room in the common area... This was a nightmare stay! I paid an exuberant price for 3 hours of sleep, in a small, rundown room at a horrible hotel in a dreadful location (the hotel was in a sketchy part of Brooklyn, surrounded by rundown autoshops)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Geneva, NY
Mar 29, 2011

Good rate, good location

Decent place and good service. Would recommend to anyone who needs/wants to be in Park Slope area and pay too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Mar 22, 2011

Half-n-Half

I am originally from Brooklyn so I am familiar with the area and knew what to expect. I have stayed at this location before so again I knew what to expect. The one thing that continues to disappoint me is to pay for parking. They take advantage of the fact that on the street parking is quite limited; and to pay $24 dollars a day+ parking tax (not be confused with and is separate from your hotel room tax) seems excessive to me. The room was clean and very comfortable. The deep soaking jetted bathtub was a definite plus; but alas NO TOWELS ... I was informed the towels were not scheduled to be delivered until 8pm!!!!! mind you check in is @ 3pm and after traveling I desperately wanted to freshen up. They finally brought us towels at around 9:30-10pm. Then the complimentary breakfast we didn't get there right @ 6:30 so pickings were quite slim and stale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ali Berry
Business
rockville, md
Mar 20, 2011

Great find

This hotel was a great find. Only blocks away from the park slope area in Brooklyn where you will find all kinds of restraunts and bars. The hotel itself was really great. The room and bathroom were clean. There is complimentary wifi service, which was awesome since we brought a laptop and they alarm radio on the nightstand also plays mp3 players which was nice although it wasn't the greatest sound. The only complaints were that the room would be either too hot or too cold and the service was kind of slow( we had to call the front desk 3 times to ask for towels that weren't in the bathroom when we first checked in), and if you have a car then parking is an issue because their lot only accomodates 24 cars. However, there is a 24 hour parking lot just down the street and it's a bit cheaper then the hotel's. Over all, we were very pleased with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia, pa
Mar 19, 2011

worst hotel stay ever.

i've stayed at a holiday inn express before, which is why i was willing to pay more to stay here than other hotels in the area. i was really disappointed, however. upon arrival, the parking lot was full, so there was no parking available. when i got up to the room, there were no pillowcases on the pillows and the room was VERY small. the bathroom lights did not work, the hairdryer did not work, housekeeping ignored "do not disturb" sign on the door, front desk called repeatedly. i'd never had an experience quite like this one. not worth $200.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK-BROOKLYN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Helpful Parents
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 6, 2010

Clean, good breakfast, close to subway.

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in Dec. 2010. The room was clean and there was no evidence of bed bugs. We stayed in room 211 which was right next to the ice machine and to the breakfast room. It was very noisy and we would not have been able to sleep if it weren't for our earplugs. The full breakfast was good and very complete. Staff was friendly and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway station is 1/2 block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top